AVP (Assistant Vice President) is it a big role

Sutebenu

I always thought AVP is a very big role with high pay, because it sounds like they are the assistant to the VP.
However, I recently meet a client who's holding AVP role, but it turns out a AVP in their company is just like a team lead or small manager in their company, managing a group of 5 staff.
They have like at least a few dozen of AVP in their company.
Upon asking around, I also got a few friends who's also holding AVP role, but they also say they are just doing sai kang entry level work only, with very little pay.
The AVP title is just an inflated job title.

Upon searching on google, most of the AVP role are indeed high ranking, earning 5 digit monthly salary.
But a few sounds like inflated, where they only give like 3k to 4k salary.

So what do you all think, is AVP a overly use inflated job title?
Banks, AVP smaller than Director.

Big corporate MNCs, Director smaller than AVP.

sinkiedk

I always thought AVP is a very big role with high pay, because it sounds like they are the assistant to the VP.
However, I recently meet a client who's holding AVP role, but it turns out a AVP in their company is just like a team lead or small manager in their company, managing a group of 5 staff.
They have like at least a few dozen of AVP in their company.
Upon asking around, I also got a few friends who's also holding AVP role, but they also say they are just doing sai kang entry level work only, with very little pay.
The AVP title is just an inflated job title.

Upon searching on google, most of the AVP role are indeed high ranking, earning 5 digit monthly salary.
But a few sounds like inflated, where they only give like 3k to 4k salary.

So what do you all think, is AVP a overly use inflated job title?
Vp manages countries' GM. GM manages the entire company in the country :( what do you think :(

Optrex

Tiagong call yourself Factory Worker but it's actually owner of the whole factory building.

actually, that is the whole point. when u r high enough, ppl naturally will know. no need big titles and ppl still need to guess how big u actually are compared to your title. but low rank also got advantages. u happy can liao. high rank and no life... for what?

jeffprobst

It depends on the context, especially in local banks with the longest acronyms. The AVP title may sound impressive, but in reality, it is usually just a senior individual contributor or at most a team lead. The role is often expected to handle the bulk of the work that upper management wants to avoid.

Many local banks are flooded with VP titles and above, yet a lot of them have little understanding of what actually happens on the ground. This disconnect creates unnecessary bottlenecks and delays. Meanwhile, the AVP and below ends up doing the real work, expected to execute, solve problems, and in some cases, even answer on behalf of the team simply because they are the highest-ranked among the contributors.

In teams with managers who avoid responsibility, the AVP is often used as a convenient buffer. They become the go-to person for pressure from above, blamed when things go wrong, and pushed to clean up issues they had no say in. The title may look good on paper, but in practice, it often means carrying more weight without the authority that should come with it.

ahboy82

I keep ask moi AVP fren in local bank how much he earn he die die dun wan share knn. :(

tidiii

depends on industry
if ur not in the industry u wont know unless someone tell you know or its common knowledge like banking avp...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.