Fresh nursing grads in SG can’t get jobs… so what “shortage” are we talking about? 🤔

qcy888

It is an open secret that our healthcare institutions prefer to hire foreign nurses, even those with unaccredited certificates, because they are cheaper. Unless one is willing to downgrade to become a Healthcare Assistant, it is tough when competing for nursing jobs with oversea applicants from Philippines, Myanmar, Vietnam, India, even Nepal, as they come with experience and are so much cheaper.

In the end, you get what you voted for!

HomeMommy

I am guessing becos they dont need so many nurse with degree so they wont be willing to pay more when they can get more nurses with diploma? :s11:

Multiversal

Lol they still promoting nursing PhD ... good for Sg. Mass produce so that salary will drop while at same time employ foreign nurses w degrees at cost of local diploma nursing grad.

I agree with the poor nurse, don't believe what the Gov tell u. Its all propaganda.

OYK say simo vapers won't convert to smokers.. u believe him?
It's a pyramid in every company, every organisation, every sector.

Construction - we are short of labourers, not Project Managers
Police - we are short of mata kia, not Police Commissioner or ASP
FnB - we are short of waiters, not FnB Managers
Cleaning - we are short of cleaners, not the Cleaning Manager

We are extremely short of nurse to clean backside, do mundane work like taking vital signs, feeding (it somehow takes a longer time when the patient happens to be a BBFA) We are not short of nurses with a PhD. There is only one vacancy at the top of the chart, the Matron or DON. There could be a dozen nurses with post-graduate PhD and whatnot...and we can only build so many horsepeters, each needing only one Matron.

NintendoSwitch

But they tell me cannot lah.
After 1 month want to go back home already. Food is bad. Living condition is bad. Also the people there very sick and cham.
Usually they do one stint then dowan to go back again.
$100k a month is good but is not that much more than usual monthly earnings in more familiar and comfortable environment. Go up north to work is to help not so much the money.
Nurses earn $100k a month and dat ish usual earning? Even beat EDMWer's 20k? Dey moar satki.

NintendoSwitch

It's a pyramid in every company, every organisation, every sector.

Construction - we are short of labourers, not Project Managers
Police - we are short of mata kia, not Police Commissioner or ASP
FnB - we are short of waiters, not FnB Managers
Cleaning - we are short of cleaners, not the Cleaning Manager

We are extremely short of nurse to clean backside, do mundane work like taking vital signs, feeding (it somehow takes a longer time when the patient happens to be a BBFA) We are not short of nurses with a PhD. There is only one vacancy at the top of the chart, the Matron or DON. There could be a dozen nurses with post-graduate PhD and whatnot...and we can only build so many horsepeters, each needing only one Matron.
Short of mata kia can invite CCP to send their People's Armed Police to setup up overseas police station.
FuMYxEpaQAAZu6-.png

aranor

Wasn't there an article saying that Singapore is going to start importing nurses from South Asia?

Milodrink

this one i think not that likely or maybe they wanna choose which area to work in? If geriatrics i tink cfm have de.

Nursing qns re: local employment

Hello! To preface, I am a recent Singaporean local diploma grad.

Issue being that despite applying to nearly all of Singhealth and NUH clusters, I've yet to receive a reply of any sort let alone an interview for about 3-4 months now; a view shared across a few of my batchmates that didn't sign sponsorships or bonds. Do they simply reply slow, recruit in batches only, or is there a hiring freeze of some kind? Or there's really just an overly saturated amount?

It is a little crazy considering we are always told that there's a shortage of locals/understaffed during PRCP/high patient volume etc but the HR system seems to be... Not working at all? Having a bit of pressure to find a job and all that stuff and locum pays well but the inconsistency of travelling to diff places is pretty gross. Our grades are also not that bad (generally 3>s) so I would like to think its not that big of a problem unless they so vastly prefer degree-holders.

It is a little naive to say that I would prefer to stay in the public healthcare system just because I think that's important to serve after all my education/experience through attachments that having a local is reassuring and I would like to stay for experience. (After you look past all the 'you're too stupid so you didn't become a doctor izzit, of course...) But hey, if they're not even going to read their applications then private is the only way lmao, still gotta eat and all that.

If there's any insight between public govt hospital nursing and private hospital nursing, I would love to hear that too since my personal experience has always been in public govt attachments.

Just figured to ask since there seems to be quite a few nursing related answers here! Thank you in advance.

https://www.reddit.com/r/askSingapore/s/AFXcBf7cMF

HomeMommy

Nursing qns re: local employment

Hello! To preface, I am a recent Singaporean local diploma grad.

Issue being that despite applying to nearly all of Singhealth and NUH clusters, I've yet to receive a reply of any sort let alone an interview for about 3-4 months now; a view shared across a few of my batchmates that didn't sign sponsorships or bonds. Do they simply reply slow, recruit in batches only, or is there a hiring freeze of some kind? Or there's really just an overly saturated amount?

It is a little crazy considering we are always told that there's a shortage of locals/understaffed during PRCP/high patient volume etc but the HR system seems to be... Not working at all? Having a bit of pressure to find a job and all that stuff and locum pays well but the inconsistency of travelling to diff places is pretty gross. Our grades are also not that bad (generally 3>s) so I would like to think its not that big of a problem unless they so vastly prefer degree-holders.

It is a little naive to say that I would prefer to stay in the public healthcare system just because I think that's important to serve after all my education/experience through attachments that having a local is reassuring and I would like to stay for experience. (After you look past all the 'you're too stupid so you didn't become a doctor izzit, of course...) But hey, if they're not even going to read their applications then private is the only way lmao, still gotta eat and all that.

If there's any insight between public govt hospital nursing and private hospital nursing, I would love to hear that too since my personal experience has always been in public govt attachments.

Just figured to ask since there seems to be quite a few nursing related answers here! Thank you in advance.

https://www.reddit.com/r/askSingapore/s/AFXcBf7cMF

read the replies too. One also said there ish still nursing orientation going on in the hospital she worked for so there shld be hiring going on unless those are the ones that r bonded. On top that, i think they have internship at hospitals too and if they did well i believe the hospital will prob chope them before they graduate? So there could be also be other reasons why this dip holder couldn’t find one?

Itsthatguy

Those people who voted for open mass floodgates policy eats them back through their kids, grand kids

Not just nursing.

Imagine male sinkies, kenna canning in school, do ns, do reservist, annual IPPT, standby mob, RT, go overseas must inform mindef, and cannot find job.

Female sinkies only got monthly period, cannot find job, please kaopei lesser bit ok?:(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.