Mum heartbroken after son takes his life weeks after break-up: 'We'd prepared $60k for his wedding and BTO'

• Need help?
    Reach out to someone from Samaritans of Singapore (24 hours): Call 1-767 or WhatsApp 9151-1767 More info

ST Optimist

He should have learn how to be a 渣男 even if he isn't one ......haiz.....most woman dun appreciate good but boring person with current value .....they like to anyhow imagine future

freshsoapsmell

I also wont marry someone who easily want to commit suicide...later the guy will always blackmail if she dun do something he will hara kiri...will be emotionally draininh these type of relationship...better avoid
avoiding might be a good idea. draining for both parties, might as well go with someone else... or just be alone.

Braun8

Too sheltered by parents? Even BTO and marriage also to be funded by them?

His parents are not funding the BTO, they want to give $50K to help with the renovation costs, nowadays $50K is not enough for the HDB renovation and furnishings

His parents want to give $10K for their only son's marriage which is very reasonable, but this sum is also not be enough for the entire wedding

TA20222025

Opinions, opinions, opinions....

Who is to say who's right or wrong in the matter ? The Guy or the girl?

Just like the 14yr malaysian boy who stab the slug-to-be 16yr malaysian gal to dead, is not necessary wrong too.

He might be saving all guys the trouble of a future gold-digger.

Just too bad this guy gave up on life too early to find out abt other fun things in life.

You are insane and disgusting justifying murder like this.

That 16 year old girl wasn't his girlfriend and she didn't even know him. He was the one who had a one-sided crush on her and took her life.

sPacEmAn_sPiFf

His parents are not funding the BTO, they want to give $50K to help with the renovation costs, nowadays $50K is not enough for the HDB renovation and furnishings

His parents is offering to give $10K for their only son's marriage which is very reasonable, but this sum is also not be enough for the entire wedding
Exactly. The question is whether his upbringing of (presumably) constant shelter and support from his parents had played a part in his level of mental resilience..

many guys don’t get any financial support from parents for their tuition loan, bto, reno, marriage..

freshsoapsmell

His parents want to give $10K for their only son's marriage which is very reasonable, but this sum is also not be enough for the entire wedding
unfortunately this can be annoying. a moot point in fact.

if i were the girl i won't want the money.

because the parents will remind you for the rest of your life you took their 60k.

60k is not worth a lifetime of nagging. nothing is.

sporeknight76

🤔 worked for a few years, and had $200K in investment and savings?

I don't understand why the mum even mentioned his potential inheritance..

Lastly, the relationship was between his son and the gf.. her comments regarding the relationship were unnecessary.

So HDB needs to provide counselling services now for emotional trauma due to a BTO fallout? A decision that was made by individuals?
I second u.
While girl is not wrong to have her expectations, it was irresponsible to act only after 8 years.

She shd have acted at the BTO stage....
Y blame her? Some married also will div.
The couple know each other since poly and that to me is probably the reason for the break-up
Y is it so? U mean even if know each other since childhood? 🤔
This was a very odd move.

Why quit Applied Materials to do LaLamove?
I m nt sure hw long did the suicide happen. But during v early 2000s, semicon industry is booming. AM is a v reputable coy n hav many machines in semicon factories. I was 1 of the svc engineer (no deg) from other coy n heard AM is diff to get in. Their salary is also v high.
Perhaps he was tired from the wk n decided to chg another industry.
I think only the couples themselves know the reason.. she may not be giving the real reason who knows. Just bcuz they were in rs doesnt mean must marry. Even marry can also end up divorce. The mum shldnt point as if is the girl's fault to drag till that stage. Maybe the guy also keep dragging and stopping her to mention breakup? Everyone has the free will to make choices.
I also dont think anything to do with hdb.

Sadly, the ending proves the girl's statement.
👍 Agreed.
Knn. Really chao strawberry. No backbone.
U nt in his shoe, don comment lik tis la. We dono wat is in his head. We r all different.
Waiting too long for BTO to be ready is part of the reason for breakup

if can move in earlier, chances of breakup will be lower
Y lei. Ok, say apply flat Day 1, Day 2 move in. So chances of breakup lower? Pls elaborate.
something dont add up leh...got 200k savings but mother still prpeare 50k reno and 10k wedding for him
I read the article few times too. Yes, it was stated "They". But could b from the writer's perspective.
A "good" son will nt use parents $ for ownself use.
RIP, in a relationship, it is hard for outsiders to say who is right and who is wrong....

But to lose his life over a failed relationship is sad and he is only 29
I hope he will find peace in afterlife (If there is). Some say those committed suicide will not reincarnate. He will repeat the cycle repeatedly for eternity.
Depends, can pika earlier have kids?

some couple got kids will think twice about divorce

this is a case of 7 year itch, drag too long already
If hav kids early, wont div? I know a real life case. Couple w 3 kids still div aft abt 14-16y.
The guy weak AF, throwing away a good life just cos of 1 zhabor.
A moment of wrong decision.
that's also a problem. why can't partners appreciate their partners for who they are? why always need to improve lol. why always so unsatisfied with partner?
😐 Sadly. Ppl like to compare.
if the parents nv ill-treat u, please always think for them. Your parents are the only people in life who will really love you unconditionally.
Mayb for him, he felt his world has crumbled. No pt living. V sad to commit suicide at such young age.
---------------------
To me, the cause of the tragedy is due to PEOPLE CHANGE. N yes it is.

Shinning_Wolf

the gf just want someone richer lar..
nope, she will be happily married to a richer man
That is probably the case. Some girls want to have the best life possible for themselves, royally be damned.

This guy really gives up easily.
He probably thinks that girl is one of a kind, rare chiobu, and is the best he could ever get, plus he has already invested lots of time and emotion in her.
She might have said something really unkind to lowblow his heart instead of a soft breakup. Whatever the reason is(even if his own fault), I wish he had waited a little longer. He might get a better one. I've seen high achievers settle for less and even less than losers who couldn't get a real job.

kuti-kuti

End own life over a ger?
Worth it boh? The ger will carry on her life, get married, have a family enjoy life with her husband..... Worth it to end a life boh?

Kanko San

That is probably the case. Some girls want to have the best life possible for themselves, royally be damned.

He probably thinks that girl is one of a kind, rare chiobu, and is the best he could ever get, plus he has already invested lots of time and emotion in her.
She might have said something really unkind to lowblow his heart instead of a soft breakup. Whatever the reason is(even if his own fault), I wish he had waited a little longer. He might get a better one. I've seen high achievers settle for less and even less than losers who couldn't get a real job.

Ya lor.

There is a French Proverb : -

"Why buy a book, when you can use the Library".

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.