Fairprice is really fair?

jeff79

big supermarkets usually buy from authorised dealers to avoid counterfeit goods, expired products, and liability issues. it ensures proper storage, warranty, and traceability, no?

same reasons why you buy cars from the authorized dealers.
Fruits also got authorised distributor and parallel importer ahh. Big supermarkets chain have the volume and manpower will then self import fruits and groceries.

Market stalls and even illegal street stalls gets their fruit from pasir panjang distributors. The one in first post is considered branded. Supermarkets sell fruits under own housebrand or just sell packed in unbranded box.

CanIsayNo

When you say weather forecast is fair, means what? So yea, fair price is similar

Itsnotfunny

I am pretty sure many folks know NTUC is definitely not the cheapest. The idea of NTUC Fairprice was conceived to set a baseline for groceries so as to prevent price gorging.

Other competitors are free to sell the same products at a higher or lower price, depending on their own business cost and markups.

Often, small neighborhood shops sells the same things at a lower price since their business cost is lower. Fresh meat and veggie at the wet market is also cheaper.

Of course, at the other spectrum, we have Cold Storage, which is generally more expensive.
Fairprice Slogan - here to make lives better. Means what ah? 😂 maybe it means buy if u thing u can afford.

Market stalls fish, veg and meat may not be cheaper. In fact, it can be more expensive. Why people still go to market to buy is because of freshness and personal service. Can get the parts of meat u want and can buy small portion. Try to buy veg for 2 to cook. U will understand.

yesman2978

but enforcement can vary, and some products may slip through with minimal checks, especially if they're not classified as high-risk. still, for major retailers, playing safe is the norm to avoid penalties or product recalls.

more importantly also face pressure from manufacturers through supply chain or commercial tactics, take a powerful one like nestle who are are their own authorised distributor for their products in Singapore, they can withhold in-store displays, banners, or co-branded ads, delaying supply of new or popular items.......

pls lah, not everything so simplistic one bah.
Lol

Manufacturer vs customer, the one who is paying, has the final say

If the authorised dealers want to exclude themselves from the market, it's their loss.

The products are not so unique and exclusive. If small parallel importers can import them, so can big supermarket chains

VEF888

Lol

Manufacturer vs customer, the one who is paying, has the final say

If the authorised dealers want to exclude themselves from the market, it's their loss.

The products are not so unique and exclusive. If small parallel importers can import them, so can big supermarket chains

you see lots of people still buying from ntuc, no?

again, game’s not that simple bah, lol.

small importers fly under the radar, but big chains like ntuc has got visibility.

pepsico, unilever, p&g, kraft… these giants have a lot of leverage to manage their supply chain/marketing activities, including flow of goods form a region to another if they really want to.

waste time lah, trying to explain marketing and supply chain reality in edmw

WNWAMTOT.

yesman2978

you see lots of people still buying from ntuc, no?

again, game’s not that simple bah, lol.

small importers fly under the radar, but big chains like ntuc has got visibility.

pepsico, unilever, p&g, kraft… these giants have a lot of leverage to manage their supply chain/marketing activities, including flow of goods form a region to another if they really want to.

waste time lah, trying to explain marketing and supply chain reality in edmw

WNWAMTOT.
Buying because using cdc vouchers, clocking credit card spends, and getting linkpoints

But there are also a lot more who switched to buying from parallel importers

There's a reason why valu$, ABC, venus are sprouting everywhere

BlackWing1977

i dont buy toiletries from ntuc de.. super ex..

i get from my fave venus.. :o
I just go one time hoot enough to last for months can liao... Fair Price I only buy there to simply use up the CDC... :sick: that is why I sibei sian again SG60 gonna be half again.. those without Sheng Siong or other supermarket nearby will have to buy from FairPrice.. :sick:

euro2012

Buying because using cdc vouchers, clocking credit card spends, and getting linkpoints

But there are also a lot more who switched to buying from parallel importers

There's a reason why valu$, ABC, venus are sprouting everywhere
ntuc sell sensodyne toothpaste ish local one.. venus sell sensodyne toothpaste is indonesian one(the new word is called baru).. got diff ornotch har??

miko66

Fairprice price is only fair when there's a discount ..

Not wrong what

Cokacola

so funny nowadays people still expect NTUC fairprice to be cheaper option.

time to wake up your idea.

win_man

FairPrice bottled water still the cheapest at 35 cents as compared to Dasani and Ice Mountain. No wrong ah lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.