[GPGT] PSP's Stephanie Tan denounces the lack of strong action for bullying in Schs! Calls for MOE to be proactive and conduct direct investigations!

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

johnsonheng

i saw the laopei take out the belt, want to wack the son liao.
teacher hold him back , the use his legs to try kick him...

the so called alpha trouble maker immediately become a cockroach running for his life, if i not wrong, run to hide behind the teacher.

Eliwood

har? it's not me who is against naming and shaming hor....It was one of those who wore all white and said it in parliament. You can go google it.

Appropriate punishment? It is something that the schools need to decide for themselves. If you put it like the penal code, it runs the risk of being draconian. However, telling the school staff to do the right thing shouldn't be too difficult.

I misread.

The balance between being fair and draconian while factoring in the kids' immaturity is precisely the difficult part.

Not sure why u think just telling the school staff to do the right thing suddenly makes this decision no longer difficult.

enimen

Agree with cctv and the need for framework to investigate and hold bullies accountable.

But why is she saying school is not neutral? Is she suggesting schools are involved or enabling the bullying?
By sweeping the bullying case under the rug can be considered enabling liao

Eliwood

What you said is zero framework at all. What is actually happening is a minimal framework ( which is still a framework after all) with clear guidelines to each school.

If the school dun formulate properly and act accordingly despite having a very paternalistic MOE giving guidelines and identification of various offences, what should the MOE do? They must act upon on complaints from the general public and parents, investigate accordingly and punish/sack the senior management school staff involved for not doing their jobs properly. The MOE themselves are not doing what they are supposed to do but just monitor lor.

The rot starts from the top. Is there any sort of accountability at all?

Which is why im questioning Stephanie's inconsistency in assessing that MOE is deemed a neutral party while school is not.

It was gd that u shared the info, i was not aware. Regardless whether it was lack of framework or inadequate framework, the point is the same like u have said, ie MOE is not doing what they need to do, to set the appropriate approach for dealing with bullying.

charleslee1989

I misread.

The balance between being fair and draconian while factoring in the kids' immaturity is precisely the difficult part.

Not sure why u think just telling the school staff to do the right thing suddenly makes this decision no longer difficult.
What I meant as doing the right thing is to follow the rules set up by the school and enforce accordingly, even for repeat offenders. Is that so hard to do?

There are guidelines from MOE and school rules set up by the school management committee. If there is no effective enforcement by the people who should be doing their jobs, then we should all sing kambaya, plug our ears and close our eyes?

Nickypigu

From ur link near the bottom:

https://www.schoolbag.edu.sg/story/six-discipline-questions-answered/

Doesnt seem like there is clear framework and guidance. The appropriate disciplinary measures for offences are also not set out.

With such big gap, no wonder schools cannot deal with bullying effectively.

"There are school rules and guidelines, but they are only a reference point. We need to manage discipline on a case-by-case basis. We need to know the cause of the child’s behaviour, so we can come up with the appropriate measure. It is quite a complex decision. We have to look at the child, the circumstances of the offence, and the support that a child is receiving at home and from the community.

There’s a broad list of major and minor offences identified by MOE, but the disciplinary measures for them are up to each school to decide."
No clear guidance on disciplinary measures from MOE is it because they no iron to take a stand. If parent complain MOE can say is school decision and not theirs. MOE show a lack the commitment and ownership to solve the problem. With this type of leadership , the school also afraid to do anything as good is say MOE good bad is say the school management bad.

Eliwood

By sweeping the bullying case under the rug can be considered enabling liao

How is the school sweeping it under the rug? Nothing was done to the bully at all?

If this is the case i agree the sch is wrong and is enabling the bullying.

charleslee1989

Which is why im questioning Stephanie's inconsistency in assessing that MOE is deemed a neutral party while school is not.

It was gd that u shared the info, i was not aware. Regardless whether it was lack of framework or inadequate framework, the point is the same like u have said, ie MOE is not doing what they need to do, to set the appropriate approach for dealing with bullying.
I wasn't aware too but I just did a quick google search on it.

If a bullying case gets too big and incurs a huge outcry, someone's gonna pay for it and it will not be the political office holder. Therein lies the moral hazard for the staff at the school.

johnsonheng

No clear guidance on disciplinary measures from MOE is it because they no iron to take a stand. If parent complain MOE can say is school decision and not theirs. MOE show a lack the commitment and ownership to solve the problem. With this type of leadership , the school also afraid to do anything as good is say MOE good bad is say the school management bad.
this is due to sg culture, they or the gov wanted obedient people, they dun like people to think out of the box , break the rules to solve the issue they want rule base system when it work, first to claim credit, but when thing do not work out the way they want, all scare the heat or answer for it.
school wanted moe guideline, but director at moe refuse to set an direction, want minister to set, but minister scare to take the heat refuse to direction, want to taichi back to moe, and moe taichi back to school

NeonX

I wasn't aware too but I just did a quick google search on it.

If a bullying case gets too big and incurs a huge outcry, someone's gonna pay for it and it will not be the political office holder. Therein lies the moral hazard for the staff at the school.
No matter how big, school, moe, minister or principal won't have any repercussions. Maybe the teacher might Kenna a bit, but at most just transfer. Iirc got male teacher in relationship with student also transfer only.

Bully get slap on wrist, only victim will remember this for the rest of his/her life. Any other party involve at most get affected a few months nia

Eliwood

What I meant as doing the right thing is to follow the rules set up by the school and enforce accordingly, even for repeat offenders. Is that so hard to do?

There are guidelines from MOE and school rules set up by the school management committee. If there is no effective enforcement by the people who should be doing their jobs, then we should all sing kambaya, plug our ears and close our eyes?

I agree the established rules shd be enforced.

Those who are supposed to enforce the rules and did not do so despite clear evidence of students breaching the rules shd be held accountable.

charleslee1989

No matter how big, school, moe, minister or principal won't have any repercussions. Maybe the teacher might Kenna a bit, but at most just transfer. Iirc got male teacher in relationship with student also transfer only.

Bully get slap on wrist, only victim will remember this for the rest of his/her life. Any other party involve at most get affected a few months nia
Repercussions sure have one when the whole thing blows up. Confirm appraisals will be affected and bonus will follow as well.

So the easiest way is to not have it blow up in the first place lor..So how not to have it blown up? Threaten punishment for anyone who have evidence of bullying lor especially for those caught on video like what the previous second minister of education have said.

charleslee1989

I agree the established rules shd be enforced.

Those who are supposed to enforce the rules and did not do so despite clear evidence of students breaching the rules shd be held accountable.
But has anyone been held accountable given how bullying ( a 2 decades long problem) and vaping in schools are being so rampant? Tell me if there is any minister who lost their ministerial posts for fugging up the ministry?

Eliwood

But has anyone been held accountable given how bullying ( a 2 decades long problem) and vaping in schools are being so rampant? Tell me if there is any minister who lost their ministerial posts for fugging up the ministry?

Gd qn. How come Stephanie nv ask and follow up abt this?

Also, how come LMW nv ask for breakdown of Sinkie vs foreigner for bullying and vaping etc?

Eliwood

Agree with you.

Schools need the direction and guidance from MOE to take action.

This is a societal problem that needs political leadership to address.

enimen

How is the school sweeping it under the rug? Nothing was done to the bully at all?

If this is the case i agree the sch is wrong and is enabling the bullying.
They draggggg their feet

JonWeak

Just bring back canning. Seems like kids these days like to act big because they know nothing will be done to them

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.