If my aircon trip my DB

coyote

AC on breaker, trip during thunderstorm not even using

The aircon only use once or twice a yr

Reset liao but still jump

Last time trip also thunderstorms when no one at home

Air con use once or twice in a year. Definitely the problem is with the Aircon. Have to turn it on from time to time ...

ksapple

By which breaker, I mean the earth leakage breaker, or the overload breaker?

The earth leakage breaker is the breaker with a "test" button. The overload breaker is one of many in a row, usually with 15A or 20A written on it.

If the earth leakage breaker trips, you have a short in the AC. Try turning off the isolator at the outdoor unit to see if you can reset the circuit.

You mentioned it tripped during a storm when it wasn't even in use. I suspect maybe water got into the isolator or power board of the AC unit because of a bad seal or something.
20A de trip, all can turn on cept the 1

how old AC and usage?

Living room - 8 yrs old, on 1-2 a year maybe

if got thunderstorm, will trip or not?

This year twice trip due to thunderstorm 1 is yesterday

xiao.xin

Actually TS isolate the issue already ah. Ask the Aircon repairman lo. If is not the AC but the plug. Then change the plug lo.

Don't think change plug need electrician bah.

DragonFire

20A de trip, all can turn on cept the 1

Living room - 8 yrs old, on 1-2 a year maybe

does it trip the earth breaker? If no you probably have a dead short to neutral somewhere since you are tripping on overcurrent.

articland05

if only thunderstorm then trip is MCB issue liao. because aircon suck more power so if ur MCB couldnt handle + thunderstorm easily will trip the most power intensive appliance

DragonFire

Whole house trip lol
So it is short to earth. Water inside the isolator or power board likely since it coincides with rain. Might also be poor lizard seeking shelter from the wet. That is what killed my AC.

DragonFire

if only thunderstorm then trip is MCB issue liao. because aircon suck more power so if ur MCB couldnt handle + thunderstorm easily will trip the most power intensive appliance

Thunderstorms trip not the most power intensive equipment but the equipment with most wiring connected to earth.

The trip is cause by induced currents that flow because of a nearby high voltage hit from lightning.

AC units and their chain of connected indoor units are like an antenna/collector.

The induced current trip RCCBs because they present as a transient surge. They should not trip the 20A MCB because the current surge is relatively low.

articland05

Thunderstorms trip not the most power intensive equipment but the equipment with most wiring connected to earth.

The trip is cause by induced currents that flow because of a nearby high voltage hit from lightning.

AC units and their chain of connected indoor units are like an antenna/collector.
but if aircon usage without thunderstorm no trip is still aircon issue? should be MCB liao tio bo?

DragonFire

but if aircon usage without thunderstorm no trip is still aircon issue? should be MCB liao tio bo?
This case MCB trip too, so I think there is a short somewhere maybe from water or animal ingress.

MCB can trip from lightning too - but i think should be pretty rare since induced currents are not usually so high - unless they cause a HV spark that bridges a relay contact or something.

Ethan_

Just curious, before all that, have the DB or outside main box been worked on or changed before or not first?

106gunner

images
Should be Aircon.

happened to me before. It was the motherboard in the outside compressor unit kaput. Had to wait 2 weeks for replacement. Hot months of June/July somemore...
Got motherboard meh? 🤔

Should be this gas tank where I uploaded where they call compressor

Outside unit is call condenser and the gas tank (compressor) is inside the condenser

Evil_Boss

By which breaker, I mean the earth leakage breaker, or the overload breaker?

The earth leakage breaker is the breaker with a "test" button. The overload breaker is one of many in a row, usually with 15A or 20A written on it.

If the earth leakage breaker trips, you have a short in the AC. Try turning off the isolator at the outdoor unit to see if you can reset the circuit.

You mentioned it tripped during a storm when it wasn't even in use. I suspect maybe water got into the isolator or power board of the AC unit because of a bad seal or something.

my earth breaker tripped.

what does it mean? its and old shop, but i just changed new aircon. is it the wires?

wongminmin

How chiu conclude the trip is due to aircon?
For troubleshooting, u can try to switch off ur aircon and unplug.... then see whether it still trip anot.

previously my newly installed aircon tripped few times... then we call the aircon tech to check..... no issue was found tho. Most likely, raining... the moisture/thunder cause the trip.....

Mecisteus

Air con use once or twice in a year. Definitely the problem is with the Aircon. Have to turn it on from time to time ...
I thought so too.

Very weird that you installed an aircon but hardly using it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.