[GLGT] Minister Ong Ye Kung Responds to KF Seetoh’s Untrue Claims About Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre

focus1974

IB is IB - they just bark niah

Anyone know who has served in the army will know the term 'kena marked'

Anyone publicly voicing out against "authority" will tio marked
corporate also no different mah.
it's human nature.

standarture

Hahahah IB lai liao

Comparing hawker to restaurant chains? Ingenious

Can't even make out who is overcharging and that these practises will cause higher inflation for you.

Really sinkies deserve to be slaves, no one should bother speaking up for them
Lol this IB is a capitalist. Hawker centre is not about making good food. It is about supplying accessible decently priced food to people, thats all.

NeonX

This KFST really talk and shoot without checking both ends and confirming the facts. blue basket? simi blue basket? talk facts la, its not the blue basket they temp place at the back of the hawker that is chargeable its the space for a cabinet if its placed there permanently.

if the contract puts a chargeable space, rental increase and then they will also KPKB...

then comes this so called food critic... you want help hawker, we understand, but do it in a more constructive way, not in a passive aggressive manner. what he has done in hopes of wat? slashing the rental by half? are the hawkers going to pass the rental savings or cost savings to the price of the food they sell? my foot.. likely it goes into their pocket.

if the hawker cannot survive and is making losses, its not the landlord's fault, its their own fault because they cant cook good food that people will constantly buy from them?

look at those Chinese restaurants they pay high rental, have bigger work force and more reno depre to take care of, but did they complain? they push on...

bubble teas, expensive right? $5-6 a cup... ppl buy? yes they do... rental? i think expensive also... do they use unallocated or un rented space? i dont think so..

inflation and price increases are inevitable, cost escalation will be something we need to deal with... not forced charity or charging for blue baskets... seriously...
Rental have nothing to do with prices leh

tomsss

in before OYK and team response with "something something had been misinterpreted"

then go and re-define the whole situation with a totally different narrative

SayPorkGuy

IB is IB - they just bark niah

Anyone know who has served in the army will know the term 'kena marked'

Anyone publicly voicing out against "authority" will tio marked
it's abt wuji or boji. say liaoz burn bridges no use. want then all out go nuclear. let these unscrupulous landlords continue to operate, everyone suffers.

Carnage

Lol this IB is a capitalist. Hawker centre is not about making good food. It is about supplying accessible decently priced food to people, thats all.

Why can't we have both? Decent food and/or affordable prices.

ChuppaChups

Knowing OYK publicity team well enough; the next thing they will make him do is to invite Seetoh to the hawker ctr and both will be pictured having a discussion over teh and local breakfast and post in social media and as usual Kopeship Kopes.

Carnage

Rental have nothing to do with prices leh
All hawkers and restaurant owners will tell you the key challenge in their industry is rental and cost of manpower.

I don't know where you get the idea rental have nothing to do with prices.

krikering

Seems like not many give any 2 hoots abt the plight of the hawkers. Many just popcorn watch the war of words between KF and OYK.

If the ppl really care, they won't be ngiao chee ngiao sai insisting that local hawker fare must be cheap and good and fresh and hygienic, while not batting eyelid patronizing the expensive restaurant food from shopping malls.

Really sux to be hawkers, no wonder it's a dwindling trade and worse get bullied by mercenary operators.
Higher prices is because those hawkers operating at paper-thin margin with skyrocketing rent and other costs, etc.

Thus he understand thos situation and hopes to fight for their plight. Same actors behind this situation is the greedy landlords, etc. causing the entire situation to happen right now.

But I agree with you that it should not be us nor the hawkers to pay for the greed of these landlords. They continue to jack up rent to fund their GCBs, Conti/BMWs, expensive vacations overseas and luxury goods purchases, etc.

Both we and the hawkers are in the same boat actually, we should understand and sympathise with each other more.

nachtsid.er

You would be silly to think he is doing it purely out of love for local hawker culture for fighting for the under-represented class of singapore
Remember, people always act out of their OWN self interests

standarture

Why can't we have both? Decent food and/or affordable prices.
You can, but "good" food is not a priority. I went to Bukit Panjang hawker before, cheap prices but horrible tasting food but still crowded. Everything tastes low quality and factory made. I suspect foodfare dictate them to use certain suppliers only.

carey

All hawkers and restaurant owners will tell you the key challenge in their industry is rental and cost of manpower.

I don't know where you get the idea rental have nothing to do with prices.
I think he was being sarcastic, just repeating what a minister claimed in Parliament ;)

fortunehunter

We need to keep the hawker culture to cater for affordable peasant local food.
Don't bring what protein bowl, chicken don or abalone fried rice into hawker. Selling 7.90, 8.90, 12.90.
We just need a 5.00 food that's all.
Want sell such food go coffee shop or food court or even restaurant please.

Carnage

You can, but "good" food is not a priority. I went to Bukit Panjang hawker before, cheap prices but horrible tasting food but still crowded. Everything tastes low quality and factory made. I suspect foodfare dictate them to use certain suppliers only.
I wonder if people still complain about the small portions at that hawker centre?

When I ate there 10 years ago, the prices were cheaper than the nearby coffeeshops but I also noticed the portions were smaller too.

fortunehunter

To be honest we peasant don't really care about super JHJ food just a below average will do. Pay 5 dollar for a simple noodle or rice.

Philipkee

I've done so.

And prevailed.

Even in whistleblowing policies, for the committee to take a report seriously, it has to be accompanied by a verifiable complainant.

Else, ... anyone can frivolously file anonymous reports.

Power to you!
Unfortunately, a lot of us have fear for our ricebowl ...when we think of dealing with people of higher authority.
民不与官斗。
I kind of agree with @Capitalist

The big thing is when you whistle blow, it must be objective and not personal.

For example
U say I notice safety breaches in this aspect cos I notice it seems people are not wearing helmets in the site - it’s OK

u say I noticed xxx walking around the site without helmet - that one asking to die

For hawker
If u say my rent is $20k a month for this space plus I need to pay $70 for this small area - it’s ok. Just let everyone draw the conclusions

If you say I think my landlord is a bloodsucker who wants another $70 for this space when I’m already paying $20k a month for this space - asking to be targeted

How u talk to a reporter, how u talk to a whistleblowing committee and how u talk to a friend is different

carey

I wonder if people still complain about the small portions at that hawker centre?

When I ate there 10 years ago, the prices were cheaper than the nearby coffeeshops but I also noticed the portions were smaller too.
Something has to give for the equation to "balance"

If they claim rental isn't an issue, then the seller has to find other ways to reduce overall cost ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.