anyone already on home 10gbps broadband plan? is it worth it?

radish

Emeritus Honorary Member
i'm thinking of signing up leh... but when i ask ppl ard me they say there is no significant difference in speed?!

when i query them they confirmed already upgraded computer, router and cables to 10gbps port capable but still same same....

how come leh? is it true?

i dont know man i dont want to pay for everything then discover no major improvement.... :cry:

w0nkas

The Singtel rep told me there's not much difference to expect because the speed cap is the same. But he told me it will be cheaper and we checked and it's 30% cheaper than the old plan. So switched cos why not since everything is wifi 7 now and 6ghz

C_boliao

1gbs is good enough for most house n usage.

I am changing only because it's cheaper than my current 1gbs.

In order to enjoy u need the appliances to be WiFi 7 ready, not just modem, router n cable. Even so, you don't hit the max speed 10gbs can provide. Even if there's paper increases between your 10gbs n 1gbs, you won't really feel the difference in reality when you surf youtube n IG n edmw

arm4da

i'm thinking of signing up leh... but when i ask ppl ard me they say there is no significant difference in speed?!

when i query them they confirmed already upgraded computer, router and cables to 10gbps port capable but still same same....

i dont know man i dont want to pay for everything then discover no major improvement.... :cry:
100 Mbps already can support 2-4 ppl streaming 4K videos, what more 1 Gbps.

there is little you can do that can fully utilise a 10 Gbps connection. and that's assuming all your hardware is upgraded to support it

GhostZM

1Gbps is already good enough for me. I just need cheaper price and not faster speed. :rolleyes:

Why the h*** I need to spend more money?
I subscribed 5Gbgs coz got promo..comes with EPL and HBO Max..

CheerS!!!;)

SpawnXp

10gbps is overkill for normal users la.
its only for power users when they self host stuffs , but power users wont use simba, since theres CGNAT.
what really matters is routing, not throughput.

tootired

i dont know man i dont want to pay for everything then discover no major improvement....
:cry:

think once overseas content, the speed different is insignificant. only local content is fast. using 3gbps now, adding another 5gbps soon.

radish

Emeritus Honorary Member
i dont know man.... will 10gbps enhance my experience in edmw?

🤷‍♂️

waiken

price competitive juz get lo, good for future proofing 🤣

all related devices nid to sarpok 10gbps then can feel the difference

Windowlover

If cabling then speed will increases. Wireless connection make not much difference.

audiovideo

in data centre actual speed is sextimated at no more than 60%, mai gong at home and if wahless lagi jialat, 10-20% steal laught? 🤣

kimwee

I dun see much diff at all even after upgrading to wifi7 10gbps router....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.