Do you think your life will be good if you have a salary of S$5000 in Singapore? 月薪5000元,在新加坡能过得好吗?

coolhead

I seriously can't survive with $5k/month.
My expenses this year is $23.3k, which works out to $3.6k per month. With $4k take home, I only have $400 buffer.

Mind blown....

TiedInsurer

The thing is.....this isn't happening. Which means that it is still very affordable and cheap to eat out than to cook at home.

Now some argue about quality of food nutrition etc. That's a totally different discussion though.

Another thing I ask you. What about maids? Foreign domestic maids. Has price gone up?

How many SGrean households still have maid? If have maid why don't have them cook food at home?make kopi for ma'am ?

SGreans by and large well to do. $150 increase is nothing lah.
It's actually happening, and it's happening at such a large scale that hawkers and other F&B biz are dropping like flies despite all the forced spending through CDC vouchers. People are cutting back on food expenses, and going back to home cooking.

I don't know about maids because me and my parents were never affulent enough to hrie one, or even entertain the thought of hiring one. Different segment.

$150 is per head. Take note that median salary before bonuses and CPF is around $4k yea. Half of sinkie population earning less then that. The lowest 20% is earning only $2.6k and below. Every 1 in 5.

cyke69sg

It's actually happening, and it's happening at such a large scale that hawkers and other F&B biz are dropping like flies despite all the forced spending through CDC vouchers. People are cutting back on food expenses, and going back to home cooking.

I don't know about maids because me and my parents were never affulent enough to hrie one, or even entertain the thought of hiring one. Different segment.

$150 is per head. Take note that median salary before bonuses and CPF is around $4k yea. Half of sinkie population earning less then that. The lowest 20% is earning only $2.6k and below. Every 1 in 5.
If people have stopped eating out on all the high carb and oil unhealthy food I would say that's a good thing.

It means that people are preparing their own meals. Hopefully more healthy. Also less waste of money on Hawker food.

TiedInsurer

If people have stopped eating out on all the high carb and oil unhealthy food I would say that's a good thing.

It means that people are preparing their own meals. Hopefully more healthy. Also less waste of money on Hawker food.
Agreed. I attribute the change in consumer behaviour, in large part due to the coincidental rise of the air fryer. A lot of young sinkies never learnt to cook, and wouldn't have been able to switch to home cooking despite the increasingly exorbitant prices of hawker food. Air fryers are god's gift to the BBFA. Even kitchen noobs like me can easily make a reasonably healthy meal for minimal hassle.

Senfai

I’m very transparent that my monthly salary including transport allowance is less than 3k

but I am still surviving.

and I am aware there are people earning less and getting by.

cyke69sg

Agreed. I attribute the change in consumer behaviour, in large part due to the coincidental rise of the air fryer. A lot of young sinkies never learnt to cook, and wouldn't have been able to switch to home cooking despite the increasingly exorbitant prices of hawker food. Air fryers are god's gift to the BBFA. Even kitchen noobs like me can easily make a reasonably healthy meal for minimal hassle.
Instant pot also

Spike

My expenses this year is $23.3k, which works out to $3.6k per month. With $4k take home, I only have $400 buffer.

Mind blown....
Excluding monthly mortgage repayments, I spend an average $3.5K monthly on my family of five? :oops:

cyke69sg

Excluding monthly mortgage repayments, I spend an average $3.5K monthly on my family of five? :oops:
So cheap? Do you eat out often? Groceries so cheap in SG?
Utilities? Water bill? Phone bills? Internet? Home insurance? Transport costs?
$700 per month per pax? So cheap!
SG COL is very low then actually.

3G SAINT

That's why a lot of seniors are traveling to JB cause it's cheaper.

But for Seniors >55yo, cinema ticket is only $4.50 during weekdays before 6 pm except for GV must be >60yo.
That why I told taxi driver weekend town also quiet after 11pm...

Most go JB travel,after RTS open retailer getting worse,now already happen biz is down;)

Brionic

Mind blown....

its common, many sinkiekias live by pay check to pay check

this is how the rich squeeze out most of you by controlling the wages so you have to work until drop in coffin

PAP4ever

Hard truths. Even if she willing to go dutch with you, also problem, if the XMM is the atas kind every meal want to go restaurant. Wah my wallet really buay tah han. My meal expenses from $300/mth become $1k per month. Damn jialat. Cannot say her also because she paid her own.

time to find another xmm. :(

Multiversal

If we have more money, we would be able to buy more of the things we want. We believe that we would be happier if we have those things, have more possessions, be it a Roles, a luxury car, meals at Michelin restaurants, Under Armour T shirt instead of unbranded pasar malam or pasar pagi ones, latest iWatch or Garmin, instead of the Health Promotion Board one, and on and on.

Of course. we do believe that rich people are happy people, who are enjoying never ending bliss inside their GCB where parked outside are a few luxury continental cars. Somehow, theirs are perfect marriages where the man could marry any woman he liked, and he had a few hundred chiobus to choose from, and the children are somehow the best, highly intelligent, healthy, well behaved, and future model citizens.

Happiness is defined by how much money we have. If we have money, everything will fall into place. We are winners. The other group who are lifetime members of the BBFA Club, hiamed by even dinobus, who are low ses, whose only joy is to come to edmw and dream, are losers. No happiness can be found in their lives. Reason: Earn less than $5000 a month.

PikaManiac

My take home $10k pm. But my credit card bill usually $2K plus...

Tbh, I never try to save money only. Take grab all the time..if I don't take grab and jiak restaurant.i think less than $1.3k a month.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.