Do you think your life will be good if you have a salary of S$5000 in Singapore? 月薪5000元,在新加坡能过得好吗?

dereth

Your wife should resign if work is giving her stress, cancer survivors should not be under stress, she got a second lease on life, I say cherish it instead of wasting it...
I also think so.
But his wife enjoys her work.
I was thinking about this topic.
I guess we all need to be doing something also.
So it is not just about money. But what in life gives meaning. Purpose.

She actually might do so this week... 😆

dereth

Time to enjoy the fruits of your investment.
Have a good adventure!

My wife has been working at her current company since 2008, the same year I joined my ex-company.

Most of the time, she's pretty happy with the environment and her colleagues. The only wildcard is management. Some managers are great, some are garbage. Her current one?

Absolute piece of work.

I got to know a lot about her job during the long COVID period when she was working from home. I even helped with data entry and proofreading her emails. Back then, there was no AI yet, just Grammarly and me.

As for me, I was in IT, but not just the usual IT stuff. I handled comms too - created training decks, developed training videos, designed posters, ran IT classes both online and in-person. Also juggled global mobile accounts across 14 countries, co-managed the Google Suite, helped oversee the helpdesk in Chennai, and ran support for global video/audio conferencing tools like Cisco, Intercall, and WebEx. On top of that, I was the go-to guy for C-suites and SVPs (and their admin assistants) across Asia whenever something isn't working - Or to help them turn it off and on again.

If you ever called into our automated IT helpline, yeah, that was my voice too.

Oh, and I was also the unofficial sai gaang Safety Officer doing weekly rounds. Spotting hazards in cleanrooms, checking for unauthorized power extensions in offices, removing potted plants from shelves before they could KO someone.... blah blah.

All that... for less than $5k a month.

No cap. 😆

Now you see why this company only budgets less than 1% for IT every year?

You don’t want to work there. But if you own shares, you want people like me working for you. ;)

In the early years, there were half-yearly team-building events, regular department lunches, and annual company D&D as well. In the later years? Zilch, zero, nada.

臭鷄蛋.

香蕉你的芭樂.

And don’t even get me started on the bell curve system. Even if the whole team performs well, someone still gets tossed under the bus with a bad rating. No major projects? No bonus. No increment. Just vibes.

Every quarter, the CEO will present department P&L figures during local coffee talks. If your department keeps dipping below the line, (Yes. There is really a line drawn on the presentation chart.) it gets the axe. Publicly. That’s how they roll.

So yeah, I knew the company would do well. Exceptionally well.

It’s not a humane place to work, but it’s defo a solid investment.

Nah beh, I need to stop with all these Gen Z slangs. Making myself cringe af. Bad for my aura. 😬

Still, I stayed on until I was retrenched - 9 years 11 months. Why? My colleagues, my boss, and my director were all great. I think I was just kept too busy to think too much.

Ah crap, I just realised I derailed so much... this was supposed to be about my wife!

Anyway, during the WFH period, I sat next to her during most of her Zoom calls at home, unless I was cooking or doing chores. So you bet I know stuff. What do I know about her boss? Grade-A micromanager.

No clue what's happening on the ground. Comes up with all these nonsense sunshine-and-rainbows ideas that completely ignore the team’s capacity or mental health.

Never lets them rest during downtime. Keeps pushing for them to assist other departments so he can rack up brownie points. Total ball-carrying sakar brown-noser who's somehow more disruptive than helpful. Honestly, things would definitely run smoother if he wasn’t around.

If there’s someone I’d like to punch aside from Xi, Putin, Netanyahu, and KJU, it’s this guy.

Trump gets a pass. At least he’s entertaining.

Anyway, sorry for the rant. Think I overdid it on Diablo last night. Found someone giving out free power leveling and lost track of time. Gonna crash for a bit.

donut88

It's possible. Manage expectations.

Ask those with 3,4 kids in the family with low income. How they survive? They still can survive.

It's all about expectations

Auzz777

Bro I feel for you.
So hard to even earn $5k a month?
That's like only $250 a day if count 20 days a month.
Really tough for you bro.
You have a tough life.
Don’t just say feel lah. Send him a cheque if you empathise.

mcylo

i have 3 kids and drives an mpv, ok leh.

but hor my salary above 5k lah

Cookiemonster888

I'm single earning 5.5k. I live by myself in a 2 room BTO. I don't need to pay cash for my flat. After CPF deduction, take home 4.4k. I give my parents $500 a month. Insurance, bills and etc total about $800. Transport around $200. Monthly necessities around $200 or less. Balance left about $2700. I save $1000 each month. I have about $1700 to spend each month, that is around $60 a day. So I think $5000 is more than enough if you're single.

Zze121

interview ft ? they come n go
interview youngster, haven't feel full blown heat
5k after cpf, less mthly expense, give parent, need to save up bto 20 or 25% down-payment by 35, how much left ?

ninja99

Anyway, during the WFH period, I sat next to her during most of her Zoom calls at home, unless I was cooking or doing chores. So you bet I know stuff. What do I know about her boss? Grade-A micromanager.

No clue what's happening on the ground. Comes up with all these nonsense sunshine-and-rainbows ideas that completely ignore the team’s capacity or mental health.

Never lets them rest during downtime. Keeps pushing for them to assist other departments so he can rack up brownie points. Total ball-carrying sakar brown-noser who's somehow more disruptive than helpful. Honestly, things would definitely run smoother if he wasn’t around.
Isn’t all boss like that, how to show their worth without all this tangible stuff like continuous work/improvement/ project to allow them to showcase to his/her boss.

my ex boss tied up himself with all his material procession, every level he climbed he get himself tied up with another big ticket purchase.
How he keep up, keep saying yes to his bosses in work lo.
in the end the ground will suffered, it’s either you keep up with the pace and be loaded with endless work or you just give up and give the slot to others.
Now all talk like money fall from sky, no easy money nowadays, better be mentally prepared to be slave if you want material obsessed life so you can show off in the social media.

kkcheng77

Depends on how you want to live your life bah. No car, no smoke, no drink, few friends, no affair, short holidays, get stuff from Taobao, carousell and thrift shops, cai png every meal.
It is possible even with kids.

MoeLanYong

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.