Big fire in a HDB unit

thwysg

Nearest atas one should be the peak?

Usually such dbss got fire rescue team to douse any flame?
Can check news lor.

138C tio before, also new resident who had moved in 1-2years. Think it was 19F. Middle of the night around 3am, and because of the layout, the fire engines were stuck at the carpark gantry for some time. They were unable to turn in. Other neighbors mentioned it was due to overnight charging of a power bank in one of the bedrooms.

foreveru13

Cos of this news I went buy home insurance but after buy rem I already bought fwd home insurance it was like $70+ for 4yrs lol. But fwd one 20k coverage only

kimsix

so jialat!!!

i wonder how safe the structure is .....when hdb build, did they cater for this kind of flames?

Newer btos looks even more scary, units are closer and taller and prefabs

i think hdb got good excuse to SER this whole block, all 120sqm+ units is waste of space in their minds... shift them all to smaller btos now!

justln

Sticking to sun dry my underwear and blanket proves that I am right. All those who asked me to buy a dryer, better check yours now.
Your imaginary friends or foes ask you buy dryer huh? :s8:

NoSouL

some of the residents are allowed to go back to the unit, depending on which floor that they are staying.

there won't be any power for the whole block tonight. Means no light, no aircon, fridge no power, cannot charge your devices, no TV, and no lift.

the unit that caught the fire, husband and wife, 3 kids, a helper and a dog. they just bought the unit and move in 3 years ago. They should have spend quite a bit on renovation.
But the neighbours said this family is not friendly, and they put a lot of stuff outside the corridor, lift area.

The authorities are quite helpful, provide food, snacks, drinks and even diapers for the residents. they also provide 2 rooms flats in TPY for those who needs a shelter. It is a bare unit with lights and tap.

Geminiboy

Just passed by the block. All black out. Half the face is black. How is anyone able to stay there tonight? The heat must still be very present.

TopGun

Please buy home insurance. If you are those units above the one on fire, you would be badly affected by the smoke.

medicheng

The dryer should be running on government gas. Unable to stop the gas from leaking out. I suspected.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.