[GPGT] PSP's Stephanie Tan denounces the lack of strong action for bullying in Schs! Calls for MOE to be proactive and conduct direct investigations!

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

charleslee1989

So she wants lots more cctv, a much bigger MOE and a more paternalistic gahmen.

Be careful what she wishes for.

And this party got many problems.

It's full of retirees and unemployed people but wants this and wants that.
Before you stray out of topic, the current mess is due to the schools itself being so weak to take charge of the situation effectively. It is not helped by ministers promising punishments for filming the act of bullying, be it for shaming the victim or whistleblowing.

Eliwood

MOE says otherwise on the framework....

https://www.moe.gov.sg/education-in-sg/our-programmes/discipline

"Discipline in schools​

MOE provides schools with guidelines to formulate their discipline policies and school rules based on the student profile and needs. Disciplinary consequences such as detention, suspension and corrective community service are considered in combination or separately, depending on the circumstances of each case. Caning is a disciplinary option for boys only, and for serious offences as a last resort, when absolutely necessary."

From ur link near the bottom:

https://www.schoolbag.edu.sg/story/six-discipline-questions-answered/

Doesnt seem like there is clear framework and guidance. The appropriate disciplinary measures for offences are also not set out.

With such big gap, no wonder schools cannot deal with bullying effectively.

"There are school rules and guidelines, but they are only a reference point. We need to manage discipline on a case-by-case basis. We need to know the cause of the child’s behaviour, so we can come up with the appropriate measure. It is quite a complex decision. We have to look at the child, the circumstances of the offence, and the support that a child is receiving at home and from the community.

There’s a broad list of major and minor offences identified by MOE, but the disciplinary measures for them are up to each school to decide."

charleslee1989

School should put 1 spf officer to patrol and handle right? How many times kena caught liao the school principal say simi monitor first, no evidence blah blah blah. If spf involved, can just overwrite the teacher's and principal's decision and follow a standarized set of sop to handle. And if school got spf, the victim can just straight away run to look for an authority figure for help
Actually, the only time SPF appears in school unannounced is when the SSB is visiting the known pai kias in school.....Other than that, everything is left to the school until the school calls for help...

Eliwood

Before you stray out of topic, the current mess is due to the schools itself being so weak to take charge of the situation effectively. It is not helped by ministers promising punishments for filming the act of bullying, be it for shaming the victim or whistleblowing.

So what should be the appropriate punishment for bullies?

Since it seems like u r against naming and shaming?

Personally i also think it is tough to decide on the appropriate punishment considering both the bully and bullied may be young kids.

buzzlightyear852

So she wants lots more cctv, a much bigger MOE and a more paternalistic gahmen.

Be careful what she wishes for.

And this party got many problems.

It's full of retirees and unemployed people but wants this and wants that.

imo lightning party got the most problems

Even dining with certain ‘strangers’ can get away

No accountability given in all aspects of their governance.

charleslee1989

From ur link near the bottom:

https://www.schoolbag.edu.sg/story/six-discipline-questions-answered/

Doesnt seem like there is clear framework and guidance. The appropriate disciplinary measures for offences are also not set out.

With such big gap, no wonder schools cannot deal with bullying effectively.

"There are school rules and guidelines, but they are only a reference point. We need to manage discipline on a case-by-case basis. We need to know the cause of the child’s behaviour, so we can come up with the appropriate measure. It is quite a complex decision. We have to look at the child, the circumstances of the offence, and the support that a child is receiving at home and from the community.

There’s a broad list of major and minor offences identified by MOE, but the disciplinary measures for them are up to each school to decide."

What you said is zero framework at all. What is actually happening is a minimal framework ( which is still a framework after all) with clear guidelines to each school.

If the school dun formulate properly and act accordingly despite having a very paternalistic MOE giving guidelines and identification of various offences, what should the MOE do? They must act upon on complaints from the general public and parents, investigate accordingly and punish/sack the senior management school staff involved for not doing their jobs properly. The MOE themselves are not doing what they are supposed to do but just monitor lor.

The rot starts from the top. Is there any sort of accountability at all?

Shion

Senior Mentor
parents of students who are involved in bullying should be prosecuted in court

as for the students themselves, either expel or sent to those homes

white_prince

School should put 1 spf officer to patrol and handle right? How many times kena caught liao the school principal say simi monitor first, no evidence blah blah blah. If spf involved, can just overwrite the teacher's and principal's decision and follow a standarized set of sop to handle. And if school got spf, the victim can just straight away run to look for an authority figure for help
They should reward the school for every vaper caught. Then, this will motivate the principal and teachers to stand up!

charleslee1989

Personally i also think it is tough to decide on the appropriate punishment considering both the bully and bullied may be young kids.
har? it's not me who is against naming and shaming hor....It was one of those who wore all white and said it in parliament. You can go google it.

Appropriate punishment? It is something that the schools need to decide for themselves. If you put it like the penal code, it runs the risk of being draconian. However, telling the school staff to do the right thing shouldn't be too difficult.

Prime 13

She will sing a different tune if it was her chewren doing the bullying.
Lolz.

charleslee1989

parents of students who are involved in bullying should be prosecuted in court

as for the students themselves, either expel or sent to those homes
I like your idea but what sort of law can the parents be persecuted on?

johnsonheng

Yaoxiukia propose a MOE watchdog team to monitor all these charsiew yaoxiukia. Then come out with a set of rules and regulations, with punishment goes as far as caning, squats, running etc. Get the parents to sign this and enforce this! Enough is enough! The threshold benchmark of yaoxiuness should stop at yaoxiukia level, and not beyond!
our time, school called out parent to come down , we will be scare like ****.

i ever seen once, one parent on the spot hoot his kids, hoot till the teacher has to grab hold of the parent , as the scare the kid will be badly injured by the parent hits.

but that was secondary school time.

johnsonheng

last time if i am not wrong.
a lot of retired police officer went to school to become hod and they handle of the toublemakers students

charleslee1989

Vote for vouchers and $1 deal.

The present team have one plan - fine.
Dun work for the kids.
Need some one with a real brain to offer them the solutions.
Kids DGAF about fines. But kids give a f@rk when their freedom is curtailed by force.

Need more kids to die first for PAP to react.

Hard truth.
Let's hope it doesn't reach that stage....

our time, school called out parent to come down , we will be scare like ****.

i ever seen once, one parent on the spot hoot his kids, hoot till the teacher has to grab hold of the parent , as the scare the kid will be badly injured by the parent hits.

but that was secondary school time.

Yup, that is true. When I was in Pri sch and Sec sch, my laobei got say before to the teachers, " want to cane, just go ahead and cane more" . The teachers back then a bit shocked lol....

lposg625

today's news JOHOR BAHRU, Aug 18 (Bernama) -- Johor became the first state to set up a special anti-bullying committee at its Anti-Bullying Campaign Coordination Meeting today, state Education and Information Committee chairman Aznan Tamin said.

At least, our neighbor are working

johnsonheng

detention till school close, every day for a week if happen for 2 week then change to 1 month if the students refuse to change,

they will be force to stay in school to do all the school work and homework ,
if all finish, they will be pass to the cleaner and gardener to help with thwi the chores.

during the time all communication device will be kept by the school, they will only return at the end of the day/

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.