i want to change to EV but I stay HDB how to charge?

pwillie

Buy a hand crank generator, manually charge it while watching Netflix in the carpark.

Soule

Just wonder how people use it. Ga-wa-bo-kuan-hey. Wa-da-ka-chia one. No need charge anything. :s22:

Anyway, think the intention is for people charge as and when its available. Little by little. Not wait for it near empty then look to charge full. Like in between running errand, etc. So, no need hog the charging station one.

People need a serious change of mindset, and habit, if want to use ev effectively. Its not like petrol car run till empty then pump.

most of the time i see is always got car one... never empty

Soule

With $40k rebates you can get a $200k EV. Compared to $160K what ICE or even hybrid new cars can you get?
i only charge my EV every 4 days on average and do so whenever convenient. Ironically much prefer that to when I need to detour to petrol stations.
Finally do a test drive on EV that will change your mind. One test drive is all that need to convince me on EV :s13:

i drove EV in US and the looking for charger and charging is a BIG pain... EV seems only for landed people...

jeff79

Go to ev fast chargers, same as how you go to petrol station now.

Chalkycliffs

All petrol stations nowadays have charging station?

Not all refueling stations have, but the ones with EV chargers installed usually have higher voltage charging capabilities compared to HDB installed chargers.

and_who

With $40k rebates you can get a $200k EV. Compared to $160K what ICE or even hybrid new cars can you get?
i only charge my EV every 4 days on average and do so whenever convenient. Ironically much prefer that to when I need to detour to petrol stations.
Finally do a test drive on EV that will change your mind. One test drive is all that need to convince me on EV :s13:
Flawed logic on so many levels.

A EV model costs more than an equivalent ICE model with similar performance and function in the first place and the 40k rebate equalises the difference at best. Add that to zero PARF rebate because of this 40k “subsidy” compared to ICE cars.

Next the argument will be that EVs are cheaper to charge vs refueling ICE cars. True, but EV road taxes are much higher to compensate for loss of fuel taxation. Charging infrastructure is so poor and you pay commercial charging providers extra to provide charging services

Add higher insurance costs and depreciation to the mix. Oh and poor battery efficiency at speeds above 80kmh.

Can’t wait to see if your evangelistic AI fueled fervour for EVs lasts for the entire 10 years, especially once your battery efficiency and range drops. Even if you wanted to sell your EV, you will find that no one will want to take it off your hands.

sneggg

Me too. On ev for 2 months now, my place also no charge but no issues.
Charge whenever convenient, doesn’t have to charge fully all the time different from petrol where normally you refuel in full for convenience.
My SoC is always between 4x-7x %

Ethan_

most of the time i see is always got car one... never empty
Think the idea is for people to charge a little as and when available, when stop for errand and such. Especially when on the move. Not to park and wait to charge full, unless at home got the time. That's why make it more available everywhere. Not so much in abundance just in one place.

Thus, common to always see got some car charging. But don't think will see charging station many many in one place one. Its here abit there abit. So that people can have access to it when on the move.

Think its something like the days without powerbank for smartphone. Alot of people need to use the phone whole day. But their phone won't last whole day. Thus they go where also find charging. Will at home charge liao, go office use up abit liao still charge so as to maintain enough juice for use. Or when go to those other places like restaurant makan who have free or available charging one will also plug in to charge.

Find the concept rather troublesome. Always need to be aware and find charging. Until they have better options for maybe portable replacement and such, like the latter powerbank for smartphone, to make it more convenient.

titusilvering

seriously just 3 chargers in my estate how to serve he entire community.... and it takes at least a month to build 1 charger.... the infrastructure not ready yet?
Ev is a scam. Why change? You know everything about green and woke come from usa during US democratic party took power.

Now republican in power they cancel all the dei woke and ev mandate liao.

Only sg dumb to believe ev is the way

gilcrest

i want but the charging part really not convenient...
Let the ground noise grow to rock LTA's narrative. Their aim of green energy is noble but their implementation across is still half hearted. If they really wanted to adopt ev it would have happened long ago and not all these 3rd parties infrastructure.

Same like the adoption of a smart 11B to stream line manual processes. People have been suggesting it for decades with reference to commercially available solutions. Yet it took almost 2 decades to implement.

Our government are turtles in major things

gilcrest

jin laughable

moi area carpark only 3-5 EV charging parking lot

but expect ppl to buy EV
Right, they expect most hdb dwellers to drive limited mileage before charging and they have not forsee hogging issues yet at charging station. Sinkies proven to be able to do that

gilcrest

Me too. On ev for 2 months now, my place also no charge but no issues.
Charge whenever convenient, doesn’t have to charge fully all the time different from petrol where normally you refuel in full for convenience.
My SoC is always between 4x-7x %
Key point is a car is for your convenience ; you dun end up as a slave to it

hammerhammer

In the first place where the electricity comes from? Still need to generate through power station right? And we know energy cannot be created or destroyed. It can only change from one form to another. So by burning fuel to generate the electricity to charge your ev and while charging heat is generated and most loss of energy. So where's the green? Unless we talk about nuclear power plant then maybe better for the environment lah.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.