Anyone bought taiwan mango pineapple from NTUC recently?

lazy999

TS never heard of Taiwan 黑心凤梨? Appear on newspaper for many years already leh why still got people fall for it?

I asked a China agent for farm produce before and we talked about preservation and chemicals used.

He told me the reason why pineapple or fruits have a black rotten core is because they are injected with enhancers to make it sweeter. The problem is not only that, it is because they injected too much.

And all fruits or veggies, even if travelling interstate, almost all farmers he know of internationally will need to apply more or less some preservation to maintain freshness. As long as it doesn't leave residue it is considered fine by international standards. Only those that grow below the ground, tend to survive better without preservatives.

These Taiwan fruits and veggies are confirm heavily artificially enhanced.

Our SEA are the best area for such tropical fruits, don't know why people buy from Taiwan. The recent season for the damn cheap black dream and the giant red Thai mangoes are good.

But unfortunately, people likes to believe the more expensive = better. That's why we see almost only the poor tasting MSW and no more cheap kumpung durians that can taste so much better.
Now then know about the 黑心凤梨 saga.. = (

rrr2015

pineapple.jpg

As per topic. Bought one taiwan mango pineapple from NTUC on Sunday using CDC and cut it yesterday night then realized inside the flesh some parts turn brown, core also turn brown... Darn, receipt thrown away already.

Wasted $6++

Cant claim from NTUC.

Then go google, seem like happened before on 2021.

https://mothership.sg/2021/04/taiwan-pineapple-black/
yeah happened before. pls feedback to NTUC. wonder if news will appear on TW talkshow again

Money no have

Ever since they made a fool of us during covid by shipping us ROTTEN pineapple, I have already boycotted everything from taiwan!!!

testerjp

Taiwan fruits exported here cannot buy one.

Their Kyoho grapes even lose to China now.
Do you know that if you visit any wet markets in China. There's a govt controlled lab that does random testing?

Based on what I know, those unscrupulous China farmers don't do in China, they do in Vietnam where there are almost no regulations. They spam insecticide, preservatives and enhancers like crazy.

Even those goods you find from value shop. If it's the same brand but you see it made from Vietnam. The difference is it contains higher amount of cheap ingredients that is more likely to be more harmful.

testerjp

I cut it into half first then realize the core is brown. Wanted to cut away the brown part then savage the rest but wifey said better dont eat... Wait i laosai , she still have to take care me...

Give her job do.

Kena F by her

= ..(
She's right, I will dump it.

Atilas

They didn't really invest in their cold storage supply chain logistics. Always take the easy way out and supply to Mainland China. After kena limitation or banned, then start dumping to SEA.

BlackStar00

pineapple.jpg

As per topic. Bought one taiwan mango pineapple from NTUC on Sunday using CDC and cut it yesterday night then realized inside the flesh some parts turn brown, core also turn brown... Darn, receipt thrown away already.

Wasted $6++

Cant claim from NTUC.

Then go google, seem like happened before on 2021.

https://mothership.sg/2021/04/taiwan-pineapple-black/

Same thing happened to me last time.

I bought once, kena this, I don't bother liao.

Think the logistics plus weather etc, make it spoil really fast.

Mebeater

The reason why Taiwan doesn't export their fruits out even though they have some of the best fruits, is because they haven't figured out the logistics to do so. The ones that are exported are usually inferior fruits that we buy for cheap. Heard it first hand from a Taiwanese fruit producer.

sales69

PS. tagging along.

How about Taiwan pork? Recently saw FP selling it. I usually get JP or Iberico pork. Unless I’m making Korean stews or boiled soups, I’ll use Oz prime ribs since there’s no more Bulan pork.
Wah finally here? The first shipment news was before CNY. 😄

jeff79

The reason why Taiwan doesn't export their fruits out even though they have some of the best fruits, is because they haven't figured out the logistics to do so. The ones that are exported are usually inferior fruits that we buy for cheap. Heard it first hand from a Taiwanese fruit producer.
Last time checked taiwan government website they mostly only shipped pineapple oversea to japan in 2nd year after the china import ban issue waned. Taiwan news reported got container of pineapple shipped to singapore in the 2nd year but never saw it on sale in all supermarket brands. Later got news reported the pineapple failed qc then no more shippment that year.

Maybe will check the website again see how many tonnes of pineapple shipped to singapore.

jeff79

Taiwan 凤梨酥 filling is winter melon more than pineapple. Saw in ntuc has a brand the ingredients list is totally winter melon filling with pineapple flavoring. The brand has strawberry flavored version of the same biscuit with similar ingredients as the pineapple flavored.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.