19.9% extra: Man says GST and service charges in Singapore have pushed him and his wife to dine out less

XcoVar

The reality of modern slavery

. Tax on spending (Shopping, F&B etc)
. Tax on income
. Tax on paying bills
. Tax on properties
. Tax on cars ownership

Essentially, every individual acts as a lifeblood of the economy.

vangug

i took my kid somewhere which i have birthday month discount of 20% for lunch just now... when i got the bill i notice i only got a few dollars discounted... i asked the cashier why... she said your 20% discount minus the 10% service charge and 9% GST... so this final cost is correct.... sian sia... got discount like no discount....

ZaiNan

We are paying the price of being 1st world with no swiss standard lifestyle

Nowadays taking transport to your destination is more or less extra 10% charges slapped on you compared 5-6 years ago

Those who think you won't incur GST 9% by eating at hawker continue to deceive ownself lo

radish

Emeritus Honorary Member
to be honest i really cut down a lot on eating out. even tabao i also cut now.

i increased cooking at home nowadays. sad to say not i dont want to eat in restaurant its just too expensive for me even fast food i also need to think twice nowadays.

more good years.

:cry:

Nuclear Boy

In b4 that Vivian quote...

quote-how-much-do-you-want-do-you-want-three-meals-in-a-hawker-centre-food-court-or-restaurant-vivian-balakrishnan-93-73-56.jpg

daveteo88

that's huai now moi only steam sweet potato for subsistence
outside ish all mean and scary :frown:
I order cai fan. One deep fry chicken wing cut into two limbs. One scoop of steamed water egg. One scoop of long bean. And because I wanted to enjoy I order one scoop of tofu with a bit of mince pork on top. The jhb said äŗ”å—ler.

So I mentally counted 30 days one month lunch will be $150. If times two for dinner will be $300. Then I said LW thank you, my salary enuf for meals. Dun think he heard me.:(

daveteo88

to be honest i really cut down a lot on eating out. even tabao i also cut now.

i increased cooking at home nowadays. sad to say not i dont want to eat in restaurant its just too expensive for me even fast food i also need to think twice nowadays.

more good years.

:cry:
McD still crowded

JustForFun

No water, no free chilli sometimes, no service.... For SG, service charge no regulation is quite bad. You see pizzas so overpriced in SG. Just a pinch of ingredients only 30 bucks ans thin crust.

You can DIY with ingredients many many using frozen Prata or Popiah skin as base with toppings of your choice in airfryer or oven ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.