HydeMax bought an old 2-storey house in 北海道 Hokkaido for only Sgd 8715

evilduxy

wah good luck in winter still have to remove snow from roof arbo roof later collapse

8k price even if diy think wanna reno till decent to live in also smelly another 50-70k sgd

compro_1975

the issue is the reno... very expensive.... dun noe how open they are to diy, but i dun mind a place like that, get a monk to clean it then reno

krikering

juz spend 100k rebuild still cheaper than hdb. thing is free one normally is really ulu. dunno driving dun buy.......
More spacious than HDB pigeonhole, can have own personal garden too. Plenty of personal space rather than cramp together with family, and not being able to rest on your off-days well here.

leonaheidern

i always find it funny that people actually like japan.
anyway, they are an aging/dying population. maybe once their actual japanese population dwindles to a much smaller number, can consider migrating there and take over their land

then the culture is gone already.

admit it most people like japan because of the culture. all the old gone the culture becomes like china or modern Singapore

if you cant really stand Singapore now imagine Japan in 30 years time with the same sort of people migrating there

hachi

How ex can the tax and repair even be sia, get 8k house so cheap already sia. Even need to fork out another 10-20k also still cheap
Japanese tradesman not cheap... If you tour there... Japanese workers have pride... And things don't come cheap... 10-20k. Don't use apartment maintenance standard to Judge those landed maintenance especially older ones.

Even you get one older one for free.. The repair will make one poor if you don't have money.

KPO_SAHM

Theres no hidden cost for foreigners... its just that even locals dun want these houses due to high taxation and costly repairs (due to high wages).

The tax n maintenance cost r high.
Must also engage companies to dispose the items

wahlaneh

Always remember there is no free lunch. Good things are not cheap and cheap things are not good. Nothing can change this fact.

johnsonheng

juz spend 100k rebuild still cheaper than hdb. thing is free one normally is really ulu. dunno driving dun buy.......
Scary part is the whole estate 100 over units only less than 20 units got people staying

omae_wa_yowai

If u are content creator with a professional team, then it's actually not bad. Can do a series of buying, reno, farming all that stuff lor.
If u buying for ur own long term stay then not a good idea lor, firstly u need proficiency in japanese, if not sure a lot of communication problem. Then depends on location, the safety, healthcare and convenience all that, especially very important to have driving license, else go where also troublesome & expensive. Next is the rubbish disposal problem, for large bulky junk u need to pay for disposal fee and it's not easy to clear it also. (Heard that even a broken umbrella is so difficult to dispose, ppl will just leave it at train station and treat it as lost item lol)
And then don't expect japanese to be nice to foreigners living in their country (sama sama in SG hahaha)
See see very nice ah but when do very different already~

Roughice

If u are content creator with a professional team, then it's actually not bad. Can do a series of buying, reno, farming all that stuff lor.
If u buying for ur own long term stay then not a good idea lor, firstly u need proficiency in japanese, if not sure a lot of communication problem. Then depends on location, the safety, healthcare and convenience all that, especially very important to have driving license, else go where also troublesome & expensive. Next is the rubbish disposal problem, for large bulky junk u need to pay for disposal fee and it's not easy to clear it also. (Heard that even a broken umbrella is so difficult to dispose, ppl will just leave it at train station and treat it as lost item lol)
And then don't expect japanese to be nice to foreigners living in their country (sama sama in SG hahaha)
See see very nice ah but when do very different already~
The work culture in Japan is like **** also... The term karoshi is there for a reason

Just because a country is nice to have a vacation in doesn't mean it's nice to stay in

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.