Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Elon Jobs

New entertainment establishment just opened next to NYX.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/Jk1RG2nRVV5aEstw5?g_st=ipc
Drove past on my way to car wash, quite happening, a lot of sports cars.

Car wash here is very good. RM20 for my car. Bad thing is you have to pay RM3 gentry parking to wash car.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/qsmuBApady5XQzpAA?g_st=ipc

Took a walk while waiting for car to be ready and saw this prawning place. Quite popular, full house on a Thursday 11pm. RM120 for 3 hours.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/znD6ugo1ey47s6uk7?g_st=ipc

Saw this new burger joint and decided to give it a try. RM12.90 plus RM4 for a drink. Business is good, several orders ahead of me, need to wait 20 minutes.
Burger taste good, I like. It’s like those New York smash burger style. Can give it a try if you’re at Mount Austin for supper.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/NsVa7mmkdedKEZ5L6?g_st=ipc

Roastduck

Just saw fireworks from Manhattan condominium at midnight, not sure what’s the occasion. I’ve stayed here five times and this is the third timeI’ve seen fireworks. Not the place to be if you’re a light sleeper.

It seems you are hopping around jb. 😜
Can consider to give Bukit Indah a try in your next stop.
Sky view location is quite good with the famous Tian Lai seafood, Chinese chef roti prata and hai Ke kopi, street you tiao and Hao Zhu yi.
Morning market behind Yi Jia seafood from Friday to Sunday morning.
Can drive to Sunway big box and Sunway citrine mall has a cat cafe.

Andrew833

Just saw fireworks from Manhattan condominium at midnight, not sure what’s the occasion. I’ve stayed here five times and this is the third timeI’ve seen fireworks. Not the place to be if you’re a light sleeper.

Then Christmas, New year and CNY, don't go JB. Firework daily past midnight. Difficult to sleep.

Aaagogo

malaysia no need special occasion to set off fireworks. could be just someone celebrating their birthday

Habrosus

malaysia no need special occasion to set off fireworks. could be just someone celebrating their birthday
Yup, have seen more than enough fireworks while staying in various hotels, with no festive season in the midst. Except ya, someone's birthday, I guess.

Aaagogo

Then Christmas, New year and CNY, don't go JB. Firework daily past midnight. Difficult to sleep.

i would say, at least go once, and preferably you get a place that has unblocked or minimally blocked view.

the experience of hundreds of fireworks going off for 1 hour is surreal. the sound delays, the smell, the view,

it's very triggering... first time i saw it off the 15th floor sky garden at the jb condo, i got a little PTSD about 20 minutes in, triggered a weird war time feeling, sound like non stop firearms :oops:

Andrew833

i would say, at least go once, and preferably you get a place that has unblocked or minimally blocked view.

the experience of hundreds of fireworks going off for 1 hour is surreal. the sound delays, the smell, the view,

it's very triggering... first time i saw it off the 15th floor sky garden at the jb condo, i got a little PTSD about 20 minutes in, triggered a weird war time feeling, sound like non stop firearms :oops:
New year countdown, go Sutera. Every where got people shooting fireworks. I was searching for my grab (park some where), 1 stupid guy fire toward us, we are at carpark! My wife very scare. This more feel like war, at condo 15 floor, you won't feel the same :LOL:

Elon Jobs

It seems you are hopping around jb. 😜
Can consider to give Bukit Indah a try in your next stop.
Sky view location is quite good with the famous Tian Lai seafood, Chinese chef roti prata and hai Ke kopi, street you tiao and Hao Zhu yi.
Morning market behind Yi Jia seafood from Friday to Sunday morning.
Can drive to Sunway big box and Sunway citrine mall has a cat cafe.
Yeah, Sutera, KSL, Tebrau. Going back later. Yeah I did consider Bukit Indah, but the Sky Tree/Sky View need to walk 10 minutes to Aeon BI and quite noisy if facing the highway. Relative to Space Residency or Sutera Mall, most likely we need to drive which defeats the purpose of staying nearby.

As for morning/night markets, the wife and I both like to walk walk see see, but our staycation dates we try to avoid weekends during school holidays, therefore we will miss out on quite a number of such markets. Maybe when the kids are older we can consider. Now it’s just us dragging them two along for the ride.

As for Sunway area, I did some research before because Sunway Grid is a viable Airbnb. But the activities there are for older kids- karting, horse riding, energy gym etc, so I’m sure when the kids are older, we will plan a stay there and finally get to try the famous Dona cafe. Perhaps by then the owner will be lao Lian already.

Elon Jobs

Yeah my mother this kind sure cannot. The kids and wife slept like dogs because over tired from walking and shopping and indoor playground the entire day (no nap). Last night, after I post those images at 12am, there’s another fireworks at 12.20am and another one at 12.45am before I fell asleep. I wonder if there’s a time limit? @Ago, what’s the latest you’ve heard fireworks? 2am?

Elon Jobs

earlier this year during CNY, experienced my first eye level fireworks exploding, very very different viewing angle

someone from the condo was setting them off right outside the condo and the height lined up perfectly

https://streamable.com/hok8sw
Is there a fire hazard? Because I remember when I was young my parents told me fireworks were banned in Singapore coz last time kampung houses everytime catch fire from fire crackers.

Andrew833

Yeah my mother this kind sure cannot. The kids and wife slept like dogs because over tired from walking and shopping and indoor playground the entire day (no nap). Last night, after I post those images at 12am, there’s another fireworks at 12.20am and another one at 12.45am before I fell asleep. I wonder if there’s a time limit? @Ago, what’s the latest you’ve heard fireworks? 2am?
No time limit, happy fire, neighbor fire, I also want to fire - this kind of attitude :ROFLMAO:

Aaagogo

not sure if it was pass 2am but definitely pass 1am, and a few times, from different direction; as in sometimes the sound comes from balcony, sometimes from kitchen, sometimes from main door direction

Aaagogo

Is there a fire hazard? Because I remember when I was young my parents told me fireworks were banned in Singapore coz last time kampung houses everytime catch fire from fire crackers.

yes, fire hazard but #malaysiaboleh. just make sure got people infront or around you as human shield can liao.

people hands get blown off, news from america during july 4th, all sorts of pyrotechnic accidents.

at the balcony, some residents stand right at the railing to watch that firework. i was about 5 steps back, so in case any incoming shrapnel, they can help me block some and i only held the camera directly facing the fireworks, my body was turned to the side and i only looked directly at it for a handful of explosions, 95% of that clip, i wasn't lookin at that fireworks.

oh, and the dystopian feeling hits when the sound from the distant fireworks finally reach my ears. most guys here have experienced the sound from live firing exercises, it sounds like that but weirder because of the consistency, duration and the amount of sounds you hear, the interference pattern coupled with doppler shift. this is happening over 1 hour, and feeling is intensified when there are no nearby explosions that drowns out those incoming far away ones, then the visuals of the distant fireworks and the sounds you hear starts to go out of sync... it's really really dystopian to me.

tiertime

No.
Hao Zhu Yi kitchen is shuttle down
It is the other Zhi char near by Hao Zhu Yi
Not many dining in.
Most of its orders were online grab food
Saw many delivery guys hanging around the shop
Shuttle down ? Meaning they not open ?

I was planning to go there last weekend but halfway on bus there was HEAVY Downpour so we had to choose AEON , supposedly safer to alight there, but main road was still ponding to ankle level

Do u knw when they will reopen for business ?

SongManKranji

New year countdown, go Sutera. Every where got people shooting fireworks. I was searching for my grab (park some where), 1 stupid guy fire toward us, we are at carpark! My wife very scare. This more feel like war, at condo 15 floor, you won't feel the same
:LOL:
@potato13 let's gather all the fireworks. Your raptor & my lorries think can fire 24/7. Huat ah.
Get @RyanJ do some pro shoots. 😁
@Meemoosaa pls bring paos 🤣🤣

Life is v short. Ai song song kao tuas & Changi.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.