Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Elon Jobs

The mee hun kuay here is not bad. RM8, I asked for no processed food, so minced meat and vegetables only. The grinded chilli is good, slightly sour which is to my liking.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/8Yc8BQto8iWUr8X16?g_st=ipc
I had breakfast alone as the son has tummy ache, so bought bao, I mean buns, back for the kids and MHK for the wife.

After checking out, we dropped by Southern medical Sutera to let the doctor take a look as he vomited after eating half a bun, I mean bao. Prescribed some anti vomiting medication. Service is as solid as always from SM. Total bill RM130, the wife claiming from insurance, later I upload receipt.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/N2N5zDmQNas71JmK6?g_st=ipc

He felt slightly better so we dropped by this exotic pet store at TUTA to cheer him up as he absolutely loves animals. The store not bad, really got a ton of animals we’ve never see before even at two other exotic pet shops in Johor Bahru (one opposite Aeon Tebrau, the other one next to Midvalley). We saw bamboo rats and meerkats, besides the usual snakes geckos lizards cats ducks hamsters Chinchilla Guinea pigs hedgehogs tortoises terrapins plus a faak ton of fishes, shrimps. Didn’t take photos as not sure if allowed, because usually such stores won’t allow. Here’s the link, store owner is a Chinese lady, quite friendly:
https://maps.app.goo.gl/Tgk19pAk1YEr94jk7?g_st=ipc

We made a quick stop at Bestmart because the wife needed a second cup of coffee and also to checkout school shoes and bags for the daughter. We then drove “cross island” over to Midvalley while the son slept in the backseat as the medicine kicked in and made him drowsy. Daughter also fell asleep on the while there due to a slight jam near checkpoint. End up, they three slept in the car while I made a quick trip to village grocer to find my tacos sauce and wrap.

Once the lift door opened, I’m confronted by what I missed the last two days at Sutera area- tons of Singaporeans with huge backpacks and luggages queueing at oriental coffee while each holding the iconic truly Singaporean only bright orange Verona bags. This is indeed the JB I know and remember!

Before checking in to space residency, we made our way to the orphanage to distribute Christmas presents for the 20 kids there. We have been doing this regularly since 2015. They accept donations as well, and they are located near KSL. If you donate near CNY, they will give you free red packets drawn and designed by the children there!
https://maps.app.goo.gl/WvFApNJuZZf8kg9C6?g_st=ipc

Next stop, the eagerly anticipated space residency!

SongManKranji

The mee hun kuay here is not bad. RM8, I asked for no processed food, so minced meat and vegetables only. The grinded chilli is good, slightly sour which is to my liking.
I had breakfast alone as the son has tummy ache, so bought bao, I mean buns, back for the kids and MHK for the wife.

After checking out, we dropped by Southern medical Sutera to let the doctor take a look as he vomited after eating half a bun, I mean bao. Prescribed some anti vomiting medication. Service is as solid as always from SM. Total bill RM130, the wife claiming from insurance, later I upload receipt.

He felt slightly better so we dropped by this exotic pet store at TUTA to cheer him up as he absolutely loves animals. The store not bad, really got a ton of animals we’ve never see before even at two other exotic pet shops in Johor Bahru (one opposite Aeon Tebrau, the other one next to Midvalley). We saw bamboo rats and meerkats, besides the usual snakes geckos lizards cats ducks hamsters Chinchilla Guinea pigs hedgehogs tortoises terrapins plus a faak ton of fishes, shrimps. Didn’t take photos as not sure if allowed, because usually such stores won’t allow. Here’s the link, store owner is a Chinese lady, quite friendly:

We made a quick stop at Bestmart because the wife needed a second cup of coffee and also to checkout school shoes and bags for the daughter. We then drove “cross island” over to Midvalley while the son slept in the backseat as the medicine kicked in and made him drowsy. Daughter also fell asleep on the while there due to a slight jam near checkpoint. End up, they three slept in the car while I made a quick trip to village grocer to find my tacos sauce and wrap.

Once the lift door opened, I’m confronted by what I missed the last two days at Sutera area- tons of Singaporeans with huge backpacks and luggages queueing at oriental coffee while each holding the iconic truly Singaporean only bright orange Verona bags. This is indeed the JB I know and remember!

Before checking in to space residency, we made our way to the orphanage to distribute Christmas presents for the 20 kids there. We have been doing this regularly since 2015. They accept donations as well, and they are located near KSL. If you donate near CNY, they will give you free red packets drawn and designed by the children there!

Pls review space residency.
Visiting orphanage giving to the less privilege good cause. 👍

Roastduck

Remember to keep your son’s hydrated with 100 plus to replenish the loss salt etc in his vomits.

It could be food poisoning due to unhygienic conditions of the food he consumed.

A nurse once told me to choose boiling hot food while in Malaysia.

I usually don’t patronise kopitiam with many food stalls as the hygiene is questionable.

I stopped going to a Zhi char shop at Bukit Indah as their kitchen is open concept and chances of rats roaming around their work top etc are high.

I only eat at shops that the kitchenshuttle down.

It isn’t guaranteed of rats free, but it is better than open concept kitchens or all the stalls at kopitiam.

Precovid, 郑爷爷 wtm was operating from one of the many stalls at a Bukit Indah kopitiam.

After one episode of food poisoning from eating that wtm, I stopped eating at stalls at kopitiam to be safe.

tiertime

Remember to keep your son’s hydrated with 100 plus to replenish the loss salt etc in his vomits.

It could be food poisoning due to unhygienic conditions of the food he consumed.

I usually don’t patronise kopitiam with many food stalls as the hygiene is questionable.

I stopped going to a Zhi char shop at Bukit Indah as their kitchen is open concept and chances of rats roaming around their work top etc are high.

It isn’t guaranteed of rats free, but it is better than open concept kitchens or all the stalls at kopitiam.

Precovid, 郑爷爷 wtm was operating from one of the many stalls at a Bukit Indah kopitiam.

After one episode of food poisoning from eating that wtm, I stopped eating at stalls at kopitiam to be safe.
Is it hao Zhu yi ?

Elon Jobs

Thanks for the advice roastduck sis, but I don’t think it’s food because all four of us shared the same food and the daughter is usually the one with the weakest stomach and vomit first if it’s unclean. We think he got it from one of the children at the indoor playground who was coughing quite badly and playing in the sand pit with him. No choice, this is life.

And we try not to be too overprotective of our children and put them in a bubble. We frequent many coffeeshops partly because we want to train them a bit- dirty eat, dirty grow up; but mainly we want to show them good food doesn’t have to be expensive, expensive food doesn’t mean it’s good.

During our last staycation, we even had dinner at Jalan Sutera the night time street food. It was really quite funny when it started drizzling and kind Malaysians saw us with two kids and helped us shift our table from the road onto the pavement walkway! It was really quite an experience eating slightly drenched barbecue chicken wings which will never ever be replicated in Singapore.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/jNajq54nQ4APAayZ8?g_st=ipc

Elon Jobs

Sorry for late update as yesterday quite tired whole day driving around and playing with the boy at indoor playground again. Slept early last night.

From the orphanage, it was a short 2 minute drive to space residency. I parked the car at the drop off (the guard say it’s okay) while waiting for the person to arrive with the keys. I was quite surprised because usually Airbnb is ownself take keys from the mailbox.

While waiting, I went inside to take some photos for you guys. This is the only shop that’s opened currently and it’s a PRC convenience store. Precovid I’m pretty sure it will be a 7-11 or family mart, but no choice, Johor Bahru also not immune to the influx of China shops.

Spoke to a management guy in polo tee who was overseeing some renovation work and he told me this drain thing in the middle of the lobby is actually train tracks! Quite interesting concept, the train is for both adults and kids. He said it will be ready in a couple of months, so will the other shops in the lobby. They are projected to be up and running before CNY.

When the Airbnb person arrived to pass me the key, it was like a Pakistani guy who spoke good English and from the picture, he was holding keys to like 15-20 rooms! There was a queue of us waiting for the keys from him. Very interesting concept. He is not the same person from the Airbnb messenger. He’s quite a nice guy and told me he’s working for the management company and I can WhatsApp him if there’s issues with the room.

According to the security guard whom I chatted briefly with, the guys with all the keys is working at one of the offices at space residency itself, so you can collect the keys anytime from him until even like 9pm. I’m quite surprised.

I saw this sign on our door so I think this is the management group? https://www.airbnb.co.uk/rooms/1562853249483704394?viralityEntryPoint=1&s=76
I went back to my Airbnb booking and check out the host profile and saw that she has over 50 listings there. Majority is KL but there’s 12 different space residency units.

This is the view from the gym, you can literally run on the treadmill and count the number of Singaporeans queuing up at PMX dim sum at the same time.

Exploring the place at level 12 I saw this. The damage looks quite bad. Hopefully no one was hurt.

Okay, morning chit done, weather is good, walking downstairs to buy my RM2.60 kopi O kosong and update the rest of the space residency from Yu Ee century.

Andrew833

Sorry for late update as yesterday quite tired whole day and playing with the boy at indoor playground again. Slept early last night.

From the orphanage, it was a short 2 minute drive to space residency. I parked the car at the drop off (the guard say it’s okay) while waiting for the person to arrive with the keys. I was quite surprised because usually Airbnb is ownself take keys from the mailbox.

While waiting, I went inside to take some photos for you guys. This is the only shop that’s opened currently and it’s a PRC convenience store. Precovid I’m pretty sure it will be a 7-11 or family mart, but no choice, Johor Bahru also not immune to the influx of China shops.

Spoke to a management guy in polo tee who was overseeing some renovation work and he told me this drain thing in the middle of the lobby is actually train tracks! Quite interesting concept, the train is for both adults and kids. He said it will be ready in a couple of months, so will the other shops in the lobby. They are projected to be up and running before CNY.

When the Airbnb person arrived to pass me the key, it was like a Pakistani guy who spoke good English and from the picture, he was holding keys to like 15-20 rooms! There was a queue of us waiting for the keys from him. Very interesting concept. He is not the same person from the Airbnb messenger. He’s quite a nice guy and told me he’s working for the management company and I can WhatsApp him if there’s issues with the room.

According to the security guard whom I chatted briefly with, the guys with all the keys is working at one of the offices at space residency itself, so you can collect the keys anytime from him until even like 9pm. I’m quite surprised.

I saw this sign on our door so I think this is the management group? https://www.airbnb.co.uk/rooms/1562853249483704394?viralityEntryPoint=1&s=76
I went back to my Airbnb booking and check out the host profile and saw that she has over 50 listings there. Majority is KL but there’s 12 different space residency units.

This is the view from the gym, you can literally run on the treadmill and count the number of Singaporeans queuing up at PMX dim sum at the same time.

Exploring the place at level 12 I saw this. The damage looks quite bad. Hopefully no one was hurt.

Okay, morning chit done, weather is good, walking downstairs to buy my RM2.60 kopi O kosong and update the rest of the space residency from Yu Ee century.
When I'm in Melaka, I saw Malay looking guy holding keys, airbnb tenant will collect key at the counter where the guard is seated. I think under group management for airbnb owners. When booking Airbnb, you can see the brand or name of the management.

SongManKranji

When I'm in Melaka, I saw Malay looking guy holding keys, airbnb tenant will collect key at the counter where the guard is seated. I think under group management for airbnb owners. When booking Airbnb, you can see the brand or name of the management.
I rem setia 88, collect key is opp, must cross road. Pakistani chap will pass you the keys. ha ha :grin:
But Setia 88, pls choose blk A, their other blocks no linkage, so if raining tua ki. :grin:

Elon Jobs

The most important update for the entire staycation- the bidet is still intact!

There’s this opening inside the toilet. Weird. There’s no ventilation fan, just this window and a lot of dust travel in due to the multiple renovation going on.

Toilet paper holder, from my experience confirm will not last. Will surely start rusting soon.

There’s dust from the door stopper below the opened toilet window.

The good news is they install the U shape thing Ago talked about previously so no sewage smell like Susanna suites. The bad news is because of that drain thing the water flow becomes damn slow and will flood the entire shower area. No shower curtain too, so toilet bowl area will be wet.

This is the amount of dust at the laundry service yard. Personally, those will asthma and sensitive nose, I won’t recommend you guys to stay here until majority of the renovations are completed.

Elon Jobs

There’s 6 lifts, 3 serves until 36th floor, the other 3 serves 37th to the top floor 58th. Checking in time the lift wait time still okay, but a lot of contractors use them to move stuff as well. But still 100 times better than KSL residence.

Got one lift is specifically for the tiles and stuff, very dusty and dirty, best to avoid this lift after swimming.

We stayed at tower A, this is the number of units with lights on at opposite tower B around 10.30pm last night. Still many empty units. Once everyone move in, I expect the lift situation to become worse.

This is their second door, very cheap and not sound proof. Can hear our next door unit coming back and talking around 11pm.

It’s a dual key unit, so there’s a main door and then 2 seperate doors. I’m surprised they are still not using digital locks.

Not sure why but for owners’ occupied units, need to paste this sign big big on the main door.

One thing I don’t like is there’s a key card and a bunch of keys. Very bulky for me. Not used to it.

Guess which floors are missing?

There’s an open hole inside the lift control panel.

SongManKranji

The most important update for the entire staycation- the bidet is still intact!

There’s this opening inside the toilet. Weird. There’s no ventilation fan, just this window and a lot of dust travel in due to the multiple renovation going on.

Toilet paper holder, from my experience confirm will not last. Will surely start rusting soon.

There’s dust from the door stopper below the opened toilet window.

The good news is they install the U shape thing Ago talked about previously so no sewage smell like Susanna suites. The bad news is they install water flow becomes damn slow and will flood the entire shower area. No shower curtain too, so toilet bowl area will be wet.

This is the amount of dust at the laundry service yard. Personally, those will asthma and sensitive nose, I won’t recommend you guys to stay here until majority of the renovations are completed.
Ok consperm out for me. Anyway moi empress says no to Airbnb aldy. 😁

Elon Jobs

These pictures are from this morning when I went to buy breakfast.

There’s actually another TCM store besides the China convenience shop I saw yesterday.

This is the train tracks from yesterday picture. Still in the construction phase.

I managed to find a shortcut! From the space residency lift lobby you can actually cut across and take the escalator down one floor to Novotel! Saved me a ton of time and walking.

No business, likely due to poor reviews on Google maps. Got slight improvement, now is 3/5 stars. Maybe Song bro can bring his empress there.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/ZkJF9N11NBMVfQU56?g_st=ipc

9am traffic warden already early bird catching the worms.

Yit Fong was closed, Yu Ee century WTM also closed, so tried this store for the wife and daughter. She said okay lor, can eat.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/u1qeSUTY6CAum1zc7?g_st=ipc

Walked to Restoran multi mart to have my breakfast, and you can see the queue forming outside PMX at 9.20am. Singaporeans are really crazy over food. Personally, I don’t feel it’s that good or cheap to worth my time in Johor Bahru queueing.

https://maps.app.goo.gl/fagJhiYfzW3KxMUNA?g_st=ipc
This was our dinner yesterday at Bottega. As a driver, I don’t like the place because need to ownself park on grass near the landed. Luckily there’s no rain. I feel the food okay only for the price. The pizza really average. Perhaps it’s my own expectation from reading the 5 star Google maps reviews, was expecting pizza I had from this place.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/uCSYTFJsnLg8VBpk8?g_st=ipc
We were surrounded by Singaporeans who arrived via Grab and each carrying the bright orange Verona bags. The buns seriously so good meh?

Walked back to space residency and saw one lift already broken down (the 37-59th floor row). That’s not a good sign.

Elon Jobs

More photos from this morning at level 12 (need key card). Very windy and cloudy earlier this morning.

The children playground is taped up, not sure why.

Singaporeans queuing for dim sum at 10am.

They are building something at the blue roof area. 10 years ago, I remember it’s my go to for supper. It was quite a nice late night supper place, then they tore it down out of the blue and left it empty. Now finally building something.

Can see Singapore! I think it’s Sembawang if I’m not wrong.

The rain shower head already rusty.

They are busy fixing the hole in the room I saw yesterday. One person working, three cyclops, LOL.😂

Elon Jobs

Aaagogo

there was a queue at the first corner stall, for RM88/10kg Pahang MSW at "Durian Street" Nusa Bestari TF Mart

this was earlier today

7a051fe2-6158-4dec-8acd-1aabd30501c8.jpg

only_lonely

I going to JB this weekend. Rent Airbnb R&F princess cove. The owner said got free carpark.
Anyone been there? Is the carpark shared with the shopping mall?

SongManKranji

Brother, you already call her empress, not Cinderella, what you expect? Don’t say bidet never got stolen, your empress sure expect golden bidet if not her chit cannot come out.
1f602.png
the last stay at mid valley southkey she dun like.
I usually bring my own Bidget head unless it's a 5 star hotel. Gentings Bidget most terok. 😁 Unless u stay crockford 😂

Life is v short. Ai song song kao tuas & Changi.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.