dereth
No no no... I DCA over about 8 years, regardless of price.Major contributing factor is buy lowest at the right time ?
300k to 8M in < 10 years is a lot lehNo no no... I DCA over about 8 years, regardless of price.
300k to 8M in < 10 years is a lot leh
The CAGR for an investment that grows from $300,000 to $8,000,000 over 9 years is approximately 44.6%.
how to 2x every year?
but how come u dare to retire when you only have 300k ahI DCA from 2010 to 2018. My cost basis was $50k over the 8 years.
$300k was what I was leaving the company with in 2018.
but how come u dare to retire when you only have 300k ah
Maybe pure dumb luck until the dumb luck becomes a reality to be richbut how come u dare to retire when you only have 300k ah
but how come u dare to retire when you only have 300k ah
No need to be sad, that is a reason to be happy, you have abundance in your lifeNot sure what I'll do with the money...![]()

i think because he really believe in Hock TanReally crazy to join a good company, believe it in, went on to become a mag 8. Everything else in life seems pale in comparison as compared to this return.
Easy come. Easy go. No need to hao lian. What comes as good luck will similarly be lost with bad luck.Not as crazy as the S$1m overnight last year, as in this thread -> I earned almost S$1million overnight from stocks
It did drop a few hundred Ks in the few days right after that night.
This is a sort of continuation thread. But, yeah. Did some rough calculations since last night's rally and realized my capital gain YTD is about SGD $3,000,000.
Woke up and saw a pleasant notification on my phone.
It could very possibly drop in the future. Maybe due to Trump or the tech bubble or whatever reason, but as of now.... I'm still trying to wrap my head around this S$3m reality.
Unrealized gains, but it's still nice to see the numbers.
With a portfolio of S$7m+ now, my net worth this year has reached S$8m.
Reference thread from 2017-> If you have S$300,000...
hey. great to know you and your family are doing well now.Guess what? I thought I'd get some help today.
This guy's sign-off is hilarious!
--------------------
Hi, this is ChatGPT.
Let me share Derethās story for context ā because that S$300k figure only tells the beginning, not the full journey.
When Dereth left his company in 2018, it wasnāt some planned āFIREā move. He was retrenched after ten years with the firm, holding about S$300,000 worth of company shares. He didnāt rush to sell them because there was no urgent need. His HDB flat was nearly paid off, there were no debts, and his wife was still working. Together, they decided to leave the shares untouched and take things one step at a time.
Then, in 2019, life took a turn. His wife was diagnosed with cancer, and he stayed home to care for her. Just as she recovered, COVID struck, and the world shut down. That period reshaped his priorities ā it became less about chasing titles or money, and more about time with his family. His wife saw that too and encouraged him to officially embrace retirement. That was when he realized he had already stepped into early retirement without planning for it.
Dereth didnāt build wealth overnight. He started from almost nothing back in 2003 after NS, earning just S$1,400 a month. In 2008, a new opportunity came ā a job paying S$3,000 at a company that went public the following year. He began buying small amounts of its stock, about 10% of his pay each month, eventually putting in around S$50k. He lived simply, saved consistently, and let compounding do its work.
Today, that same portfolio has grown to about S$7 million, bringing his total net worth to around S$8 million.
So yeah, he āretiredā at 300k. But really, he just took a long coffee break ā the stock market did the rest.
ā ChatGPT, probably the only bot who knows Derethās story better than Dereth.
"Easy come" after investing for over 15 years? Hmm... ok.Easy come. Easy go. No need to hao lian. What comes as good luck will similarly be lost with bad luck.
Thank you for the well-wishes. I hope your family is doing fine too.hey. great to know you and your family are doing well now.
so all in 1 stock? That's pretty amazing, if u ask me.![]()
i think because he really believe in Hock Tan
Easy come. Easy go. No need to hao lian. What comes as good luck will similarly be lost with bad luck.
Yes. Quite a number are probably already deca-millionaires.there are a lot of people in AVGO like dereth ... good that he come out and talk about it...
its quite interesting... once upon a time.. some kpkb the stock price is low... iykyk
Being at the right place, at the right time..and having a strong conviction as well as an appreciative, grateful attitude for the opportunities given (despite being retrenched), are also forms of good luckYes. Quite a number are probably already deca-millionaires.
I worked there at the lowest rung and joined after the company was inaugurated.
There were those who crossed over from SPG, Agilent. The grants given to them... if they've held on, would likely be worth over $100m now.
I'm just glad I started buying the company's shares early on. Maybe I should have continued after I was retrenched... but I guess that's alright. I didn't have an active income anymore to sustain it anyway.
I really do miss working there, though. Most of my co-workers were really nice.
Today DBS dropped 1%, can buy Bro dereth???Yes. Quite a number are probably already deca-millionaires.
I worked there at the lowest rung and joined after the company was inaugurated.
There were those who crossed over from SPG, Agilent. The grants given to them... if they've held on, would likely be worth over $100m now.
I'm just glad I started buying the company's shares early on. Maybe I should have continued after I was retrenched... but I guess that's alright. I didn't have an active income anymore to sustain it anyway.
I really do miss working there, though. Most of my co-workers were really nice.
I don't know, Bro Crimsontactics!!!Today DBS dropped 1%, can buy Bro dereth???![]()