73-year-old man found dead in Bedok North flat, PMA left outside for days

JustForFun

RIP. Those living alone ought to be in comms with friends/family daily to be checked upon

Best is form a senior group within neighborhood for daily chat and kopi afternoon session (for those don't like exercise or having problems) or morning light exercise session.

Many seniors will go out meet neighbourhood for these. Those not willing can always entice with free tea-time drinks or snacks ?

Get or register basic information like name, address, hp#, next-of-kin contact. Verify by random call or visit.

Missing one can try calling first to care. No answer then report to grassroots and someone or MP go to checkup as visit ? Or maybe same block residents ?

coyote

So this has been happening and PAP doing nothing about it
Great

This is everyone' life, you want the incumbent to interfere, like how? When you get married, or have a baby, did you ask the incumbent to interfere? This is practically everyone's private life, a life you chosen. If the government is needed to be in charge of the life of 3.6 million people, they will be super busy and government budget need to increase 5 folds.... and then your income tax has to triple or quadruple whatever...

JustForFun

This is everyone' life, you want the incumbent to interfere, like how? When you get married, or have a baby, did you ask the incumbent to interfere? This is practically everyone's private life, a life you chosen. If the government is needed to be in charge of the life of 3.6 million people, they will be super busy and government budget need to increase 5 folds.... and then your income tax has to triple or quadruple whatever...

Maybe a neighbourhood gathering and chit chat Kampong sense by grassroot and individual elected MP ?

evilduxy

wah i lookin at bbfa possible future nxt time :(

sibling all married got family only left bbfa with parents :(

cleffa3000

i got some flats got the emergency display

it will show like which unit no got ppl press the alarm

arsenalfc85

RIP. Those living alone ought to be in comms with friends/family daily to be checked upon
The deceased in this case had regular visitors

even got regular visitors also end up this way. Those with no visitors even more vulnerable

anyway rip

cleffa3000

Best is form a senior group within neighborhood for daily chat and kopi afternoon session (for those don't like exercise or having problems) or morning light exercise session.

Many seniors will go out meet neighbourhood for these. Those not willing can always entice with free tea-time drinks or snacks ?

Get or register basic information like name, address, hp#, next-of-kin contact. Verify by random call or visit.

Missing one can try calling first to care. No answer then report to grassroots and someone or MP go to checkup as visit ? Or maybe same block residents ?

nowadays the gen y and gen z where got form groups, and lim kopi?

senior group only for boomers

coyote

Maybe a neighbourhood gathering and chit chat Kampong sense by grassroot and individual elected MP ?

It will not help when all those you mentioned neighbors, grassroots are all old men whom have no strength to manage themselves. You expect the old men to save the old men?

We need babies, lots and lots of babies, have them grown to healthy young men and women, to take care of their parents. If we don't have young children, we'll have to import young people who work as caretakers...

All those sensors in the house will be useless without a huge team of young paramedics. So, it's either we give birth to babies or we import. No other ways around.

Visor9999

When is sg Govt going to implement compulsory community living for those staying alone

Visor9999

I think it will be too late since heart attack and stroke need medical emergency asap. Community living is the only solution to prevent these cases

JustForFun

It will not help when all those you mentioned neighbors, grassroots are all old men whom have no strength to manage themselves. You expect the old men to save the old men?

We need babies, lots and lots of babies, have them grown to healthy young men and women, to take care of their parents. If we don't have young children, we'll have to import young people who work as caretakers...

Why not ?

Like 69yo Mdm Yang, she cares to call for help not knowing whether dead or alive ?

Recently there is a news for elderly to micro-job ?

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...ter-pilot-covers-4-more-active-ageing-centres

SINGAPORE – A scheme that allows seniors to get paid for simple tasks such as delivering food to other seniors has been expanded to another four active ageing centres, with more expected to come onboard soon.

There are now 15 active ageing centres on board, after the scheme was first piloted in January at the Bedok Active Ageing Centre of Thye Hua Kwan Moral Charities (THKMC).

Today, 11 of THKMC’s 18 centres have signed up, and about 50 seniors – who are mostly in their 60s and 70s – are involved. They have supported nearly 200 beneficiaries and completed more than 22,000 micro-jobs, receiving $1 for every task.

yesman2978

No wonder sometimes I see some old dude rather stay around void deck and listen to some songs.. by himself on PMA.. despite him not looking okay.. he got like a crook neck.. and not very responsive..

Probably trying not to die alone at home... :sick:
Stay at void deck doesn't mean will not die alone hor.

The 61-year-old added: “I felt quite sad to hear about his death and how he was there for a few days before people realised he was dead. We all just assumed he was sleeping and did not want to bother him.”

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...of-serangoon-hdb-block-not-a-resident-of-area

BlackWing1977

Balian

last time got "kampung spirit"
people know their neighbors and interact
now we are all strangers with the common goal of chasing money

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.