ST - Malaysian app Kummute launches e-bookings for licensed JB-S’pore cabs; LTA clarifying business model

hhab6ch

This is not really a Malaysian app. It is from a Singapore company, probably related to Handal Indah - the owner of CausewayLink.

It is probably also related to one of the polytechnics in Singapore - Ngee Ann or Singapore? Because one of the first few services was in that polytechnic. But I guess most Singaporeans in this forum do not know the service.......

Anyway, it is just a platform. Singapore taxi companies have also launched similar platforms for their own cross-border taxis. Not new :

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-ups-for-cross-border-taxi-rides-from-sept-25

So, I wonder what LTA was talking about ......

"although Singapore’s Land Transport Authority (LTA) said it has not approved any ride-hailing platform to provide cross-border rides."

A phone call is made on the same device, similar app....... But it is not classified as a "platform"? What if a service accepts voice orders with an AI? Is it a "platform"?

JustForFun

Time to fine commuters who engage illegal taxi services too ?

Repeat offenders can consider jail or ban them from entering or working in Singapore if PR or foreigners ?

No demand on illegal taxi services from customers will clamp down on these illegal services ?

Just like vaping, clamp on customers as well as suppliers with heavier penalties on suppliers but customers will face penalties too ?

tokong

Singapore doesn't care. Malaysia has also caught Singaporeans over there doing cross-border trips illegally. Singapore does not bat an eyelid.

The party who benefits from cross-border travels is still Malaysian drivers (and of course Malaysian workers in SG). These cars steal a lot of Singapore taxi and phv rice bowl at the airport and train stations.

As for Singaporeans doing cross-border fetching/sending illegally there - that is only a very small number. Its ratio to illegal cross-border Malaysian 霸王车 drivers is maybe 1:99. Note that courier trucks (i.e. Malaysian lorry drivers) also do passenger cross-border service hor. As long as their lorry got one space, they will wait to squeeze in a passenger to earn pocket money. This one many people don't know.

Lol jokers control here control there. End up everyone will choose the malaysia alternative because it's cheaper. No sane person will take comfort taxi and get chop carrot

That's the thing. JB also won't allow comfort taxi to operate freely there (currently only stop at Larkin, not free willy), so why should we let 霸王车 to operate free willy here?

Naive. You think Malaysian drivers will not chop you carrot? Most Malaysian bawangche drivers are nice people but there are also bad eggs who charge chop carrot fees to unknowing old folks and angmos.

Very funny these 霸王车 people. Malaysia population much more than Singapore. You anyhow drive also can pickup a passenger in Malaysia. Don't really understand why need to waste time cross over between sg and my to fetch and send passengers. You waste two hours queue at custom everyday you might as well drive around JB big towns like batu, segamat, mersing or beyond jb to do your trips. You two hours can earn how much already, that's a lot of money.

jeffprobst

Whose the desperate one? I believe some form of agreement already reached as well, as it don't really benefit Singaporean, especially drivers, highly doubt they want to piblicose it. Can't be, suddenly got such app coming up.

SuperGreenHorn

Why are you guys so resistant? Sekali take this taxi you pay the same amt in MYR good ma? Dun have to pay ARF and COE one :s13:

Kill off PHV, cheaper COE lai liao

tomsss

jokers lah these 2 countries controlling the transportation across the border

they trying to protect the RTS link project is it or what. why need to control until lidat

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.