once RTS link setup, F&B and massage in sg will be completely gone?

Itsthatguy

sinkies ghost in massage, Jiak, buy toilet paper , grociers , detergent , milk power, make spectacles.

they find it worthwhile. :s12:
big savings trip.

Opportunity to set up website or app for daily prices comparison between JB and sg, and updates for daily necessities of the same brand that retail stores can subscribe.

guile

Consult the expert sg MRT, they already very experienced with frequent delays and breakdowns.
i'm more curious, how they will solve a breakdown when it happens on the bridge across the waters. which direction will the passengers walk towards?

common sense will say they will walk towards the country that is nearer, but it seems they are implementing a newer type of immigration checks.

Each terminus will have co-located immigration facilities – commuters will clear both Singapore and Malaysia authorities at the departure point and not at the arrival point. This arrangement allows convenient passenger travel when crossing the border.[79][86] This is similar to other railway lines that cross borders – such as at the Hong Kong West Kowloon railway station in Hong Kong, or St Pancras International railway station in the United Kingdom.

So, if the country that is nearer is the one they just departed...it means they will have to go through immigration again as upon leaving the country, the new immigration system assume that would be entering the new country and not returning back.

ceestudent

Do you mean everytime people want to eat or massage will go JB? Lol

Not everyone stay on woodland leh. If people stay at jurong west then have to count the travelling time from west to north also. Easily 2 hours to and from.
For retiree/jobless/low ses people, still make sense to do that..

Itsthatguy

i'm more curious, how they will solve a breakdown when it happens on the bridge across the waters. which direction will the passengers walk towards?

common sense will say they will walk towards the country that is nearer, but it seems they are implementing a newer type of immigration checks.

So, if the country that is nearer is the one they just departed...it means they will have to go through immigration again as upon leaving the country, the new immigration system assume that would be entering the new country and not returning back.

Everyday also have indon denied entry into sg. at ferry terminal. They have to return next ferry. such in out system is already in place.

Prinsloo

1) More jobs will be lost
2) More retail closes
3) More MY in SG till Singaporeans become minority
4) Losing of identity(Food,Culture etc)

artncraft

1) More jobs will be lost
2) More retail closes
3) More MY in SG till Singaporeans become minority
4) Losing of identity(Food,Culture etc)

On your point (4), the food in Malaysia is closer to the food in Singapore before the 1990s. Some traditional foods that had disappeared in Singapore can still be found there. This is what my mother told me when I showed her cuisines in Malaysia, and she could identify her childhood food in those videos.

cosmothecat

Don't be silly

Do you everyday take MRT all the way from Bedok to Woodlands just to eat 3 meals?

tauntme

On your point (4), the food in Malaysia is closer to the food in Singapore before the 1990s. Some traditional foods that had disappeared in Singapore can still be found there. This is what my mother told me when I showed her cuisines in Malaysia, and she could identify her childhood food in those videos.

Malaysia got can find those old school taste.. sg one is dying and replaced by central kitchen food

lobstercrab

WHat's with the hype on rts? Dun even noe if the experience will be a better one n if they can cope w the capacity?

guile

Everyday also have indon denied entry into sg. at ferry terminal. They have to return next ferry. such in out system is already in place.
Ferry terminal immigration have entry lane to check and chop passport. The new system don't have.

commuters will clear both Singapore and Malaysia authorities at the departure point and not at the arrival point.

re-read again what I have quoted in bold.

https://thesmartlocal.com/read/rts-link-singapore-jb/

There's NO immigration when you arrive in the destination country.
See above website too.

What I was talking about, when RTS breakdown in on the bridge, which direction will the passengers walk towards? Their arrival destination, or their departure. If it breaks down nearer to the country they just departed, it wouldn't make sense to make them walk the further distance to their arrival. If they had to walk back to where they just departed, the system MUST prepare a special lane for such re-entries.

lalalalalala

Will still have. But expensive and not good. Same like how hospital food court can serve **** food because you have no choice

terada86

ig u go in massage n come back its abit dumb, not productive n efficient

want to go in reeally save money, plan ur itinerary well

book dental , massage , restaurant, movies , facial altogether, go in for 1 full day trip from morning till late night then it is worthy

Itsthatguy

Ferry terminal immigration have entry lane to check and chop passport. The new system don't have.

re-read again what I have quoted in bold.

https://thesmartlocal.com/read/rts-link-singapore-jb/

There's NO immigration when you arrive in the destination country.
See above website too.

What I was talking about, when RTS breakdown in on the bridge, which direction will the passengers walk towards? Their arrival destination, or their departure. If it breaks down nearer to the country they just departed, it wouldn't make sense to make them walk the further distance to their arrival. If they had to walk back to where they just departed, the system MUST prepare a special lane for such re-entries.

They can just open an unused lane for special circumstances? What they wrote which you highlighted is SOP.

guile

They can just open an unused lane for special circumstances? What they wrote which you highlighted is SOP.
Yes it should be SOP...hence it would be interesting to see how they handle it. The co-ordination between both countries in deciding who will be accepting the re-entries and the huge number of people who will be re-entry. Not just those on the trains....but those who have cleared the immigration and waiting at the platforms as well as they wouldn't be able to board the next train.

Online resources also mentioned it will be 2 tracked...meaning it would still be able possible for the service to continue using 1 train only, unless touchwood...the breakdown occurs on both trains on both tracks.

sunsetbay

With RTS up will they still stamp passport at immigration?

It will be one stop immigration, ICA & CIQ collate to have their immigration officers together~ either check at SG side when crossing to JB and vice versa at MY side when coming back to SG~ :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.