Is working as a vendor in IT consultancy firm a dead end job?

win_man

Just do whatever you need to do every day and pretend that nothing is happening.

tokong

Its a stressful job.. Long working + irregular hours.

If got deployment, weekend also occupied.

Worse is, you will be first to get fcuked if any issue by PM :s42:
Hehe, that's because PM got f by the top already. So he will go after you.

gld998

Everyday just clear ticket only

attend countless meeting, countless thing to follow up, no end on sight

deadline keep postpone and everything push to next release
then next release same thing again, then the chat group will have people tag your name

No career progression, no rest, every release just push push push

I was hoping a down period, but it seem consistently peak period for many months already
Welcome to govtech, ncs, ihis, nec, crimsonlogic, and many many others... know as meat grinders.. work u to the bone then when u give up, they will just dump u and find the next victim.

addict951

then next release same thing again, then the chat group will have people tag your name

I was hoping a down period, but it seem consistently peak period for many months already
ts, iirc you created this same thread 6 months ago?

moonlighter_sg

Yes, it is definitely a dead end job. Dun expect vendor will give you a smooth smooth career progress. Treat it just a job. Dead end means engineer unlikely to become manager or director in the career path. Every day job is to clear service tickets. Do remote troubleshooting. Upgrade servers with new release (work OT or burn weekend). Perform change management etc etc. Do preventive maintenance... see how long you can live with such job. One fine day will be burntout or tio pok by the vendor if your salary is too high. My salary reached too high, tio pok... they are not promoting me to manager or director... sucks. wasted by life.

To the young folks out there, do ask the question if you will be come a manager or director in this career path. If not, it is a dead end job.

gld998

Yes, it is definitely a dead end job. Dun expect vendor will give you a smooth smooth career progress. Treat it just a job. Dead end means engineer unlikely to become manager or director in the career path. Every day job is to clear service tickets. Do remote troubleshooting. Upgrade servers with new release (work OT or burn weekend). Perform change management etc etc. Do preventive maintenance... see how long you can live with such job. One fine day will be burntout or tio pok by the vendor if your salary is too high. My salary reached too high, tio pok... they are not promoting me to manager or director... sucks. wasted by life.
To be fair, u didn't work for free.. your ending is similar to mine. Expected. But what u do when u earn alot matters more.

moonlighter_sg

To be fair, u didn't work for free.. your ending is similar to mine. Expected. But what u do when u earn alot matters more.

During exit interview, boss said the cost of maintaining the business is more that the earning... pay 2 dollar to earn 1 dollar.

Yeah, I enjoyed the work. Just too bad, sinkies salary are on the high side. They happily offshored my entire business unit to other country. Still very upset. Hoping to get over the bad mental state and move on soon.

Heriophant

i personally know a diploma friend who worked in IT support for 7 years. afterwards, took up multiple cloud computing certs and progressed to cloud engineer, then to lead role within 3–4 years. now doing program manager overseeing project managers.

moral of the story is to keep upgrading yourself. it will be a dead end if one lies flat and becomes obsolete.
Lol my new PM hor..
Ish a JHB formerly working as PSA at hospital.. From scheduling patient appts to managing IT projects.. JSKM :s42:

ramlee

To the young folks out there, do ask the question if you will be come a manager or director in this career path. If not, it is a dead end job.
so what ish you doing nao? :(

TheITGuy

Member -> Senior member -> Team Lead -> PM/TSM/Ops Manager -> Senior PM/TSM/Ops Mgr -> Director

Emperor_Hippo

Its a stressful job.. Long working + irregular hours.

If got deployment, weekend also occupied.

Worse is, you will be first to get fcuked if any issue by PM :s42:
I think depends on PM personalty one.

i dun like to treat my principal like a dog. But i just expect things u OTOT hit my required milestones so I can make u look nice oso when i do review reports to my bosses.

u happy, i happy, everyone happy.

DragonFire

Sometimes if you do well, the client might start liking you. I have an ex colleague like this. The client liked him so much that when the vendor eventually lost their contract for some external reasons, the client demanded the new vendor hire the fellow from their competitor as a contract condition.

Ubi-Warrior

What would you want your career path to be?

Roid Rage

just find a mnc and be in house IT. eng eng cheng cheng with good pay

HushiePuppies

this is better than those job everyday wait at smoking point for new "delivery". Then just cycle aimlessly between residential estate and shopping mall. That one also no career progression and if you do nothing, you earn nothing.

anchoraz

Its jus like u go temple for free meals, u put 10cents as donation. Say u pay alrdy, u expect standards and say u din eat free. Sama sama.

Karma will hit hard if makan too much.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.