Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

linusz

Bro, I’ve been reading your past few posts amidst checking out potato bro food pictures, if your capri booking can cancel and refund, then it would be the best. That area currently is really a mess due to the RTS construction, plus everything you want to do at city square, JWAF area, you can do at Sutera/Tasek/Austin area. Skudai highway that stretch to and from Paradigm mall may look pretty straight and fast during non peak hour, but trust me, it can suddenly jam for no reason and jam for long stretches. If you main objective is fix your phone at Paradigm mall, and if you and your wife can compromise on the one night stay of hotel and forgo the 25% discount, there’s many 3 star hotels at Sutera and Tasek central which is much nearer and convenient to and fro Paradigm mall. And also tons of food, massage, indoor playground for your son within walking distance of the hotel for you guys.
thanks. can i just summarize and clarify
1. you dont recommend to stay near jbcc now; cos the roads are packed and hard to travel in and out; and within?
- unless keep to mall shopping; then it's ok?
2. i probably have to go to paradigm once at most twice; so you suggest to stay near there. only saw the leverage skudai hotel looks pretty fine. wat would be the other hotels near sutera / tasek worth staying?

oceanpriest

1. you dont recommend to stay near jbcc now; cos the roads are packed and hard to travel in and out; and within?
2. i probably have to go to paradigm once at most twice; so you suggest to stay near there. only saw the leverage skudai hotel looks pretty fine. wat would be the other hotels near sutera / tasek worth staying?
stay leverage, can go lunch at nijyumaru sutera and dinner at pekin sutera. saturday morning can explore tun aminah, ankee yong taufu/uncle koh wtm/lai kee fishball noodle. grab car probably only 7-10rm only to hop within that area.

SantyBalls

stay leverage, can go lunch at nijyumaru sutera and dinner at pekin sutera. saturday morning can explore tun aminah, ankee yong taufu/uncle koh wtm/lai kee fishball noodle. grab car probably only 7-10rm only to hop within that area.

There's nothing good in sutera area unless you like china food, or you into nightlife/clubbing/karaoke.
If tasek central/tuta have decent hotel, stay there better.
1. Tuta alot bkfast options. Most shophouses open morning n close by 3pm
2. Tuta pasar malam also on a Saturday night.

Aft bkfast you gng paradigm, reach about noon, just nice. Don't think for a moment msia is like sg. Mall open doesn't mean stalls open. Punctuality is not their strongest.

Then evening come back night market for dinner.

Habrosus

Makan places kopi-soh recommended too. That Japanese joint is :love:.

Been passing by Pekin coz I understand that their portions need more than a couple of people to finish, unless only order a couple of dishes. No fun.

Leverage Hotel mentioned by Aaagogo quite a while back, but I've yet to check it out. :grin:

oceanpriest

Been passing by Pekin coz I understand that their portions need more than a couple of people to finish, unless only order a couple of dishes. No fun.

Leverage Hotel mentioned by Aaagogo quite a while back, but I've yet to check it out. :grin:
kopi-soh recommendation sure won't get diarrhea :grin:

oceanpriest

if pekin portion too big can go hua mui

hua mui and nijyumaru, for non regular jb visitor should be v good already :grin:
if somebody say no good then dunno what's wrong with their tongue... maybe michelin tongue :flash:

Andrew833

Bro, I’ve been reading your past few posts amidst checking out potato bro food pictures, if your capri booking can cancel and refund, then it would be the best. That area currently is really a mess due to the RTS construction, plus everything you want to do at city square, JWAF area, you can do at Sutera/Tasek/Austin area. Skudai highway that stretch to and from Paradigm mall may look pretty straight and fast during non peak hour, but trust me, it can suddenly jam for no reason and jam for long stretches. If you main objective is fix your phone at Paradigm mall, and if you and your wife can compromise on the one night stay of hotel and forgo the 25% discount, there’s many 3 star hotels at Sutera and Tasek central which is much nearer and convenient to and fro Paradigm mall. And also tons of food, massage, indoor playground for your son within walking distance of the hotel for you guys.
Paradigm Mall is near to Sutera, TUTA, BI and Perling. BI the furthest among all.
I think he is looking for better hotel.

Elon Jobs

1) Yes, driving wise it’s a nightmare, R&F that sided 3 lane road become 1 lane, imagine 1 lane to turn left, turn right and go straight, and worse, no traffic marshal to manage traffic flow, and if you suay suay kana one construction truck unloading steel beams or cement block, you’ll be stuck at one junction for up to 15 minutes waiting to make one simple right turn. It’s crazy, that’s why I have personally avoided that area until RTS is completed and have been exploring Tasek and Austin the last few school holidays. I used to stay at Susanna suites often post Covid and pre RTS construction and I could walk everywhere. As for walking from Capri to CS/Komtar, I cannot comment, you should read what other the brother here have experienced before and gauge for yourself.

2) At most twice that means four trips. Since you’re there on a Saturday, then why not stay Tasek central and enjoy the weekly TUTA night market if your wife and kid are okay with it. Sutera wise, I have not stayed before but will be staying at avantgarde in December and exploring Sutera mall; Tasek Central wise, I was just there earlier this month and it’s pretty quite and peaceful relative to KSL/Austin. We stayed at Hako hotel and it was not bad, but do take note MSS sis remarked there’s a club next door which can be quite noisy for certain rooms- I managed to siam it coz I was there on a Monday and the club was closed. You can check out my post earlier for review. If not, you can try the square hotel at the opposite end of Tasek central, which is recommended by Andrew bro and others, I stayed before pre Covid and it was decent too.

Andrew833

hua mui and nijyumaru, for non regular jb visitor should be v good already :grin:
if somebody say no good then dunno what's wrong with their tongue... maybe michelin tongue :flash:
Bro, try Fuqi lah, cheap and good but must advance booking for table and crabs.
Sure won't diarrhea one :ROFLMAO:
Pekin portion too big for us too, long time didn't go liao.

Elon Jobs

Paradigm Mall is near to Sutera, TUTA, BI and Perling. BI the furthest among all.
I think he is looking for better hotel.
Yeah I know, bro already booked Capri which is a 4 star hotel; the only 4 star hotel in that entire area is Hyatt and it’s fully booked for this Saturday. That’s why I said if he and his wife can compromise one the hotel stay for just one night, there’s several 3 star options around Tasek and Sutera.

Habrosus

The first time I wanted to visit Sutera Hua Mui, it's closed. I then headed to the joint at the other end of the Japanese restaurant. Less crowded, food and service were decent.

Been going to the basement of the mall to settle most meals since. No, I won't recommend. Nothing good there. :censored:

Andrew833

Check out Hyatt Place, reviews getting better but not cheap.
Lots of airbnb at Paradigm Residence, same building as Paradigm Mall.
Next to Paradigm Mall 1 mins walk, is The Platino, lots of airbnb.
I stay airbnb in both places many times.

My routine;
Reach Paradigm Mall shop around then check in.
Next day morning can grab to TUTA for Breakfast, grab fare is RM5-8.
After Breakfast I will grab back to pack my bag and get ready to check out.
Lots of good food near to Wah Cai 3-in-1 Chinese Cake.

Sutera and Bukit Indah area lots of good food and 1 shopping mall each.

Andrew833

Yeah I know, bro already booked Capri which is a 4 star hotel; the only 4 star hotel in that entire area is Hyatt and it’s fully booked for this Saturday. That’s why I said if he and his wife can compromise one the hotel stay for just one night, there’s several 3 star options around Tasek and Sutera.
Can still stay in airbnb mah

Habrosus

Bro, try Fuqi lah, cheap and good but must advance booking for table and crabs.
Sure won't diarrhea one :ROFLMAO:
Pekin portion too big for us too, long time didn't go liao.
Ah, it's also from you who mentioned about Pekin's big portion. :grin:

Aiyah, some people got weak stomach but if coupled with short-sightedness from knowing, and weak brains from acknowledging, it's a lost cause. 🧟‍♂️

Habrosus

Would DoubleTree@Hilton be a good alternative to Capri, location-wise for the places he wants to explore?

I've only seen the jam along the front of Capri, from Holiday Inn and it's crazy. Thought of walking there to explore makan places but decided to shelf the idea. :s22:

oceanpriest

The first time I wanted to visit Sutera Hua Mui, it's closed. I then headed to the joint at the other end of the Japanese restaurant. Less crowded, food and service were decent.

Been going to the basement of the mall to settle most meals since. No, I won't recommend. Nothing good there. :censored:
i rmbr last time hua mui sutera have slightly different menu than the other branches. but now can't find the pdf menu, maybe all branches have same menu now...

I'm still craving for their hainanese chicken chop, too bad their sauce is mushroom base, if it's tomato base like hainanese pork chop in singapore then lagi best. only hung kitchen at ungku mohsin sell hainanese chicken chop with tomato base sauce. still searching for more place...

in sg, I only go ye la xiang at maxwell and no 1 western food at margaret drive. their hainanese sauce is (y)

hwsstx

Restoran Alisan
23, Jalan Serigala, Taman Abad, 80250 Johor Bahru, Johor Darul Ta'zim, Malaysia
https://maps.app.goo.gl/pcZLSSARuAxkWJeH8

I just noticed it but haven't makan yet ... maybe soon.
IMG20251030130417.jpg

SantyBalls

Hua mui at tan hiok nee area cmi, suggest to avoid. Food dunno how make, no aircon, and their toilet is squat and a suana.
Want go, go other branches. The 1 at austin was okay for me.

Nigyumaru at sutera kena influenced by tiongs. They targetted at tionged boomer age group. Otherwise, avoid.
Note: I didnt eat any raw seafood/sashimi.

Alternatives:
Kyu Izakaya
Osaka Japanese cuisine 大阪城日本料理
Kinsahi Japanese Restaurant

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.