Trump to impose $100,000 fee per year for H-1B visas, in blow to tech

coyote

Somewhere else in the world 65% pro.... foreigners!? How?

You have to think very sensibly. America was great because of all the foreign talents from Tesla, Einstein, Tarantino to Spielberg... Now that he's doing this myopic short term policy to win votes. He's simply selfish. If his policy carry on by the next selfish president, again on the pretexts of winning votes disregarding America's long term talents pool, soon America will be devoid of all the top brains from all over the world. Where do you think these top brains will go? First choice probably China or Singapore or Taiwan or HK? South Korea and Japan have always been anti immigrants... So, Singapore and China and Taiwan will stand to gain and benefits from this politically selfish policy. Stay tune. If the Singapore government is more aggressive, starting another public universities 3 times the size of nus and NTU combined could be a very wise move!!!

Let hope the current Singapore regime continue their open policy to make Singapore even greater.

One example...

xiao.xin

quickly call the employees not to fly off from US to their home country,
if not come back , donno will need to deal with $100K fees for H1B. or not.hehe

someone commented

like that means.. they either become US citizen, or they go back.. must pay $100k to come back and still subject to whether can renew their H1B visa .

Trump sibei pro americans.

Salah la, they become Singaporean

Linguist

You have to think very sensibly. America was great because of all the foreign talents from Tesla, Einstein, Tarantino to Spielberg... Now that he's doing this myopic short term thinking to win votes. He's simply selfish. If his policy carry on by the next president, soon America will be devoid of all the top brains all over the world. Where do you think these top brains will go? First choice probably China or Singapore or Taiwan or HK? South Korea and Japan have always been anti immigrants... So, Singapore and China and Taiwan will stand to gain and benefits from this politically selfish policy.

Let hope the current Singapore regime continue their open policy to make Singapore even greater.
Yeah... america got foreign talent while somewhere else in the world has foreign "talent"...

https://mothership.sg/2015/05/degre...fographic-just-made-this-saga-more-confusing/

thyler_koh

the post say flight delay 3 hours leh.
imagine sitting inside .... while the commotion is happening..
and no aircon on.. and then.. they scrambling and talking on the phone

3 hours sittting there is no joke
Song

focus1974

You have to think very sensibly. America was great because of all the foreign talents from Tesla, Einstein, Tarantino to Spielberg... Now that he's doing this myopic short term policy to win votes. He's simply selfish. If his policy carry on by the next president, again on the pretexts of winning votes disregarding America's long term talents pool, soon America will be devoid of all the top brains from all over the world. Where do you think these top brains will go? First choice probably China or Singapore or Taiwan or HK? South Korea and Japan have always been anti immigrants... So, Singapore and China and Taiwan will stand to gain and benefits from this politically selfish policy. Stay tune. If the Singapore government is more aggressive, starting another public universities 3 times the size of nus and NTU combined could be the next great move!!!

One example...

Make Singapore Properties Huater Again! :D

coyote

I think overseas quite a lot example ah... especially in sports field etc...

Have u worked with foreign "talent" closely though?

I did. Had Korean, Japanese, Isreali, French and American reported to me once upon a time...

Ubi-Warrior

someone commented

like that means.. they either become US citizen, or they go back.. must pay $100k to come back and still subject to whether can renew their H1B visa .

Is this woke action?

ksapple

Not really is they ownself wan to disembark 1

This year i been on 2 flight 1 to new Delhi another to Seattle both from SG

Guess which flight gt more indian

zoossh

Can board the plane and last min wanna alight due to non emergency reason?
Can. If you have premonition of what is coming

You can’t escape trump
You can’t cheat trump

this-might-be-a-stupid-and-obvious-question-but-did-death-v0-c6wztkr72j4f1.jpeg

focus1974

Trump very 小气. Fail to nego tariff with Modi and now do this.

now is cannot slowly liao loh. China already neck to neck with USA liao
now is either you with me or you against me.
Only can have 1 winner ... China or USA.

dambio

someone commented

R our leaders pro local born Singaporeans like him too?

touristcat

strange for a country alleged by the govt to be brimming with talents, nothing noteworthy came out of there for the past 30 years.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.