Do you think your life will be good if you have a salary of S$5000 in Singapore? 月薪5000元,在新加坡能过得好吗?

cpuer

Shiok man, if I have 5k a month, but the problem is my limited leave, if still take, the boss will ask me "Uncle Cpuer, you like travelling so much, you might as well quit and travel anytime you want, ani gam boh?"

fulaien

5k used to be my ideal salary when i started work more than 15 years ago.

But after you reach it, you think 7k is enough. Then 10k. And so on and so forth.

Objectively, if you already have a paid for home, single, lives simply, 5k is still enough.

Add marriage, 1 kid, maybe 5k x 2 = 10k for dual income, if house already paid for.

Plus 1 car is additional 5k, for HHI.

Additional kid is additional 5k.

With house commitments, additional 5k.

I would say about 25k HHI for 2 kids, 1 car, condo.

khratit

Thats the new $2500 in year 2000 standard

You divide everything by 2

Then it makes sense

Cowbellc

5k high to me. In fact can live quite comfortably
Of cos if ur talking abt high life, then it's totally diff league liao
Above stan in sg liao

weiess

if no family .. can, i think is quite decent but no excessive spending..
there are ppl with family earn lower.. i dun see why not.

tan kuku

Nao 10k even not enuff

especially those gotch ginna pi to feed

Laguna123

Yes. $5k is not enough.
Even in Canada also not enough.
My two older adult children are earning about $4-6k per month after taxes. They cannot afford to move out on their own. Will need dual income.
I still provide for my family.
Poor thing lah you, how old are you going to retire?

Laguna123

I'm a peasant holding a low SES job,taking home 3k nia though still can save few hundreds
If my company is not providing meals, not only I do not have enough to eat 2 meals but also have problem surviving so taking home $4k means can save $1k extra ,of course that means I'd be happier than now though it takes me another 5-7 years to get $5k
Actually if company provide meals can really save a lot, on weekend still can go back eat right?

OddEye

Single no also. Single is comfortable but not luxurious

tatsit

Those who say enough must be living a miserable life. Most likely no life

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.