Another fren lost his jod

Multiversal

if that happens, u will have a good show to see lol

We have 3 neighbours who can be reached within an hour if you we wish to spend CNY there.... vacationing.

One has an army which seems like a joke. The other has an army which is not a joke.

Zze121

as a sinkie, jod has no security, work as long company keeps me
i'm surprise ts said "they won't protect our jods"
we r asked to upgrade, that solve the problem ? i dunno
start familee need careful planning, cos the back-up is only u yrself

windwaver

heard that people say having kids is the most fulfilling experience
josephineteofeat.jpg

MoeLanYong

TS misjudged the sentiment on edmw. edmw bros, some already out of job in 40s, many still bbfa, some got good professional job but still can't find so talking about how to buy wife, now TS says friend with 1 wife + 2 kids got retrenched mid-50s. of cos angry lah. :confused:

I open thread tell people my fren in 50s with wife and 2 kids lost his jod. You no sympathy nevermind, Jelly till angry and say I misjudged sentiments. You ho seh boh? Need to be so toxic just because someone lost his jod?

majestixv3

Any working adult should seriously plan for their working life to be cut short unexpectedly in the modern world. Not all would be having a job until retirement age as wished.

In the younger days, one should save up gradually and build a decent retirement nest gradually.

I see so many max out their mortgage loan, car loan , whatever loans thinking their jobs are always secured until 60s. When a retrenchment hits, suddenly they are living paycheck to paycheck.
But ... But .. debt is good!

glarerder

Mid 50s means already worked for at least 30 year. If bought hdb in his 30s or 40s the cost would be manageable and would have fully paid off. If bought condo can sell at all time high and downgrade.

Also can withdraw cpf already.

Take it as retirement comes 7-8 years early.

yet another boliao thread by TS. Does TS talk about any of his frens who are better off than him?
If no wedding cost, no bride cost, no car cost, no children cost, maybe. But if all of that add up and mid 50s haven't reach 20k like edmwers, probably still paying for house on top of the rest

Lchlch

Mid 50s. Wife not working. 2 kids below 12 y.o. His AMDK boss toxic, pressure him till he resign.

Seriously, how they expect us to have chewren when they won't protect our jods?

Like this who feed the kids?
i think our government cant do anything especially if coy toxcity forced your friend to throw letter.

glarerder

imo in sg must hv kids as early as possible... struggle a bit nvm... less toys.. less clothes is ok one... bt is common for ppl like to wait until stable to start family...

by then mid late 30s liaoo... v short run way le... work a bit more will reach the high risk retrenchment age.... bt their kid still in pri sch... :( :( :( v stressful life sinkies hv...
Huat chiu rike tat :( make it sound like stop at 2 is a dumb policy :crazy: ...instead of improving the infrastructure to cater to the population, they reduce the population so as not to stress the infrastructure..

Unic0rn

For ppl with such mentality better dun start family unless born with silver spoon.
Brudder, born with a set of solid gold spoons 🥄 encrusted with sapphire, topaz, ruby, diamonds and many other precious gems stones until basically the set of spoons is impractical for usage as an utensils 🍴

MoeLanYong

i think our government cant do anything especially if coy toxcity forced your friend to throw letter.
agree with unker LCH 🙏 🙏

For me, AMDK means probably FT. Yes, company didnt force him to resign. Toxic AMDK boss did. Because there are no red lines.

MOM should set up red lines. Companies are managed by MOM via Compass.

Compass is a point system for companies to comply with should they want to hire an employment pass holder. There are 6 categories. MOM can set up a 7th to protect older workers above 50. No older workers in company, deduct points.

https://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/employment-pass/eligibility

You 2 will reach 50 one day. FTs are freely available and you too will lose your jods to them. It is a matter of when, not if. I hope you are prepared.

babysimba

The ironic thing is many boomers have little compassion for the younger generation and think the younger ones have it easier. When everyone is in the same situation regarding job security and cost of living which has spillover effects to marriage/kids.

TA20222025

Mid 50s. Wife not working. 2 kids below 12 y.o. His AMDK boss toxic, pressure him till he resign.

Seriously, how they expect us to have chewren when they won't protect our jods?

Like this who feed the kids?
Your thread title is very misleading.

Your friend didn't "lose" his job. He quit on his own accord.

Yes, you can say your friend is a victim blah blah blah, but is this your friend's first corporate job? If he has been working for over 30 years and he doesn't even know to navigate his own career, I have nothing to say. He is in 50s with dependants, if he can't even get his priorities over his emotions right, it is no wonder he can be easily pressured to submit.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.