[AITA] My own encounter with noise on airplane - can really drive people insane.....

Hyperephania

actually it was just a short flight of about 2 hours

we had 2 boisterous kids seated behind us.... they were super noisy and kicking our seats.
we tried to tolerate but it was damn bad so we stood at the back and also asked the attendant for help.
Attendant helped us remind the mother but no improvement.
The worst thing is the mother actually played along with the kids and make it noisier and get them excited!

After i couldn't stand it anymore, i scolded the children with "Please stop it!"

Only then we got some peace for 10-15 mins because landing liao.

After that we did some duty free shopping and collected our luggage.

To my surprise, the father (did not ride the plane) was waiting for us outside and confronted me.
His reasoning was - you are adults why can't you give in to children?

I super angry liao and just said it's obvious this dispute will go nowhere so let's end it - and he agreed.

But the mother who was on the flight refused to give up and said we were not understanding and unreasonable to scold the children. I argued with her but no use until the father decided also going nowhere and left.

The mother refused to budge - still want to argue. I thought she was the maid because she could not manage the children at all!

What happened to the world?!

What would YOU have done?
This is the reason why I always say, we need more siao langs with nothing to lose...when they are past a certain point, will help the world by unaliving the entire family.

PattyTheChuggyTrain

Exactly. Many here are single so they wouldn't know. Hate to say this, wait till they become parents.
Actually I don't really believe in positive parenting. because it's so easy to cross the thin line to become Permissive Parenting, which is what we often see, IMHO.

mummynew

Exactly. Many here are single so they wouldn't know. Hate to say this, wait till they become parents.

I am a parent and I help to take care of at least 6 other kids.

Being a parent means 大晒? Don't need to train 教养?

coyote

I always meet ill disciplined children and chasiew parents on ferry.
As consolation, I tell myself, not worth wasting my time angry with ppl
I will not see them ever again after 1hr.

To edmwers, all parents are failure except themselves, whom are single.

coyote

Edmwers should watch this... Not condoning violence. I am totally against violence. Just that many times, there are bullies around...and pushing the dads over the limits...

CanIsayNo

I have the same experience. I shouted at the kid behind me n he keep quiet

There r always diff type of humans. Like the recent yishun incident, many ppl commented its normal for toddler to create noise n there are another group of ppl who commented the parents should have taken some actions on their kids

When u talk to uncivilised n self entilted ppl, very hard to let them know they r in the wrong
sometimes, people do wrong things, but just can't realise they are the baddies.. because they grew up a certain way, they see their parents and older siblings act a certain way. even some of their friends act a certain way. to them, some bad behaviour and mindset is just normalised behaviour to them :(

kitsura

sometimes, people do wrong things, but just can't realise they are the baddies.. because they grew up a certain way, they see their parents and older siblings act a certain way. even some of their friends act a certain way. to them, some bad behaviour and mindset is just normalised behaviour to them :(
I learnt from school of hard knocks. I always advocate that if parents don’t teach the kids the easy way while they are still young, society will teach them later on when they grow up. And they might not like the way society teaches them life lessons!

Kia7200

Ya i know. There are few incidents where neighbours sing ktv at 12am or play majong till wee hrs, there r ppl saying its their own house why they cant have their privacy

Sometimes explaining to such ppl is a waste of time. When similar happened to them, then they will kbkp. Such ppl maybe in real life they r ** lang, so when there are chance for them to act good person foc, they will jump in n talk ****.

d3n

i had such similar incidents last time when i took a flight from sydney back to sg.

the kid behind my seat keeps kicking my seat. until i bth, turn around and told the parent to ask his kid to behave and stop kicking.

Itsthatguy

last yr on route to jap also tio a crying kid ( not baby...smelly smelly 5 yrs n abv ) crying running down the aisle non stop thruout the journey

i sittin behind them nia got a few times damn tempted to stretch out leg n trip tt mutherfaker si ginna but nv

Worse is the Trans Alantic route kenna this.:( Baby cry until trembling and lung like want to fall out.

tauntme

TS was probably 1 shout away from being put on the no-fly list.. don't try to be hero on flights no matter how good your reason is

coyote

TS was probably 1 shout away from being put on the no-fly list.. don't try to be hero on flights no matter how good your reason is

Hope some here will be in the news for their less than average anger management ability.🙏

mummynew

I believe in everyone has an 'aura' mostly formed by upbringing.

Some people have an aura that will attract others to step all over them as they emitting 唯唯诺诺 that they will always back off and so 'bulliable'.

Some just one look at them you know you don't mess with them.

The same as thieves know whose pockets are easier to pick than some others.

Ability to read what auras others are having is also an important skill else may 死都不知道什么原因 (incl in office politics).

o blong

actually it was just a short flight of about 2 hours

we had 2 boisterous kids seated behind us.... they were super noisy and kicking our seats.
we tried to tolerate but it was damn bad so we stood at the back and also asked the attendant for help.
Attendant helped us remind the mother but no improvement.
The worst thing is the mother actually played along with the kids and make it noisier and get them excited!

After i couldn't stand it anymore, i scolded the children with "Please stop it!"

Only then we got some peace for 10-15 mins because landing liao.

After that we did some duty free shopping and collected our luggage.

To my surprise, the father (did not ride the plane) was waiting for us outside and confronted me.
His reasoning was - you are adults why can't you give in to children?

I super angry liao and just said it's obvious this dispute will go nowhere so let's end it - and he agreed.

But the mother who was on the flight refused to give up and said we were not understanding and unreasonable to scold the children. I argued with her but no use until the father decided also going nowhere and left.

The mother refused to budge - still want to argue. I thought she was the maid because she could not manage the children at all!

What happened to the world?!

What would YOU have done?

Sadly sg got a lot of such unqualified parents

Always use their kids as human shield

BigMonkey

i tot SQ business class seat quite distance from each other, difficult to kick the seat in front
business class is cocoon style, you won’t feel the person behind kick, at most hear thud sound only.

the writer either sitting in PE or E.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.