Electric vehicles fall short of advertised range !

keenklee

Many ICE car also boast fuel consumption good

Some will say theirs can 1 tank from Singapore to KL then come back Singapore

All alibaba one lo

So far personally i feel Toyota their claim possible mileage of the car is the most accurate one.

mild hybrid on paper 14.5km/L
actual city drive 12.5km/L
less 13.8%

petrol on paper 18.5km/L
urban 6.9L/100km
extra urban 4.5L/100km
combine 5.5L/100km
actual city drive on a 7yo car 11.5km/L or 8.7L/100km
37.8% or 36.7% on combine is less efficiency vs on paper

only concern is, how much ev efficiency deteriorate over the years vs when its new ?

IMHO.
Toyota hybrid - advertised 18.8 km/L.
For me is around 23 km/L - 22.3% better.

f1y555

Not shocking at all. Even when when you a buy a 256GB phone but the actual total disk space is not exactly 256GB. Just a matter of how much lesser.

minimalis

New EV driver of one week here. One thing I must say... damn lecheh. Range is not as advertised definitely, a 15km journey and battery drops 5% liao. Step a bit to overtake 1% drop. Real time presentation of the charge status causes a lot of range anxiety. Projected range on EV is usually +25% more than what can be delivered. Charging is troublesome too, many AC chargers islandwide are really slow. DC chargers are fast but far and few, and charge a bomb. AC is $0.50+/kwh and DC is about $0.75/kwh (SP). Not to mention, sometimes charger and EV got connection issues, or charging station got payment issues. Sometimes you think it's charging but end up never charge due to some interface error. With the idling fee, shop halfway must run back to the car to move it out of the lot and go and hunt for another lot. In comparison, ICE car is so fuss free. Would I dare to take the EV up Malaysia to KL? I think maybe not, too stressful.

sky00sky

difference though is....each time u refuel....takes 5mins....while each time u try to top off your battery.....
so instead of dismissing the time on this

the tech had reach c6/c7 already

just that sg is slow in adopting and what not , hope byd with the amount of cars sold and it a small country will bring in its super chargers

keenklee

New EV driver of one week here. One thing I must say... damn lecheh. Range is not as advertised definitely, a 15km journey and battery drops 5% liao. Step a bit to overtake 1% drop. Real time presentation of the charge status causes a lot of range anxiety. Projected range on EV is usually +25% more than what can be delivered. Charging is troublesome too, many AC chargers islandwide are really slow. DC chargers are fast but far and few, and charge a bomb. AC is $0.50+/kwh and DC is about $0.75/kwh (SP). Not to mention, sometimes charger and EV got connection issues, or charging station got payment issues. Sometimes you think it's charging but end up never charge due to some interface error. With the idling fee, shop halfway must run back to the car to move it out of the lot and go and hunt for another lot. In comparison, ICE car is so fuss free. Would I dare to take the EV up Malaysia to KL? I think maybe not, too stressful.
IMHO.
If I get EV, it will involves some lifestyle changes. Hybrid, more or less the same, just go petrol station less often.

MarkerForProjector

I think the range is for

1) brand new battery
2) perfect air pressure in all wheels
3) fresh tires
4) no unnecessary rubbish in car
5) only 1 skinny driver with 55kg
6) consistently driven at 70kmh

keenklee

so instead of dismissing the time on this

the tech had reach c6/c7 already

just that sg is slow in adopting and what not , hope byd with the amount of cars sold and it a small country will bring in its super chargers
IMHO.
I think for HDB areas, the limitations could be the sub-stations. Either you have more slow chargers or one quick charger.

nyvrem

Wah u one week suffer so much? Tio bo

johnsonheng

What car

nyvrem

Need time to adjust.example you go lunch. Go to place withu fast charge and charge it while eating lunch. Finish lunch just nice

pay $150k+ for new cat, still tell me must adjust.

still kenna anxiety problems when driving.

like that stick to hybrid sua

nyvrem

IMHO.
Range anxiety is real. But not necessary not acceptable. I got colleagues change to EV, so far so good.

heng moi drive 17 yo manual ice cat.

need petrol? go esso pump, 2 mins settle liao.

want save petrol? put in N and coast

but save petrol for what, moi buyed cat to enjoy, not save the world.

:crazy:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.