Man suffers gunshot wound while cycling in restricted forested area near SAF live-firing activity

boon_hou

maybe they will argue how can do live firing

why nv fence up area, they are lost etc

Itsthatguy

During my active days, I did GPMG at that range. It could be 7.62 round that gone astray. My instructor told me this 7.62 can travel more than 3km, but out of effective range... that guy really suay to the max.

It is a controlled environment with safety officers ... if i remember correctly....

imo, the only possibility for a round to fly out of the range during firing is that open field range. Gotta give that man a tiger:ROFLMAO: if he survived an MG round even at the end of the trajectory.

sango65

During my active days, I did GPMG at that range. It could be 7.62 round that gone astray. My instructor told me this 7.62 can travel more than 3km, but out of effective range... that guy really suay to the max.

It is a controlled environment with safety officers ... if i remember correctly....
No wonder BMT time in BIC, when 3SG fire GPMG on top, recruits cannot anyhow, wait kena hit

Omnia1

Screen capture from CNA report.

So they cycled from the yellow area (Chestnut) into the red area (restricted zone). There were multiple signs just beside the footpaths. Conclusion, they asked for it.

Fully agree. But I'm not surprised. If cyclists can't be bothered to stop when a red traffic light is shining in their faces, do you think that they will care about red signs warning them to keep out of an area?

Unless the cyclist honestly missed the signs (which I seriously doubt), he definitely deserved it. I'm comforted to know that at least no motorist will be getting into trouble in this incident.

raven0305

should buy toto, very hard to tio shot in sg tbh
more ppl strike toto than tio shot in sg qft

Dracky

Last time I park my boat north of 2nd causeway near the murai reservoir, fishing there then got chased away by nsf boi boi in assault boats heheh I ever did live firing at LCK area. I think got live cctv camera there, also around sudong/pawai. They should install cameras at the seletar/pierce reservoir but I'm sure they have so someone's gonna kena.
Not only cyclists trespass that area, but runners too. Some run the trail from end of Seletar Reservoir next to the range through the forested area to emerge at Upper Peirce Reservoir.

swenson

Put signage still MINDEF fault?

i think wanna accord blame and take responsibility also have some limit ok? U wanna put sentry across the entire perimeter then happy izzit?
There are laws that Littering is an offence, Speeding is an offence, downloading pirated stuff is also an offence.
Maybe from our context, we can say that it is not the fault of the authorities, but the offenders themselves.

Put the same scenarios to other countries like Malaysia (for example). They also have the same laws, but the offences are more rampant. So what do we say? Is it the offenders fault?
No, we would more likely say that its because their enforcement is weak, and put the blame on the authorities for it.
Same principles apply

swenson

this hard to control. even LCK, got anglers, motorbiker go inside live firing area. witness it countless times.
It is restricted area 24/7, but will have physical sentries on the day of live firing itself. What you saw probably was on those 'inactive' days. If live firing still in progress, they are asking for it

Vincentlow82

Should put a poster of that guy with the injury at the restricted area. To warn other dumbass.

Lemonpeach

The red warning signboard is visible throughout the outer perimeter beyond the live-firing area. Any sinkie will know, especially those who have served NS.

Unless...."the 42 y.o. man is stateless".

Prime1984

Really fated sia, the bullet travel so far, hit a moving target out of sight, buy 4D also not so zhun, Vasily Zyatsev also cannot do

viethai

Why SAF suspends live firing ???
Shd proceed and put up signs
"YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED"

Meteor84

Firing live 5mm rounds in a non controlled environment.. really? Sure Bo…. Anything bigger than that would have killed the man
u never been there? infantry and armor goes there for actual live firing all the time. SAR21 and GPMG live firing is very common there. to say its dangerous to wander in there is putting it very mildly. unless u wanna have a feel of what its like being shot at

TickTechToe

Hit by a rifle shot is no joke.. last time my officer said when hit, is like small wound at the front and big wound at the back because of the spiral design of the barrel causing the bullet to spin in the trajectory... it is a 500m range so the shooter might need to aim higher to hit the target so there is a chance for the bullet to fly out of the range.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.