Aljunied GRC-MP Kenneth Tiong : "Fund the Child, Not The School"

krikering

I think because he was in Aljunied. Aljunied is not anticipated to be closely contested zone.
Some thought the Raeesah Khan saga alongside with the Leon Perera/Nicole saga earlier,
And also the gerrymandering factor (Some parts were gerrymandered to Tampines) would tilt the scales in favour of PAP abit.

Turns out it did Not make much of a dent at all.

Ironside

Some thought the Raeesah Khan saga alongside with the Leon Perera/Nicole saga earlier,
And also the gerrymandering factor (Some parts were gerrymandered to Tampines) would tilt the scales in favour of PAP abit.

Turns out it did Not make much of a dent at all.
I think the boundaries of opposition wards cannot be changed.

mynickname

Or is it he mentioned the important aspects, that many of the PAP MPs don't dare to touch because they need to toe party lines?

Who even needs the generic motherhood statements that many of them put out in the parliament?

We are more interested in the national-level policies like education, healthcare, transportation and CPF, etc.

Or you prefer listening to Jo Teo, Indranee Rajah or the TPL/SXL, etc. continuously screaming praise about the government and continuously parroting the party's narratives?

I more interested in the tough and important aspects, not the municipal-level stuff when inside the parliament. So far only the opposition MP/NCMPs dared to ask, no more TCB inside PAP now liao, thanks.
No la not aiming u or what, just noticed you really like him only. (Y)

krikering

No la not aiming u or what, just noticed you really like him only. (Y)
I don't just mention him, I do however post on the topics which I personally am more interested in. Is no coincidence that usually is opposition, because they dared to raise the tough points more compared to PAP MPs which toe party lines.

I liked LMW in parliament back then too.
No worries, not angry or what.

focus1974

This guy is the one keep spouting nonsense on stock market one right?
I already critique his ideas last time.

Now he's at it again.
I suggest he come in here and debate with us. before he post half-S reply like us in parliament. EDMW post half-S is expected. Parliament cannot liket that woh.
Ok.. here goes.

His gist is "Fund the children, so independent preschools can compete and create a vibrant preschool ecosystem".

my critique is consolidating the industry into anchor operators is to standardise the quality of preschool. We dont want cowboys preschool. Think about the implication of quality of nurturing to your kids and whether safety procedures are followed or reporting mechanism in place. We have seen so many cases of child abuse or inappropriate teacher behaviour even among more established operators. I would opine the smaller the operator, the more cost cutting measures will be put in place , probably in quality of staff, quality of environment etc etc.

so consolidation is good imho.

Now, on to the next part, When we fund the anchor operators, how are we going to make sure they delivered on their KPIs. How to make sure we(the govt) can control the deliverables and maintain consistent standard of teaching and nurturing as well as safety.
I would opine this part is where the govt have mostly failed (in the aspect of skillsfuture).

So maybe kenneth want to think about what i said and shift the emphasis on how is the govt making sure anchor operators are giving singaporeans good value and how is the govt ensuring they are not exploiting the funding by inadvertently raising fees.

For a good success story of anchor operator, i would suggest Kenneth take a look at MOE kindergartens. Cheap and Good! That's what all the other aspiring key anchor operators should strive for or has already surpassed it ?.. I donno, please ask kenneth to find out.

So which is the greater evil? Few key anchor operators or Many cowboy operators. U decide.

PAP IB! Hire me!
Willing to work for $1 per post base price.
number of reactions will be $1 each. hehe

krikering

This guy is the one keep spouting nonsense on stock market one right?
I already critique his ideas last time.

Now he's at it again.
I suggest he come in here and debate with us. before he post half-S reply like us in parliament. EDMW post half-S is expected. Parliament cannot liket that woh.
Ok.. here goes.

His gist is "Fund the children, so independent preschools can compete and create a vibrant preschool ecosystem".

my critique is consolidating the industry into anchor operators is to standardise the quality of preschool. We dont want cowboys preschool. Think about the implication of quality of nurturing to your kids and whether safety procedures are followed or reporting mechanism in place. We have seen so many cases of child abuse or inappropriate teacher behaviour even among more established operators. I would opine the smaller the operator, the more cost cutting measures will be put in place , probably in quality of staff, quality of environment etc etc.

so consolidation is good imho.

Now, on to the next part, When we fund the anchor operators, how are we going to make sure they delivered on their KPIs. How to make sure we(the govt) can control the deliverables and maintain consistent standard of teaching and nurturing as well as safety.
I would opine this part is where the govt have mostly failed (in the aspect of skillsfuture).

So maybe kenneth want to think about what i said and shift the emphasis on how is the govt making sure anchor operators are giving singaporeans good value and how is the govt ensuring they are not exploiting the funding by inadvertently raising fees.

For a good success story of anchor operator, i would suggest Kenneth take a look at MOE kindergartens. Cheap and Good! That's what all the other aspiring key anchor operators should strive for or has already surpassed it ?.. I donno, please ask kenneth to find out.

So which is the greater evil? Few key anchor operators or Many cowboy operators. U decide.

PAP IB! Hire me!
Willing to work for $1 per post base price.
number of reactions will be $1 each. hehe
Maybe you can join his sessions, think WP got hold town-hall sessions, etc. one. Or you email policy@wp.sg, who knows maybe he will engage you in further discussion on this topic.

focus1974

Maybe you can join his sessions, think WP got hold town-hall sessions, etc. one. Or you email policy@wp.sg, who knows maybe he will engage you in further discussion on this topic.

maybe he will engage me?
I beneath him in status ah?
so sad.

ask him come here lah
he no time.. then it's ok. i understand

krikering

maybe he will engage me?
I beneath him in status ah?
so sad.

ask him come here lah
he no time.. then it's ok. i understand
Yo bro, maybe can join these kinds of sessions. Maybe not KT, but Jamus part of the Policies Research Team too. Can suggest to him as well. WP generally quite receptive to sensible ideas one.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.