CPF interest coming tonight

testerjp

No leh, wages go in still split between the 3 account. For the amount that goes into SA, will still go into SA even if hit the FRS. For the amount that goes into MA, it will flow to OA. For the amount that goes into OA, will still go into OA.
Don't know leh, i asked AI it says this so i'm confused

• MA at BHS + SA already set aside FRS → SA cannot take more overflow.
  • Excess CPF from wages spills into OA, earning 2.5% p.a.

KnyghtRyder

dun understand why they must transfer MA interests to SA every year....

lb80ogp.png
They going by principle.

compro_1975

I was thinking for people who are getting 60k in interest, can they just draw the monthly interest for a living instead of touching the principal?

Slowdown

Yup.and int rate is counted based on the lowest balance in jan 2026. Say ur balance is 20k, u draw out 1000 then put in 1500. Ur balance is 20500, but interest rate calculation take only $19K not 20500.
If I understand correctly, the lowest balance (in your use case) is 20K, not 19K. I believe there were discussion on this topic and someone wrote to CPF Board to clarify. I believe the answer is that CPF Board will consider all the inflow and outflow of the month to find the net flow. Inflow need not be ahead of outflow. Just need to be in the same month. So in your case, the net flow for the month is positive 500. Since contribution for that month is ignored, the lowest balance is still 20K.

fandango

I was thinking for people who are getting 60k in interest, can they just draw the monthly interest for a living instead of touching the principal?
But the interest is only issued on 1st Jan of every year.

Therefore, you can technically withdraw the example of $60k interest, and not touch the principle.

Yesterday @orwell76 had a post on this.

jackiehuat

If I understand correctly, the lowest balance (in your use case) is 20K, not 19K. I believe there were discussion on this topic and someone wrote to CPF Board to clarify. I believe the answer is that CPF Board will consider all the inflow and outflow of the month to find the net flow. Inflow need not be ahead of outflow. Just need to be in the same month. So in your case, the net flow for the month is positive 500. Since contribution for that month is ignored, the lowest balance is still 20K.
Contributions earn interest from the following month, but withdrawals cease earning interest from the current month. It is not based on the lowest.

https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/articles/nav/investing/investing-in-t-bills

jinsatkilife

But the interest is only issued on 1st Jan of every year.

Therefore, you can technically withdraw the example of $60k interest, and not touch the principle.

Yesterday @orwell76 had a post on this.
do the interest compound monthly? or they just take lowest balance for each month, then they add them all up by applying 2.5 -4%

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.