M1 FIBRE BROADBAND DISCUSSION - Part 2

jiahao99

Hi, im moving into my new bto and am planning to get M1 6gbps with tplink BE805. will placing the router at the red spot be able to cover the whole house?

or is it better to have 2 router set-up? 1 in db box, 1 at red spot?

twosix

Hi, im moving into my new bto and am planning to get M1 6gbps with tplink BE805. will placing the router at the red spot be able to cover the whole house?

5rm? The router location is good. Should not be a problem.

ianonline

is that a speedtest ? They do it directly from ONT, right ? I don't need to set up my router first, right ?
Signal check and speed test, for the router usually the techs are kind enough to help you set it up, like setting wifi name and passwords

Descay

Hi all,

I managed to purchase a brand‑new, sealed TP‑Link BE805 router for $200 from an M1 authorised reseller today.

The reseller guy shared with me M1 is planning to discontinue providing the TP‑Link BE805 router for new broadband sign‑ups in the next few months. I’m not sure how accurate this information is, but just sharing it here for awareness.

ianonline

If it's a new BTO, high chance you have provisions for individual ethernet ports in each room. You can just have the ONT at the DB BOX, then the router in your room, or better, ONT and Router in the DB BOX, then additional WIRED MESH access points to each room (or room 2 Only), then add more wired units as needed.

jiahao99

5rm? The router location is good. Should not be a problem.
4rm :)
If it's a new BTO, high chance you have provisions for individual ethernet ports in each room. You can just have the ONT at the DB BOX, then the router in your room, or better, ONT and Router in the DB BOX, then additional WIRED MESH access points to each room (or room 2 Only), then add more wired units as needed.
yup new BTO. i was initially thinking of using mesh setup (1 unit at DB, 1 unit at BR2), but i saw some comments saying mesh wouldn't work well in a small hdb unit and a single router is sufficient :confused:

twosix

yup new BTO. i was initially thinking of using mesh setup (1 unit at DB, 1 unit at BR2), but i saw some comments saying mesh wouldn't work well in a small hdb unit and a single router is sufficient :confused:
No need mesh. Mine is 5rm and totally no problem with WiFi.

ianonline

Why will it not work well in a small hdb unit?

Having more access point is actually good, especially with high speed connection...
Long time ago, it's common practice to have 2 separate SID (wifi name) to separate 5ghz and 2.4 ghz. but with the latest trend, it is now combined into one WIFI Name with the access point deciding which one is best for you based on your location. (aka Band Steering) so yeah by default you'll still get a good signal even if you are in some nook places because the access point has switched your connection to the 2.4 ghz, which is long range and more permeable to walls and obstacle.

Coaster

I have up to May for my contract to expire and eligible for recontract. Thinking of getting the 3GB for $32/-. Should wait for Comex or IT Show to renew better ?

twosix

I have up to May for my contract to expire and eligible for recontract. Thinking of getting the 3GB for $32/-. Should wait for Comex or IT Show to renew better ?
Get whatever is the cheapest. If 10gb is $29.90, grab. If comes with free router even better. Dun mind the speed, even if u dun need it or ur current hardware dun support. The cheaper the better is what u should aim for.

jiahao99

Why will it not work well in a small hdb unit?

Having more access point is actually good, especially with high speed connection...
Long time ago, it's common practice to have 2 separate SID (wifi name) to separate 5ghz and 2.4 ghz. but with the latest trend, it is now combined into one WIFI Name with the access point deciding which one is best for you based on your location. (aka Band Steering) so yeah by default you'll still get a good signal even if you are in some nook places because the access point has switched your connection to the 2.4 ghz, which is long range and more permeable to walls and obstacle.
i see... thanks for sharing. i might try using 1 first, if needed then i'll buy another router off carousell

ianonline

i see... thanks for sharing. i might try using 1 first, if needed then i'll buy another router off carousell

yeah, that is a good idea. upgrade on as needed basis.

Right now you can do
ONT (in DB) >>>>>> Router in your room

In the future you can consider doing

ONT + Router in DB >>>>>>>>>> Mesh Nodes in rooms.
You can consider Deco Mesh, they are quite advance and are budget friendly.

laksa2003

who say one...

i live in 4rm hdb, the long type one.. i got 3 deco mesh be65 (2 bedroom , 1 dining ) and 1 old asus router as access point (kitchen)
i go pangsai at toilet also got strong wifi.

laksa2003

That is correct, because now you are limited to the speed of your router.

You are only as fast as the slowest port.

Also remember, there are older CAT cables that can only support 1gbps, so even if you have 2 10gbps port, it’s the cat cable that decides

ONT: Nice meeting you Router, i can do 10gbps
Router: Sorry ONT i can only do 2.5gbps
ONT: It’s okay, let’s do 2.5gbps then
ONT/Router: Hey CAT cable, you can do 2.5gbps right?
CAT: I’m only CAT5E, at most i can do 1gbps
Then they all agree to do 1gbps.

in reality though, before the ont and router talk, it’s the cat cable who carries the message of negotiation, and if you are asking a boomer CAT cable to carry a genZ message, the cat cable may not be able to deliver that message correctly, so the genz ont and router will try to adjust their “language” until the boomer CAT cable can understand and deliver the correct one. Once they figure out the language the CAT cable can understand and deliver, they stick to that
Hey Boomer!! time to upgrade! :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

ianonline

Hey Boomer!! time to upgrade! :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Sometimes when we go eat at the kopi shop, some auntie roam around and ask if we want some drink? The auntie can be the Cable... the customer is the ONT... the uncle at the drink stall is the Router...

The customer then ordered a Venti, iced, white chocolate mocha with soy milk, no whip, extra caramel drizzle, 3 pumps of vanilla, 2 pumps of hazelnut, and 4 ristretto shots, served at exactly 60 C.....
o_O
nvm auntie, just give me kopi o...
ahhh, kopi o, okay 1.20

gapboy

same offer back:

HomePac 6Gbps​

Login below to view exclusive discounts & promotions!
This plan comes with:

• 24 mths HomePac 6Gbps
  • Choose 1 for free:
  • TP-Link Archer BE805
  • ASUS RT-BE92U
  • Or top up $12/mth for ASUS ZenWiFi BT10
  • Free registration (worth $61.04)
  • Free ONT Activation for all time slots (worth up to $123.41)
  • Free Home Fixed Voice Service
  • Free 24 mths Mobile Broadband (Bespoke SurfValue)
  • If the router you’re looking for is not shown, it is out of stock. Visit any M1 Shop for additional router availability.
$39.9

This offer is valid until 3 March 2026.

just installed the new router with 6Gbps plan. the technician asked if i wanted to combine all 3 frequencies together, he said it is recommended to. Previously my 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz were separate frequencies which I can choose between. Should I combine or separate the 3 frequencies?

firesong

just installed the new router with 6Gbps plan. the technician asked if i wanted to combine all 3 frequencies together, he said it is recommended to. Previously my 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz were separate frequencies which I can choose between. Should I combine or separate the 3 frequencies?
It's up to you.

Mine are combined so it's just one SSID, every connects to the right frequency. No concerns since it works well.

Modern devices have been optimised, and if you configure your APs correctly with Band Steering set up and the power optimised, it shouldn't be an issue.

There are many here who insist on separation. Because in the past devices were stupider and would just default to the slower bands. Or in some cases, because it's misconfigured such that the 2.4Ghz band is too strong, devices fall to that rather than use faster bands.

To each their own.

ianonline

No hard rule on this one.

you can take advantage of fast roaming/switching on a combined SSID.

BUT, the way most of the device work is they choose the one that has a better signal.... they don't by default choose the 5ghz or higher... and in most cases 2.4Ghz will always have the strongest signal in cases where the router or access point is outside the current room you are in.

all my devices can connect to 5 ghz, so i have turned off 2.4 entirely. I have a different ssid primarily for the cameras and IoTs... and my phone is not set to connect to it.. so unless you have older devices, you can turn off 2.4 in your main wifi, and have a dedicated ssid exclusively for IoT's

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.