ST - ‘No Chinese’ cafe in popular Seoul district sparks racism debate ahead of Apec meet

Shalomp

d4a9cc658b1b6dfc520c93fa44d52b8d70033b55ca312eb36710fb67f73fbab8

Not.banned.yet

Yes. It’s rather quietly open. I went to Seoul in Aug this year. I saw Chinese national looking shock. I looked back, got this Korean chap, carrying a placard poster, walking around. Message was rather anti Chinese sentiments

byfun

Their own bix they happy jiu hao.. maybe do local bix also huatz liao so dont care about tourists money... wait till bix is bad u see still put this or not.

Shalomp

how they identify Chinese? What if I go there and use purely english and melayu?
my friend and his wife went seoul years ago and when go buy cosmetics, the sales girls will think they are little pinks and serve them with black face. the moment hear them speak eng with sinkie accent immediately 180 degree attitude change

and this was roughly 15-18 years ago if i recall? so these anti sentiments have been existing for a long time in korea liao

Shalomp

haha again, you can take PRC out of China but cannot take China out of PRC.
https://koreajoongangdaily.joins.co...tion-of-comportment-regional-bullying/2328815

h61q6Ls.jpg
i think compared to japanese, koreans dont hide their true feelings as much so they arent afraid to reveal despite backlash

i was in seoul couple of years back myself and was chatting with the taxi driver on my way from airport. at one point he also expressed how annoyed he is with china tourists and how loud they are :ROFLMAO:

i didnt want to fan the flames so i just said oh ok and switch topics :ROFLMAO:

doratch

i think compared to japanese, koreans dont hide their true feelings as much so they arent afraid to reveal despite backlash

i was in seoul couple of years back myself and was chatting with the taxi driver on my way from airport. at one point he also expressed how annoyed he is with china tourists and how loud they are :ROFLMAO:

i didnt want to fan the flames so i just said oh ok and switch topics :ROFLMAO:

Koreans, esp elderly, will be very chatty and nice to you if you can speak a little bit of Korean language.

doratch

I was watching youtube videos.
I realised that PRC youtubers love to complain and diss at Asia countries and "quarrel" with the locals.
But when they go to those angmoh countries, all became diam diam...

Shalomp

Koreans, esp elderly, will be very chatty and nice to you if you can speak a little bit of Korean language.
thats what i noticed myself

i went to this traditional market in seoul where u can eat directly in front of the owner. i just make a satisfying look and nodded my head like the food is dam delicious and can tell the ajumma so heypi and proud :ROFLMAO:

then those old women selling those yakult on push carts. they keep offering free to my friend's baby girl cos they think she very cute

doratch

i went to this traditional market in seoul where u can eat directly in front of the owner. i just make a satisfying look and nodded my head like the food is dam delicious and can tell the ajumma so heypi and proud :ROFLMAO:

then those old women selling those yakult on push carts. they keep offering free to my friend's baby girl cos they think she very cute

Yup. Those Korean elderly love kids and will try to "communicate" with them especially if they think that they are pretty/handsome.

camoguysg

The old ladies are typically friendlier. I cant say the same for the old uncles. Their attitude are atrocious.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.