Latest from Kf Seetoh| The socially conscious Timbre Group that manages Yishun Park Hawker Cte ... ...

spunkbrat

15% is ridiculous ...

I think such practice stems from all the malls too in sinkieland if not wrong ... landlords will take a certain percentage from the sales of successful businesses ... anyone can confirm if this were the common practice?

Not all malls and not all tenants, from what I know previously is some smaller operators who want to enter malls or retail management approach them to ‘spice up’ trade mix/test market may give them lower monthly rents with gto. Over the years some shops cheat/bypasses and under declare and caused a lot more problems with tracking and law suits, so malls also gradually moved away from this model 🧐

jq1986

15% is not creaming of profits what, it's so that Timbre has a stake in the success or failure of the stall - which is exactly what a lot of hawker activists are asking for by the way. It forces Timbre to upkeep the place well, advertise or create activities to ensure footfall etc.

Would you rather they increase the rental by a fixed 15%?

Also, the 15 pages of fines, is basically just to clearly spell out what the transgressions are? Would you rather have a detailed black and white, or something ambiguous that comes back to pwn you later? And the transgressions listed are all quite reasonable?

Get your position straight before JJWW. Only makes the movement look like a fool.

Tiny Shrimp

Is there a list of govt officials who started such predatory "public good" schemes, benefited greatly from such predatory schemes, then safely exited such predatory schemes, leaving their predecessors to take the rap?
Or are currently in the midst of doing so?

mynickname

As much as they signed with "open" eyes. Do they really have other choices ? Or they know every term in the contract.

HDB buyers also signed the 99 lease with "open eyes". Sprawling concrete is not HDB issue, etc.
Please la, they're running business. They franchise into 20 different chicken rice stall they got sympathise with you losing job to ft?

Medicated Oil

Since the operators are paid by NEA to run the SEHC, the social responsibility requirement is still there. Now they remove it from the hawker;s contract, I do hope the burden of this social responsibility to be bear by the operators, since they are paid by NEA, they made profit from rentals, cleaners, misc rental space for storage, and operating their own drink stall which probably the most profitable hawker in the centre.
As I mentioned in my previous comment, this social nonsense is created for the unit in charge to OUTSOURCE the HC operation.
I am not sure whether the operator will be paying monthly rental to the unit in charge since they have to bid for it.
I guess it should be the case.

As for your hope, you can forget about it.
KFST already confirmed that the present 2 operators are ANYTHING but social.
If he open some more cans of worms, his own HC can close shop liao.

Lifeinmotion

15% is not creaming of profits what, it's so that Timbre has a stake in the success or failure of the stall - which is exactly what a lot of hawker activists are asking for by the way. It forces Timbre to upkeep the place well, advertise or create activities to ensure footfall etc.

Would you rather they increase the rental by a fixed 15%?

Also, the 15 pages of fines, is basically just to clearly spell out what the transgressions are? Would you rather have a detailed black and white, or something ambiguous that comes back to pwn you later? And the transgressions listed are all quite reasonable?

Get your position straight before JJWW. Only makes the movement look like a fool.
Why should Timbre need to have a stake in their profitability?

So they are shareholder of the stall ? They were paid a fee to manage the space. That is their contractual obligation with NEA. They have no business in taking a cut. Do they then supplement any other cost related to the hawkwer not fall under their NEA contract ?

jq1986

Why should Timbre need to have a stake in their profitability?

So they are shareholder of the stall ? They were paid a fee to manage the space. That is their contractual obligation with NEA. They have no business in taking a cut. Do they then supplement any other cost related to the hawkwer not fall under their NEA contract ?
I addressed this in my post.

If Singapore really wants to preserve its UNESCO hawker heritage, govt must lower the rent and manage all hawker centres like it had done before. Don’t outsource management to private sector. I have no idea why govt must outsource management of new hawker centers. The outcome is clear and obvious: rent and ancillary fees are going to kill our hawkers.

Optrex

I hate timbre group to the core. they are the ones who started the tray return torture scheme that hold back $1 when u buy food and will only refund u when u return the tray. not only that, stalls who don't enforce the tray system will be penalized. guess who the owner of timbre group was during that time... u know i know lah....
so they are one of the ppl who bulldozed the whole return your utensils scheme on poor sinkies.

Lifeinmotion

And when did a hawker management company has the right to also be "hawker" themselves. By only allowing sales of drinks and beverages to themselves.

so contractually all these big companies with enough money can bid to manage a hawker to be the core anchor tenant?

Medicated Oil

If Singapore really wants to preserve its UNESCO hawker heritage, govt must lower the rent and manage all hawker centres like it had done before. Don’t outsource management to private sector. I have no idea why govt must outsource management of new hawker centers. The outcome is clear and obvious: rent and ancillary fees are going to kill our hawkers.
Simple logic.
If they are collecting higher rental from the operator and without the hassle, why not ?
Just let the operators do all the dirty work.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.