ST - Malaysian app Kummute launches e-bookings for licensed JB-S’pore cabs; LTA clarifying business model

archie7

big bubble and issues like property market dun want to intervene
this kind of small kuching kura thingy wanna intervene
dunno how our free market works

eAtNeAt

Irks me when they coordinate cut queue using bus lanes.

starry_starry_night

What I am saying is that jhk trying to promote it as legal when it is not
They are benefitting from it they will definitely say is legal. They in msia, they can say whatever they want and lta can't do anything about it.

So the qns is whether lta going to put a stop to it for real here or still monitoring?

yesman2978

Singapore doesn't care. Malaysia has also caught Singaporeans over there doing cross-border trips illegally. Singapore does not bat an eyelid.

The party who benefits from cross-border travels is still Malaysian drivers (and of course Malaysian workers in SG). These cars steal a lot of Singapore taxi and phv rice bowl at the airport and train stations.

As for Singaporeans doing cross-border fetching/sending illegally there - that is only a very small number. Its ratio to illegal cross-border Malaysian 霸王车 drivers is maybe 1:99. Note that courier trucks (i.e. Malaysian lorry drivers) also do passenger cross-border service hor. As long as their lorry got one space, they will wait to squeeze in a passenger to earn pocket money. This one many people don't know.

That's the thing. JB also won't allow comfort taxi to operate freely there (currently only stop at Larkin, not free willy), so why should we let 霸王车 to operate free willy here?

Naive. You think Malaysian drivers will not chop you carrot? Most Malaysian bawangche drivers are nice people but there are also bad eggs who charge chop carrot fees to unknowing old folks and angmos.

Very funny these 霸王车 people. Malaysia population much more than Singapore. You anyhow drive also can pickup a passenger in Malaysia. Don't really understand why need to waste time cross over between sg and my to fetch and send passengers. You waste two hours queue at custom everyday you might as well drive around JB big towns like batu, segamat, mersing or beyond jb to do your trips. You two hours can earn how much already, that's a lot of money.
You gotch take grab in bolehland before? You know how low the fare is? After deducting petrol and grab's commission, left only a little bit

bobo07

Aiya just change the concept to We are friends car sharing apps….. this huan lta sure scratch head how sia like dat….

Medicated Oil

Lol jokers control here control there. End up everyone will choose the malaysia alternative because it's cheaper. No sane person will take comfort taxi and get chop carrot
Dun like that say leh.
They are more used to fancy projects on bus project.
Like putting a swing or planting grass on bus stop roof.
When it comes to REAL WORK, they are really that competent.
As for chop carrot part, they are really living in some lalaland.

articland05

ironically their faq website says this...

Yes — confirm plus chop 100% legal.

Kummute is the first legal app to enable licensed ** (Cross-Border) taxi bookings

All taxis available on Kummute are licensed Cross-Border taxis, regulated by the authorities, and covered by valid insurance and permits.

Globe

as long as the app only allows these C.B licensed taxi to drop at Ban San street , LTA can huan lo what ?

isn't it the same arrangement as for comfort recently,

unless the app also allows people to book pickup from ban san to anywhere in JB instead of hailing it at the taxi stand.

johnsonheng

Singapore doesn't care. Malaysia has also caught Singaporeans over there doing cross-border trips illegally. Singapore does not bat an eyelid.

The party who benefits from cross-border travels is still Malaysian drivers (and of course Malaysian workers in SG). These cars steal a lot of Singapore taxi and phv rice bowl at the airport and train stations.

As for Singaporeans doing cross-border fetching/sending illegally there - that is only a very small number. Its ratio to illegal cross-border Malaysian 霸王车 drivers is maybe 1:99. Note that courier trucks (i.e. Malaysian lorry drivers) also do passenger cross-border service hor. As long as their lorry got one space, they will wait to squeeze in a passenger to earn pocket money. This one many people don't know.

That's the thing. JB also won't allow comfort taxi to operate freely there (currently only stop at Larkin, not free willy), so why should we let 霸王车 to operate free willy here?

Naive. You think Malaysian drivers will not chop you carrot? Most Malaysian bawangche drivers are nice people but there are also bad eggs who charge chop carrot fees to unknowing old folks and angmos.

Very funny these 霸王车 people. Malaysia population much more than Singapore. You anyhow drive also can pickup a passenger in Malaysia. Don't really understand why need to waste time cross over between sg and my to fetch and send passengers. You waste two hours queue at custom everyday you might as well drive around JB big towns like batu, segamat, mersing or beyond jb to do your trips. You two hours can earn how much already, that's a lot of money.
One mpv can set around 7 pax end one person they collect 80 dollars. You say money good a not

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.