[GVGT] new PAP MP said the words "mai kaobei" in parliament and apologise for it

uselessbum

If it had been LMW that said it, I think he would probably have kena file thrown again or censured for it on the spot by the speaker. Won't be let off that easily.

:(

ramlee

this is bad as 哭爸 implies passing of father. doesn't she have a basic understanding of the language she is usin? :(

pap behaviour :(

trento

Wa.. the vibe totally changed..
Tio butter Gao Gao?

Maybe it use English version, won't need to apologise?

English equivalent is suck it up?
Mkp is a hokkien vulgarity? Tot it means don't complain only

Courage

I have been involved in countless private meetings more than 20 years of my career and no one has ever said kp before in those meetings. It's shocking such language is used in parliament

Lchlch

I have been involved in countless private meetings more than 20 years of my career and no one has ever said kp before in those meetings. It's shocking such language is used in parliament
It is ok for them.

PiKa

Mkp is a hokkien vulgarity? Tot it means don't complain only
No and yes.
No because in full it is not a vulgarity, just abit unpolished speaking
Yes because the KP part is vulgarity
All in all, It should not be used in a Parliamentary Setting. Thus the apologies.
I would think, "Suck it up" is more appropriate.
More people would understand the phrase better. (Be it the speaker or the listeners)

Philipkee

Why "don't talk cock" lose parliamentary seat, but "mai kaopeh" is apology accepted?
it was a different time but I don’t recall anyone losing the parliamentary seat for that (but yes there was a fine and suspension of allowance iirc)

but interesting fact is the don’t talk cock was not directed by an opposition MP to PAP or even parliament but to Chiam see tong which means it was an SDP MP saying this to the SDP leader in parliament (after that I think Chiam see tong left SDP and CSJ took over)

In 1994, the SDP appointed Ling to take over from Chiam as the party's parliamentary leader after Chiam fell out with the rest of the party's Central Executive Committee (CEC). Chiam resigned as the party's Secretary-General and was replaced by Chee Soon Juan.[2]

Ling hit the headlines in 1995 after Chiam whispered something into his ear during a debate in Parliament, to which Ling loudly responded "Don't talk cock!" (a Singlishphrase meaning "Don't speak nonsense").[3] Ling was formally censured by Parliament for using inappropriate language in the chamber as a result of this.[4]

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ling_How_Doong

I might have got the sequence of event mixed up. I always thought Chiam left SDP just before the next GE

there was a reason why the elderly hated Chee soon juan

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.