2 people stabbed in Yishun Central after apparent neighbour dispute; alleged attacker arrested

skytan13

Lip Service and Wayang Protocol Activated.

Monitoring mode ON

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED

GreatPumpkin

Mediation only costs $5 to apply iirc.

But if the other guy boh hiew, there's also nothing you can do except go court.

Lawyers huat you lppl.

Loser

if you don’t know what is mediation, it is better for you not to act smart…
Mediation is the only solution provided by the authorities. It's not even compulsory to attend then in the end got what use?

The authorities can say they facilitated the mediation and is monitoring what, but it's just waiting for something to happen before they have to come out action.

You can't even infer leh I worry for you.

Cmonster

All the sad people here trying to blame the government for a murder

No one puts a knife in your hand and make you kill someone

No matter how bad life is

Stop blaming the victim, the government

Take personal responsibility for your own actions and failures

(And Yes, that includes failing to save for retirement)

Loser

IVORY TOWER AND GCB NO SUCH ISSUES

just pay ppl from my come in and beat your neighbour up is the best option
But if you beat them up without telling them the reason then they will continue making noise what.

If you tell them the reason they know it's you who hired the thugs liao.

tokong

Tiagong chut lawyer letter more useful.

Just enforce mediation la instead of invite. Neighbor problems are serious

A lot of neighborhood disputes involve old folks. But they don't dare to be harsh on unreasonable old folks.

Pickle ball Issue (my advice: just shutdown all the pickleball courts)
You see this kind of lousy senior citizen you will respect or not? Quarrel must point finger? Actually who invented and who started to build pickle ball courts in neighborhoods?

Bukit Batok murder
Woman found dead in Bukit Batok flat: Man, 65, to be charged with murder of neighbour; knife seized
"Neighbours told the media on Jan 6 that the man had frequently argued with the victim over noise for a few years, with the police being called several times. A neighbour on the same floor said these disagreements had become more intense in the past year, with the most recent incident taking place in December 2023.
Neighbours also said the altercations typically arose because the man, whose flat was directly opposite the victim’s, had a habit of opening and shutting the riser cabinets outside his flat noisily."

matrix05

This is bad, considered fallen thru the cracks? With MP, mayor, grassroot leaders, social workers still cannot stop this terrorist. Btw, what is the job of mayor?

Kanko San

the law could perhaps step up by enforcing mediation between neighbours rather than via "invitation". make it an offence if one party does not respond or show up (like court order).

quite obvious some cases won't work via "invitation" when one side may be avoiding or not wanting to see the other side.

if the law don't change, such unfortunate cases will definitely happen again (and again).

The HDB sent my upstairs for CMC.

They refused.

So later, when they sent me, I also refused, since they rejected first.

Then the family use lawyer, when they are the one that cause distress n disturbance to our family, cos they think they had $$$$.

But God is Great.

MegatonNev

Even if mediation helps, what's next?

There's laws that where eviction will apply but never for being a terrible neighbor.
People will just continue to be major grade A hole to their neighbors and more incident like this will happen when people snap.

C_boliao

Lol. Lai liao lor. All the reasons start coming out. Why not state time line. Publish all written report. If your time line is prompt, I'm sure they will post big big like the moe case. This time got no time line, mostly likely it's pretty much drag n delayed.

runny yolk

Bull shxt.

Even after court case, the rich can still make noise.

Only way, is can't fight them, join them to create more noise
That's what the uncle did, he hit ceiling with bamboo stick to counter their unruly kids. Then the haolian nus grads 欺人太甚 shoot him with lawyer letter as if they are the victims.

Philipkee

the law could perhaps step up by enforcing mediation between neighbours rather than via "invitation". make it an offence if one party does not respond or show up (like court order).

quite obvious some cases won't work via "invitation" when one side may be avoiding or not wanting to see the other side.

if the law don't change, such unfortunate cases will definitely happen again (and again).
If mediation were to be enforced, mediation might be used as a weapon by a holes. If the a hole got time to play, keep declaring got conflict with you keep applying for mediation and you HAVE to take time off or leave to attend or get evicted from flat or pay a fine etc etc

Frivolous lawsuits can do the same thing but usually people don’t have money for this.

Darkshadows

SINGAPORE – Although the victim of

a fatal knife attack in Yishun

had applied for mediation with her neighbour in June, the session did not take place, as the man did not respond to the invitation, said the Ministry of Law and Ministry of National Development in a joint statement on Sept 27.

The statement said that Ms Nguyen Phuong Tra applied for mediation on June 12, but it could not proceed because Koh Ah Hwee did not respond.

The ministries declined to comment further on the specifics of the case because it is the subject of police investigations, it added.

On Sept 24, Koh allegedly murdered Ms Tra, 30, outside a unit on the sixth floor of Block 323 Yishun Central.

The 66-year-old allegedly stabbed Ms Tra in the chest with a knife. Her 33-year-old husband suffered serious injuries, sustained allegedly while trying to stop Koh.

The neighbours were said to have been in the midst of trying to resolve their differences over noise complaints when the incident happened.

Nee Soon GRC MP Jackson Lam, who oversees the area, had said then that the dispute had been escalated to the Community Disputes Resolution Tribunals.

Taichi masters!

ShinnAsuka

All the sad people here trying to blame the government for a murder

No one puts a knife in your hand and make you kill someone

No matter how bad life is

Stop blaming the victim, the government

Take personal responsibility for your own actions and failures

(And Yes, that includes failing to save for retirement)
I agree to your point that one has to take responsibilities of his actions or decisions. But, your mentality is like 隔岸觀火,袖手旁觀.

Like you see someone standing at rooftop, likely going to jump. You not going to do anything and calls him weakling if he jumps.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.