oncall-engineer

A Math during secondary school B3. Ke yi Ma?If your math no good.... Please don't study computing....
Thanks, I’ll do my best.AAA so must be hard? Smlj, accounting used to be hard to get in also sia but now nobody want so dropped too
TS, most important part is to have strong portfolio, you complete all this must show how applicable it is to your future coy. Ppl and coy don't really care if it's difficult but they care about money, as how you can apply this knowledge to help make money. Show cert now not satki liao, must show portfolio as how you apply those skillset.
A Math during secondary school B3. Ke yi Ma?
Wa lao this is nt statistician stuff any normal uni grad will learn this lehSome concept became clearer when undergoing certain lessons in the course. I know this may be noob stuff for the professional statisticians, but its rather eye opening for me.
Like for example, why using mean to measure Singaporean's salary may not be meaningful ~ because it can be skewed. So instead of using mean, other alternative measurements like median and interquartile range (IQR) make more sense. So now, people can brag about belonging to the top quadrant.
If you want to take the course purely to learn, Codecademy is 1 of the worst ways to go. There will be times when you are stuck, and if you go the “Get Unstuck” route, there is a high possibility you will often end up saying to yourself … “Aiyah, that’s all they are asking?” because you could have done it but the way it is worded you think the correct answer should be more complicated than it actually is.I recently subscribed to Codecademy for a year and jumped straight into their Machine Learning/AI Engineering Foundations course. I figured it would be a good way to get hands-on with data science fundamentals and maybe even pivot into the field down the road.
…
Anyone else here tried this course or other platforms? Curious to know how others managed the difficulty and stayed motivated.

then what would you recommend? for someone who want to get into this field?If you want to take the course purely to learn, Codecademy is 1 of the worst ways to go. There will be times when you are stuck, and if you go the “Get Unstuck” route, there is a high possibility you will often end up saying to yourself … “Aiyah, that’s all they are asking?” because you could have done it but the way it is worded you think the correct answer should be more complicated than it actually is.
The only reason to use Codecademy is for employers who still have boomer mindset and think Codecademy is the “measuring stick” … and surprise surprise … Accenture is 1 such boomer mindset company - a friend applied for a Junior Java Developer post and they made completing the Java courses on Codecademy a requirement for him to qualify for 2nd interview.
Codecademy is what EDMWers refer to as “toilet paper”![]()
I was trying to learn about AI and consulted ChatGPT and it recommended me this foundation course.@oncall-engineer
May I know whats yr rationale for studying DS now in SG?
Its incredibly SATURATED. Jobs are getting outsourced to Manila/Mumbai or whereever
Sorry im ignorant.Wa lao this is nt statistician stuff any normal uni grad will learn this leh![]()
I see. I am from IT industry.. I think anyone studying IT or DS now shd srs reconsider lol..It looks bleak in SG..I was trying to learn about AI and consulted ChatGPT and it recommended me this foundation course.
Oh I didn’t know that. What about software engineering in general? Also bleak? Temporarily bleak or looking bleak in the mid term?I see. I am from IT industry.. I think anyone studying IT or DS now shd srs reconsider lol..It looks bleak in SG..
I work in a local bank. All our development and testing is done in Manila/Mumbai...Software eng is good if you are from there? LulsOh I didn’t know that. What about software engineering in general? Also bleak? Temporarily bleak or looking bleak in the mid term?
meta offering 100mil for openai sweafter completing the course will get hired by meta for half a mil per year?
I work in a local bank. All our development and testing is done in Manila/Mumbai...Software eng is good if you are from there? Luls
Wa lao this is nt statistician stuff any normal uni grad will learn this leh![]()
Software engineer is still good if u r extremely zai and is faang calibre. If avg joe like moi then yea agree is bleakI work in a local bank. All our development and testing is done in Manila/Mumbai...Software eng is good if you are from there? Luls
I recently subscribed to Codecademy for a year and jumped straight into their Machine Learning/AI Engineering Foundations course. I figured it would be a good way to get hands-on with data science fundamentals and maybe even pivot into the field down the road.
To my surprise, it’s really not easy at all. Introduction abit shag already — the learning curve is steep. It made me realise how rigorous the subject really is, and why local universities like NUS require AAA to get into their data science programmes. And I'm not even close to the Python programming, linear algebra, probability theory and machine learning concepts.
Anyone else here tried this course or other platforms? Curious to know how others managed the difficulty and stayed motivated.