Catch 21 in life

dereth

Good luck finding a solution for your situation.

It's hard to live your life just for your kids now, but I guess that's what being a parent is like. I'll never know.

I'm 48 this year too. From one bro to another, wishing the best for you.

dereth

Dear dereth,

I am not using copilot to support my narration.

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead... Let us take Singapore forward together.
Thank you.

No biggie. Copilot sucks anyway.

clearsky7

“depleted more than 50% due to various reasons and bad decisions made over the course of months”

Can share how u screw up so bad over just months?

enimen

Dear enimen,

I thought it was enough but proven to be wrong.

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead... Let us take Singapore forward together.
Thank you.
What was your miscalculation and where did u go wrong? Can share as a learning lesson on what not to do?

Yowe55 mini

Good luck finding a solution for your situation.

It's hard to live your life just for your kids now, but I guess that's what being a parent is like. I'll never know.

I'm 48 this year too. From one bro to another, wishing the best for you.
Dear dereth,

Children presents different set of challenges. Being a responsible parent, and a very traditional person I want to ensure there abundance for them.

That's life.

Thank you.

Eliwood

Dear all,

I am 48 year old, and have retired last Dec thinking I would have sufficient for a graceful retirement. But I was wrong and made a few wrong life decision that impacted my retirement fund and planning.

Fast forward to the 3Q, 2025 my retirement fund has depleted more than 50% due to various reasons and bad decisions made over the course of months, I have had no choice but seeking active employment for past months but to no valid. Nevertheless I continue to search and send my resumes in hope to obtain a job interview at the very least.

Life is really a dilemma and full of entrapments - I wanted to be financial freedom and responsible; having passive income either through reits or property however the latter option seems non viable nor sustainable as the taxes, hidden costs and potential liability lingers. Though one may argue there's opportunity for capital gain but the mounting pressure of paying off the housing loan is too much for me, specifically under such circumstance as of moment.

On the other hand, if I am not pursuing the property long option I may run into a greater risk of pricing myself out for a long term housing roof for my children and family. Again, this is debatable as many of established experts and financial gurus would argue children can fend for themselves and it is perfectly fine to tank housing loans with Ali Baba maths from singapore scholars.

Perhaps I am thinking too much too far but I feel I am trapped in the catch 21 situation whereby I do not know what are the viable and sensible options available for me and my family for long term sustainability.

Are you in similar situation?

Thank you.

Lol stocks now at ATH losses all reversed pls revise ur csb leh.

But ur csb coupled with current cool weather making me slpy at home yawnz...

Medicated Oil

It is catch 22.
Meet your advisor for help.
He or she will be able to give you sound advice.

ST Optimist

Dear all,

I am 48 year old, and have retired last Dec thinking I would have sufficient for a graceful retirement. But I was wrong and made a few wrong life decision that impacted my retirement fund and planning.

Fast forward to the 3Q, 2025 my retirement fund has depleted more than 50% due to various reasons and bad decisions made over the course of months, I have had no choice but seeking active employment for past months but to no valid. Nevertheless I continue to search and send my resumes in hope to obtain a job interview at the very least.

Life is really a dilemma and full of entrapments - I wanted to be financial freedom and responsible; having passive income either through reits or property however the latter option seems non viable nor sustainable as the taxes, hidden costs and potential liability lingers. Though one may argue there's opportunity for capital gain but the mounting pressure of paying off the housing loan is too much for me, specifically under such circumstance as of moment.

On the other hand, if I am not pursuing the property long option I may run into a greater risk of pricing myself out for a long term housing roof for my children and family. Again, this is debatable as many of established experts and financial gurus would argue children can fend for themselves and it is perfectly fine to tank housing loans with Ali Baba maths from singapore scholars.

Perhaps I am thinking too much too far but I feel I am trapped in the catch 21 situation whereby I do not know what are the viable and sensible options available for me and my family for long term sustainability.

Thank you.
Have u calculate how much u need to retire...n how u calculate........u probably fail math....
As a retire person....u should be risk averse.... meaning...is best u avoid unnecessary high risk hoping to get higher return......higher risk higher return also higher probability of losses......to achieve that....u need a larger pool of liquid idle assets idling doing nothing also can give u the fund (interest n dividend excluding rental) u need to cover your monthly expense until die....n yes have u calculate how much u/your family roughly need until u die.....if u haven't do so....n haven't ensure your idle liquid assets can cover that.....is best that u dun retire....

And after retire....best u can find something to do everyday to occupy your time n best if that things dun need money......if u got nothing better to do....u would probably bore until die.....to reduce boredom ....u might end up spend more on entertainment u never expect....n make u face the reality of nothing to do....but just spend n spend....

Yowe55 mini

“depleted more than 50% due to various reasons and bad decisions made over the course of months”

Can share how u screw up so bad over just months?
Dear clearsky7,

I was heavily invested in us stock and involved huge in BTC. Lost it when I realize the losses during liberation period.

Thank you.

dereth

Have u calculate how much u need to retire...n how u calculate........u probably fail math....
As a retire person....u should be risk averse.... meaning...is best u avoid unnecessary high risk hoping to get higher return......higher risk higher return also higher probability of losses......to achieve that....u need a larger pool of liquid idle assets idling doing nothing also can give u the fund (interest n dividend excluding rental) u need to cover your monthly expense until die....n yes have u calculate how much u/your family roughly need until u die.....if u haven't do so....n haven't ensure your idle liquid assets can cover that.....is best that u dun retire....

And after retire....best u can find something to do everyday to occupy your time n best if that things dun need money......if u got nothing better to do....u would probably bore until die.....to reduce boredom ....u might end up spend more on entertainment u never expect....n make u face the reality of nothing to do....but just spend n spend....

Yowe55 mini

Dear ST Optimist,

I had almost 10mil USD then.

Thank you.

grevq80o

Dear all,

Thank you.
no head no tail. so... can share what were the poor decisions you made?

Yowe55 mini

no head no tail. so... can share what were the poor decisions you made?
Dear grevq80o,

I bought into BTC heavy and made haste decision to realize the paper losses during the liberation period.

I was impatient and panicked.

Thank you.

ST Optimist

Dear ST Optimist,

I had almost 10mil USD then.

Thank you.
Now balance how much......the fact u cum here kpkb is u think 50% gone 5 million also not enough to spend until die............some ppl 1 million can retire .....some ppl 100 million also cannot retire...it depends on how much they expect to spend for the rest of their life.....until die....

Yowe55 mini

long story short please
Dear purplewave,

Buy long term asset got hidden recurring bills and exposure to risks. Go short term will impedes funding faster, resulting financial stress.

Thank you.

cosmothecat

In short, near retirement age, your retirement funds should be in safe assets such as fixed deposits, SSB, sg govt bonds, physical gold bars etc

when you are old, you cannot afford to take risks with your retirement funds

even if you want to risk some portion for potential higher returns, use only 5% to 10% of your retirement funds for such risky investments

ST Optimist

Dear purplewave,

Buy long term asset got hidden recurring bills and exposure to risks. Go short term will impedes funding faster, resulting financial stress.

Thank you.
What is long term assets? Property? If u learn from Warren Buffett buy good stocks n forever dun sell....where got recurring bills.....so call exposure to risk...just means your base is not large enough to weather storm...n u r not in the position to handle it if the portfolio shrink 60% for 2 to 3 yrs......u got 10 million USD...n u can actually loose so much until u say u need to find job means u r not prepare to retire.....u r more ambitious......Ambitiius ppl dun retire ....u want your 10 million to become 20 million.....A real retired person only think of one thing......how to keep the 10 million last until die.....which is actually Veri easy to do.....just split your 10 million into x % of AAA bonds/FD n y% of mix good quality stocks or index fund that has lower volatility but stable return......10 million with 2% (FD) return yearly is $200000 one yr ..... doing nothing...n u say $200000 USD one yr not enough? Need to take extra risk to make another $million for what.....basically u r not prepare to retire.....u r ambitious u want more....then prepare to loose.....when tide turn against u

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.