Do you think your life will be good if you have a salary of S$5000 in Singapore? 月薪5000元,在新加坡能过得好吗?

dereth

So basically he struck TOTO, :eek:
Haha JK. It takes balls to work for a startup and take payment in shares instead of fiat. He deserved every cent.

I started from pretty much zero when I ORDed and landed my first job at 25 back in 2003. I married my wife that year, and she even had to pay for our wedding bands and a simple ROM ceremony with a handful of close relatives.

My job from 2003 to 2008 was a rather minimal-paying job at $1.4k. It was hard to save, let alone invest. I left in 2008 with barely $5k in savings and joined my customer.

My next job was in a newly divested MNC. My pay was better, at $3k. The company went public about a year later. I saw potential in their future and started investing 10% of my salary to buy the shares.

I effectively DCA into this company's stocks until I was retrenched in 2018. My last drawn pay was almost $5k. That means my total investment over 10 years was about $50k.

Along the way, I did receive grants upon major project completion, but I was never the lead, just a facilitator. Therefore, the total grants I received while employed amounted to just a few Ks.

When I left, my portfolio had $300k worth of my ex-company's shares.

Back in 2017, with the stagnating price of the shares, I happened to start a thread in HWZ's Money Mind to get some financial advice - I was actually contemplating selling a significant portion to re-invest elsewhere. The thread became my unofficial journal.

Well, back to 2018. Like I said, the price had stalled for a while, but seeing that there were no emergency needs to fill, I just left the shares well enough alone, after a discussion with my wife. I had other investments including T-bills, SSBs, etc... But none holds a candle to this bulk.

My wife said since she's still working, and I still have my survivable dividends, I could relax and not rush into another job. Plus, our HDB was almost fully paid up. Back then, I was just going to take a break and look for something else to do. Got a little sick of IT.

Unfortunately, my wife had cancer the following year and rested at home for months. I was glad to be at home to take care of her. When she was ready to go back to work, COVID happened, and she had to work from home again for another few more months.

By then, my outlook and priorities in life had changed drastically. Her cancer gave me a really good scare. I wanted to spend more time with her, my parents, and my relatives. My wife convinced me to embrace full retirement... So I did. Though, in fact, it already happened a lot earlier.

All in all, it took me about 18 years since I started working to build up a net worth of over $1 million, which I hit in 2021. In 2023, it doubled to $2 million.

Fast forward to 2025, my net worth is now $6 million.

I have no significant debts, my BTO is fully paid off, and I don’t own a car. Ample insurance. No kids either. I can't have kids. Genetic medical condition. My wife knew about it when we were dating in school, but was still determined to marry me.

For final context, I’m 48 this year and retired in 2018 at the age of 40.

cyke69sg

I started from pretty much zero when I ORDed and landed my first job at 25 back in 2003. I married my wife that year, and she even had to pay for our wedding bands and a simple ROM ceremony with a handful of close relatives.

My job from 2003 to 2008 was a rather minimal-paying job at $1.4k. It was hard to save, let alone invest. I left in 2008 with barely $5k in savings and joined my customer.

My next job was in a newly divested MNC. My pay was better, at $3k. The company went public about a year later. I saw potential in their future and started investing 10% of my salary to buy the shares.

I effectively DCA into this company's stocks until I was retrenched in 2018. My last drawn pay was almost $5k. That means my total investment over 10 years was about $50k.

Along the way, I did receive grants upon major project completion, but I was never the lead, just a facilitator. Therefore, the total grants I received while employed amounted to just a few Ks.

Back in 2017, with the stagnating price of the shares, I happened to start a thread in HWZ's Money Mind to get some financial advice - I was actually contemplating selling a significant portion to re-invest elsewhere. The thread became my unofficial journal.

Well, back to 2018. Like I said, the price had stalled for a while, but seeing that there were no emergency needs to fill, I just left the shares well enough alone, after a discussion with my wife. I had other investments including T-bills, SSBs, etc... But none holds a candle to this bulk.

My wife said since she's still working, and I still have my survivable dividends. Plus, our HDB was almost fully paid up. Back then, I was just going to take a break and look for something else to do. Got a little sick of IT.

Unfortunately, my wife had cancer the following year and rested at home for months. I was glad to be at home to take care of her. When she was ready to go back to work, COVID happened, and she had to work from home again for another few more months.

By then, my outlook and priorities in life had changed drastically. Her cancer gave me a really good scare. I wanted to spend more time with her, my parents, and my relatives. My wife convinced me to embrace full retirement... So I did. Though, in fact, it already happened a lot earlier.

All in all, it took me about 18 years since I started working to build up a net worth of over $1 million, which I hit in 2021. In 2023, it doubled to $2 million.

I have no significant debts, my BTO is fully paid off, and I don’t own a car. Ample insurance. No kids either. I can't have kids. Genetic medical condition. My wife knew about it when we were dating in school, but was still determined to marry me.

Next year will be $10m
Bro tell your wife to stop working. Invest her money in AVGO as well.
Aren't you glad you didn't work?
People who work tend to be poor. Those who invest are rich.
You can see here in EDMW.
Those talk about salary all poor one and pay taxes.
The traders and investors in market crash threads are the rich ones. And they don't work and don't pay any taxes either.

dereth

But for Seniors >55yo, cinema ticket is only $4.50 during weekdays before 6 pm except for GV must be >60yo.

My mother recently discovered the cinema again.

My sister dragged her to one because of their neighbour's heavy renovation.

She was very impressed with how comfortable movie theatres are now. Her impression of one was still stuck in the 70s with rigid, smelly wooden seats. And the last time she went to a movie was in the 80s, taking me to the drive-thru cinema in Jurong.

Vehicles.png

We're gonna go watch Superman next month.

She still thinks Christopher Reeve is the most handsome Superman, though. 😆

dereth

Next year will be $10m
Bro tell your wife to stop working. Invest her money in AVGO as well.
Aren't you glad you didn't work?
People who work tend to be poor. Those who invest are rich.
You can see here in EDMW.
Those talk about salary all poor one and pay taxes.
The traders and investors in market crash threads are the rich ones. And they don't work and don't pay any taxes either.

She almost threw the letter last week, after a fight with her boss.

I told her to just retire with me if she cannot tahan. No point getting frustrated with work. It's detrimental to health. I could sell some of the shares, and we'll re-invest locally for more dividends.

She said not yet and to continue holding on to the shares. See where it goes.

Seems my conviction became hers.

And... she's also roped in to my recent obsession with buying a yacht in the future - A beautiful catamaran like this...

aquila-50-yacht-powercats-for-sale.jpg

I agree that investment is key to financial freedom... but those without inheritance and hand-me-downs like us still needed to work regular jobs to make our capital. I did put in years of work to get to where I am.

Albeit my case is more of an outlier event.

My wife said this to me, back when I felt embarrased and refused to admit to people that I was retired, "You worked to get to where you are today. You made the calls, took the risks, and stuck to your convictions when others doubted. That's not dumb luck... That's a calculated success! You've earned every bit of it. Own it and be proud." - That woke me up. She's has always been my voice of reason.

I feel that my life is blessed and I am thankful every day.

I still buy Toto though. 😆

TrollAndOgres

At 2025 with all the inflation and crazy price hikes, i think 5k is really barely enough to pay everything and still have a bit of savings (like below 1k) if got kids and elderly parents to provide for. If single or dink def 5k is okay if there's no frivolous spendings.

yesman2978

Be boss la. One month easily 30k. I regret not start early.

Then many vendors kept asking u out for lunch and dinner and treat u so to gain your support.
One month also easily -$30k and regret starting

Then many creditors kept asking you out

cyke69sg

She almost threw the letter last week, after a fight with her boss.

I told her to just retire with me if she cannot tahan. No point getting frustrated with work. It's detrimental to health. I could sell some of the shares, and we'll re-invest locally for more dividends.

She said not yet and to continue holding on to the shares. See where it goes.

Seems my conviction became hers.

And... she's also roped in to my recent obsession with buying a yacht in the future - A beautiful catamaran like this...

aquila-50-yacht-powercats-for-sale.jpg

I agree that investment is key to financial freedom... but those without inheritance and hand-me-downs like us still needed to work regular jobs to make our capital. I did put in years of work to get to where I am.

Albeit my case is more of an outlier event.

My wife said this to me, back when I felt embarrased and refused to admit to people that I was retired, "You worked to get to where you are today. You made the calls, took the risks, and stuck to your convictions when others doubted. That's not dumb luck... That's a calculated success! You've earned every bit of it. Own it and be proud." - That woke me up. She's has always been my voice of reason.

I feel that my life is blessed and I am thankful every day.

I still buy Toto though. 😆
Wonder why your wife still wants to work earning $5k a month when you have $6m in stocks.

Insecure?

What's $60,000 a year going to do for you guys when your stock portfolio goes up by that amount every few weeks?

Even if you sold $1m of the stocks to spend and keep $5m the growth per year is probably minimum 10 times your wife's salary.

If I were you I would insist that my wife stop working especially if it is causing her unhappiness.

Why you buy TOTO? The first prize not even enough to match your networth.

If want to buy lottery go for bigger ones. I don't bother with those lottery $5m. Small beans.

My lottery is win $70m . Lotto Max.

Bro next time people ask you what you do, just say you are a stock investor. Don't say retired. When they ask more say you hold 21,000 shares of AVGO. Celebrate your success and say it proudly bro!

PaprikaSG

If wanna pay for condo / car / different type of membership, 5K bky. ☹️

dereth

Wonder why your wife still wants to work earning $5k a month when you have $6m in stocks.

Insecure?

What's $60,000 a year going to do for you guys when your stock portfolio goes up by that amount every few weeks?

Even if you sold $1m of the stocks to spend and keep $5m the growth per year is probably minimum 10 times your wife's salary.

If I were you I would insist that my wife stop working especially if it is causing her unhappiness.

Why you buy TOTO? The first prize not even enough to match your networth.

If want to buy lottery go for bigger ones. I don't bother with those lottery $5m. Small beans.

My lottery is win $70m . Lotto Max.

Bro next time people ask you what you do, just say you are a stock investor. Don't say retired. When they ask more say you hold 21,000 shares of AVGO. Celebrate your success and say it proudly bro!
She earns less than $5k and she likes working there. She's worked there for over 15 years. She just doesn't like this particular micromanaging boss. The previous bosses were ok. She hopes her boss retires soon. Or get booted due to political infighting.

I just buy Toto out of habit lah. $2 a week for fun cannot meh? Haiz... 😆

U just continue enjoying your CA life and good luck with your Lotto Max, bro. 🍀

Remember to fly all of us over and treat buffet ok?

Mephist0pheLes

My wife said since she's still working, and I still have my survivable dividends, I could relax and not rush into another job. Plus, our HDB was almost fully paid up. Back then, I was just going to take a break and look for something else to do. Got a little sick of IT.

tbh, having enough is much better than risking for more at your stage. large part of your wealth are concentrated in one asset. i cant imagine the level of stress and trauma you and ur wife need to bear if your stock turn sour when both of you are in your 60s.

3G SAINT

That's why a lot of seniors are traveling to JB cause it's cheaper.

But for Seniors >55yo, cinema ticket is only $4.50 during weekdays before 6 pm except for GV must be >60yo.
You are senior already if I am right:)

I still got few years then reach senior age can apply 2room bto and might sell my 4room if need $$$:)

Can pass 55yo then will see can reach over 60yo;)

:)55>60>65>70>75>80>85

cyke69sg

She earns less than $5k and she likes working there. She's worked there for over 15 years. She just doesn't like this particular micromanaging boss. The previous bosses were ok. She hopes her boss retires soon. Or get booted due to political infighting.

I just buy Toto out of habit lah. $2 a week for fun cannot meh? Haiz... 😆

U just continue enjoying your CA life and good luck with your Lotto Max, bro. 🍀

Remember to fly all of us over and treat buffet ok?

I also buy Lotto Max out of habit. $20 a week for fun too. :)

Bro can you fly me over to SG and treat me buffet? You much richer than me!

cyke69sg

Let's hope the world ends by then.

Bro I think what @Mephist0pheLes was alluding to is the concept of risk management. Also what your goals are.

Interestingly you don't have any children. So what are your long term goals financially?

Are you planning for nieces and nephews?

$6m already still NEED to all in?

Even take out $500k to secure things a bit I don't think will make a big dent in your final financial goals with growth will it?

MoeLanYong

Edmw is anyhow one.

When I started a thread to ask can one survive on $3000 a month, an overwhelming 78% said they can.

Here, TS ask can one survive on $5k, an overwhelming responses said No.

Jeremy1

My mother recently discovered the cinema again.

My sister dragged her to one because of their neighbour's heavy renovation.

She was very impressed with how comfortable movie theatres are now. Her impression of one was still stuck in the 70s with rigid, smelly wooden seats. And the last time she went to a movie was in the 80s, taking me to the drive-thru cinema in Jurong.

Vehicles.png

We're gonna go watch Superman next month.

She still thinks Christopher Reeve is the most handsome Superman, though. 😆

Yes, I also think Christopher Reeve is the most handsome Superman but just too bad, he is not around anymore.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.