do you feel the system is no longer being built for you?

cyke69sg

Singapore has always been on a "contribute or get lost" basis. It's never change, the thing that change is the people, the culture. Everyone wants a free meal these days.
Contribute? More like compete and win over others. Contribute to own account only. Not to the collective.

Dividends

Contribute? More like compete and win over others. Contribute to own account only. Not to the collective.
You can put it that way, but the collective benefits too in the end.

That's how capitalism works, it's not perfect, but it's the best we have. If the contributor doesn't benefit from their own work, then everyone would just lie flat, there's just no reason to work hard.

Elfblade

Moi realize this 30 years ago

Singapore cannot last anyway

GG in 2030

๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚
What comes after immense Progression? Stagnation followed by Regression. ๐Ÿค๐Ÿค

It's a vicious cycle that no Humans can stopped. Next Gen of Chao Sinkies, good luck. What we are seeing in Hong Kong, Japan and S. Korea will befall on Sinkapore sooner than later.

lalalalalala

What comes after immense Progression? Stagnation followed by Regression. ๐Ÿค๐Ÿค

It's a vicious cycle that no Humans can stopped. Next Gen of Chao Sinkies, good luck. What we are seeing in Hong Kong, Japan and S. Korea will befall on Sinkapore sooner than later.
Sg is worse off imo.

Japan korea etc have resources so still can sustain and export. Sg has no resource aside from human and maybe location for air travel.

But we import humans instead of use locals, and air travel imo will dwindle as plane tech improve to allow longer direct flights. Also our planes (SQ) are old, we are no longer the youngest fleet. Even sq planes got masking tape here and there. I used to be proud of sq when young. But now feel like they are just profit maxxing.

Our closest comparison used to be hk. But now hk is under china, the dynamics is different and they no longer have issues with resources aside from the locals insisting they want to stay in hkg island. Many have moved to shenzhen / zhuhai / overseas for better quality of life. Those hkg locals i think afew more gen no more already

sukukia

vote out pap, new garment will rebuild the system tailored for each individual sinkie...

Elfblade

Sg is worse off imo.

Japan korea etc have resources so still can sustain and export. Sg has no resource aside from human and maybe location for air travel.

But we import humans instead of use locals, and air travel imo will dwindle as plane tech improve to allow longer direct flights. Also our planes (SQ) are old, we are no longer the youngest fleet. Even sq planes got masking tape here and there. I used to be proud of sq when young. But now feel like they are just profit maxxing.

Our closest comparison used to be hk. But now hk is under china, the dynamics is different and they no longer have issues with resources aside from the locals insisting they want to stay in hkg island. Many have moved to shenzhen / zhuhai / overseas for better quality of life. Those hkg locals i think afew more gen no more already
Same for SG, aldy many Young Sinkies chose to leave SG and go elsewhere. I want to milk as much too and move out of SG when I retire. No sense of belonging here even though I served my 2.5 years of NS and 10 years of Reservist. Everything is so EXPENSIVE!

Lifeinmotion

No system is ever built for anyone. It's what anyone at that particular leadership time thinks how to move the country as a whole forward. There will always be causalities or people who "who moved my cheese". You want to discuss right or wrong - will that change anything ?

If the river water was diverted from you at your collection point. Do you move to where the new drop off is or stay put and hope for a new river to form in a million years.

As an SG person, your best chess move is your passport. Those who do business will know. You get a tonne of respect just talking and navigating issues. Make full use of it

TiedInsurer

I meant progress in uplifting blue collar.

What u call sacrificing the weakest, i see it as survival of the fittest. It isnt a corporation, it is part of nature and present everywhere in the world (SG is alrdy relatively much more humane i think).
I mean... when compared to developing countries, we are much better. At least we still have rudimentary worker's rights. But when compared to other developed countries, we are one of the worst.

TiedInsurer

If the river water was diverted from you at your collection point. Do you move to where the new drop of is or stay put and hope for a new river to form in a million years.
Sometimes the solution is to burn down the house of the guy who diverted the river water, then redivert it back. Or else that guy will keep screwing with you. Endless compromises and tolerance of bad behaviour is how people end up at the bottom of the pile.

Of course, not saying that SG has reached that stage. But some others (imo the USA) has reached it already.

hachi

as though you were just the fodder for the greedy machine
Don't know... I use the system to get free house and money... Like I always said... Game the system not the system game you...

Lifeinmotion

Sometimes the solution is to burn down the house of the guy who diverted the river water, then redivert it back. Or else that guy will keep screwing with you. Endless compromises and tolerance of bad behaviour is how people end up at the bottom of the pile.

Of course, not saying that SG has reached that stage. But some others (imo the USA) has reached it already.
We can't even get Ridout to be the new place for HDB instead of Clementi Forest.

No perfect world. People need to go fight their rights if they think their rice bowl is threaten instead of coming here jjww.

hachi

Singapore GG in 2030

Already said many times

Enjoy while it lasts or just run road

๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚
If you can predict then I am sure you will be fine everywhere else in the world... If not? Bs? Any references or link? Or just sch holiday? ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Said many times doesn't mean it will happen. Like I also said many times if I tio toto... I would buy an automatic gr yaris..

coyote

Bro just wrote the entire strategy game guide.

Singapore's game faq is as simple as that. We really have this government to thank. They have made things so simple and straight forward. If you fail a, then go to b, if not enough medisave or whatever, they will top up along the way... Will not get rich doing that but won't have no home to stay or no food to eat.

I read and followed the FF VII full FAQ + optional side quests... It's much more complicated. Those are the good training we need to learn and then plan ahead. Same goes to command and conquer zero hour. If you spend all your money building army to attack and not plan for harvesting and building up defence, you will be doomed. If you go in to fight the emerald weapon without preparation, you will surely die.

My friends and my wife always complained I think too much. Chinese saying, ไบบ็„ก้ ๆ…ฎๅฟ…ๆœ‰่ฟ‘ๆ†‚ใ€‚ Planning is key and thanks to gov, they already planned for you. Follow or not, everyone have to decide themselves.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.