jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Is it getting hot these past couple of weeks ? Missing the cooler weather on Dec and Jan
warmer maybe due to more direct sun (less cloudly) but really breezy where i run.
So don't really feel the increase temp after body start to sweat after 10mins or so. Still very comfortable to run even in mid morning.

Standard ba......nearly mid Feb already.

Need to be early morning before 7am or late at night after 10pm if really wanna feel cool.

Then in April, nothing works, is either %$!@#$% warm high heat index or somewhat warm even at 6am or 11pm.

Only lucky thing is that i dont really perspire much (anyway not long distance also lah), not until shorts also become soaking wet, and definitely not the shoes. Nowadays is at most is top 1/4 to half of it wet, and the arms visibly wet.

WussRedXLi

Seems like gym also not too different from other sports. Not surprising if you think about it.

Imbalanced/weak hammies and glutes causing knee pain, well away from the actual site. Or hip / ankle immobility, also well away from the actual site.

I mean, how many runners or cyclists here specifically train hamstrings directly/indirectly one.......not saying you jitao go hoot nordic curls, but at least do some band work lah Save some rare few who deadlift well over 1 BW so at least got some basic effect for posterior chain. (actually i believe i have come across multiple sites saying is still insufficient for injury prevention and any serious athletic carry over)

WussRedXLi

@xllms

Pertaining the earlier post.......is it coz of the reasons stated here?

I guess it might be ok for general maintenance for health for the general fitness cohort ba.

Anyway, i just did 55.........non broken. Still feel pretty ok. But i stopped, coz later got LT2 session. 🤣
But then, for cyclists even the beginner road cyclist , this shd generally be pretty easy

edit - but really best to do single leg versions. The lazy limb effect is pretty real.......before i trained biilaterally and then switched to unilateral, wah lan, the differences in bilateral muscular strength initially was unreal. (no wonder leading to pain and stuff, your body then tries its best to compensate before it breaks)

xllms

@xllms

I guess it might be ok for general maintenance for health for the general fitness cohort ba.

Anyway, i just did 55.........non broken. Still feel pretty ok. But i stopped, coz later got LT2 session. 🤣
But then, for cyclists even the beginner road cyclist , this shd generally be pretty easy

Thank you for sharing. Saw this before, will keep in mind and mix it up with my current squats, planks and wall half squats

WussRedXLi

Actually for twice, just outside the fitness area park users (real grandpa/grandma doing those group exercises) did give somewhat disgusting looks at my "slamming" the OHP log press station. Bo bian, i train to last rep maciam like 5-10X slower or even isometric holds. But no confrontation, they can give dirty looks i no issue.

Fitness area fellow strengthening / cali bros totally bo chup tho...... (also got BT speaker blasting lol). 🤣
Actually some also "bang" the pull up bar with explosive moves, though of coz not so loud but affects more on neighbouring same station users but it's all good.

Anyway, i think pickle ball lagi more disturbing.

WussRedXLi

Thank you for sharing. Saw this before, will keep in mind and mix it up with my current squats, planks and wall half squats

I think and IMO try as much as possible, at least for lower body, to do the single leg versions. Shd generally be fine (coz the "sufficient" strength part somewhat built in already).

jeffprobst

Actually for twice, just outside the fitness area park users (real grandpa/grandma doing those group exercises) did give somewhat disgusting looks at my "slamming" the OHP log press station. Bo bian, i train to last rep maciam like 5-10X slower or even isometric holds. But no confrontation, they can give dirty looks i no issue.

Fitness area fellow strengthening / cali bros totally bo chup tho...... (also got BT speaker blasting lol). 🤣
Actually some also "bang" the pull up bar with explosive stuff, though of coz not so loud.

Given the amount of weight he’s lifting, it is not surprising that it will hit the floor hard if he does not control the descent. I have seen plenty of people handle similar loads and still bring it down with control to minimise the noise.

What is frustrating is when someone drops the bar loudly without actually lifting anything particularly heavy. The whole gym can hear it, and if you are nearby you can even feel the floor shake. That is not about strength. That is just ego lifting, especially when it is only around 40 to 50kg per side.

sales69

@xllms

edit - but really best to do single leg versions. The lazy limb effect is pretty real.......before i trained biilaterally and then switched to unilateral, wah lan, the differences in bilateral muscular strength initially was unreal. (no wonder leading to pain and stuff, your body then tries its best to compensate before it breaks)

Saw this vid and did 100 after watching. Good stuff. (y)

I also like this botak. One of the earlier calisthenics YouTuber since 10 years+ ago. Teach without BS.

Now in his 40s. Target audience also lao liao. :s13:

WussRedXLi

Saw this vid and did 100 after watching. Good stuff. (y)

I also like this botak. One of the earlier calisthenics YouTuber since 10 years+ ago. Teach without BS.

Now in his 40s. Target audience also lao liao. :s13:

Good, shd be the standard that all men can reach actually. But i think a bit high for the avg fella even @ 40 (5 chin ups, not pull ups). I think just 2 or 3 strict ones for 50s can liao, maybe 30s can still hit 5. heh....
Some pax might not be able to do due to scapula retraction strength issues (no train scapula pull ups) or difficult to hit the top part of the bar and get the chin over that also. Either that or they are injured by other sports (easier for middle ages) etc, and then as we all know it is deemed as "dangerous" so avoid so....vicious cycle.

Tanner Shuck's standards super high. Can try to aim for that.
A lot of hard truths in there, he said that if his video hurt any viewer's feelings and feel offended, then the video is really for them. :oops: Super hard truth.

Kuudere

800m is a highly popular event in sg.

But the guy who made the video, Amir has transited to 1.5k/5k. He recently clocked his highest mileage week at 88k/week. But was running somewhere ~70k/week during that video.
@Kuudere
thinking more deeply into v.Niekerk's 3rd leg. I correct myself, him running 3rd leg is strategically more significant than being the anchor.
1) v.Niekerk perhaps no longer has his top end speed and amazing last stretch acceleration in his younger years to challenge raw speed of the younger peers
2) 3rd leg is probably more chaotic as compared to anchor leg due to lack of a single focus. Requires more on the fly adjustments due to circumstances, hence experience and intelligent execution matters more (maintaining speed round the bend, possibly by tweaking slightly his cadence, running mechanics, slightly shorter stride lengths at curves, shorter ground contact time, slightly reduced leg lifts at bends, etc to minimize loss in traction).

His 43.26s split in the rain soaked track (2nd best time was some 0.6+s slower) allows him to make up grounds when everyone else was slowing down. What he achieved was efficiency at highest order in such adverse condition.
Ermm no, disagree with Van Niekerk top end speed being unable to match his younger peers especially those in the 400m right now. He is literally the top 20 200m runner right now based on World Athletics Rankings. The only one that can beat him in top end speed and is currently running 400m, is Jereem Richards. That guy ran 19.86s this year, which is close to Van Niekerk PB of 19.84s, but his 400m is only at 43.72s PB.

Van Niekerk has more top end speed than most 400m runners since he took 2025 to just focus on 200m. He has enough speed to run sub 44s provided he set his mind to come back to 400m training, which he doesn't like since he prefers 100/200.

But let's just see how 2026 goes, he might go back on his word and run the 400m again. Van Niekerk just has immense talent running the 400m smoothly without losing too much speed. If Jereem Richards has his speed endurance, he would be a low 43s guy but he is not even mid 43s.

cherynsq

I been doing 5km every one three five

as I haven’t been running for a 3 years gap , no more stamina . So picking it up again , now building up base stamina and fat loss (zone 2)

gear: Nike vomero 15 (max cushion , zone 2 run) and for days I want to go faster to push to zone 3,Li Ning Fei Dian elite 5

WussRedXLi

Found this.

So yeah, need to get D, that means for chin ups 45-49 yrs of age, that is 2 reps....for passing. Passing, not Incentive.
So i think age 50-55 1-2 reps is very reasonable.

Hence, don't accept zero even if you are in your 50s or even early 60s.
edit - ok, maybe 60-65 give chance a bit, let you jump from pull up bar feet support a bit coz some might be really weak for the initial scapula retraction part, but they can pull the rest of the remainding range. 1 rep minumum for passing.
This means that by age 70-85, you'd still have sufficient pulling strength that keeps you out of dangerous or even deadly situations in a fall.....of coz assuming that your neural efficiency/effectiveness still there.

For 2.4 is 13:31 - 14:05, ie you do not run slower than 14 mins.....or 5:50 pace

I can't rem the details coz too long ago liao, but you do not aim for E. (if not my SBJ i'd have mostly passed last time liao coz i'd only have needed 203 or 198cm, which i can do even the latter part of reservist)

WTTq87K.jpg

2b8vkeb8ut621.jpg

WussRedXLi

edit - ok, maybe 60-65 give chance a bit, let you jump from pull up bar feet support a bit coz some might be really weak for the initial scapula retraction part, but they can pull the rest of the remainding range. 1 rep minumum for passing.

This means that by age 70-85, you'd still have sufficient pulling strength that keeps you out of dangerous or even deadly situations in a fall.....of coz assuming that your neural efficiency/effectiveness still there.

Yes, dementia significantly affects neural quickness (reaction time and cognitive processing speed), which in turn severely impairs the body’s ability to prevent or manage a fall. Dementia-related cognitive decline, including executive dysfunction and slowed processing, means the brain cannot quickly interpret danger, such as tripping or losing balance, leading to a higher fall risk.
How Dementia Affects Neural Quickness during a Fall:
  • Impaired Executive Function: The brain struggles to process information about the environment, leading to a reduced ability to initiate a "rescue" move (like grabbing a railing) to stop a fall.
  • Reduced Reaction Speed: Cognitive decline leads to a decrease in walking velocity and a slower, often cautious or shuffling, gait, which, while meant to be protective, actually increases the likelihood of becoming off-balance.
  • Slowed Motor Planning: The ability of the brain to plan and execute quick, coordinated movements (motor planning) is disrupted.
  • Disorientation: Dementia causes confusion regarding time and place, which can cause a person to misjudge steps or environmental hazards.

Bonus, 7-8g a day, if your GI can tahan, 10g / d. Split into 2 doses helps things a fair bit (flatulence etc)
For my kid (takes for cognitive boost), he will sometimes laosai while on 10g/d, so split into 3 doses daily helps.

FFLazIR.jpg

WussRedXLi

as I haven’t been running for a 3 years gap , no more stamina . So picking it up again , now building up base stamina and fat loss (zone 2)

gear: Nike vomero 15 (max cushion , zone 2 run) and for days I want to go faster to push to zone 3,Li Ning Fei Dian elite 5

Great.......
Fat loss need quite a fair bit more volume tho......but 5k 3 times / wk is still fine if you are not in a hurry and 2-3 years no issue for ya, no need to go fast one, keep it moderate intensity.
Issue is, you will also feel terribly hungry at times, which passes over time but it's the initial hunger pangs feeling that screws up those with not so strong mindset. This is normal, as the body kicks into survival mode coz you exercised, so you'd wanna eat, and unfortunately for most, they end up eating more than what they exercised. So end up LLST, and proclaim that exercises do not work.

Try to intake protein instead of carbs then, for satiating effect....keep it handy. But post session, intake a wee bit of carbs for recovery, a bit of carbs is fine one and actually even beneficial.

It's mainly mindset unfortunately if this is not a hobby, so can get a bit tricky at times, including burnouts etc. So, just gotta hang in there and be very very very disciplined.

Kuudere

Use 1 of the days to do your fast run (1k warm up, 3k of intervals or continuous run, 1k cooldown)

Run zone 2 or slower for the other days

Found this.

So yeah, need to get D, that means for chin ups 45-49 yrs of age, that is 2 reps....for passing. Passing, not Incentive.
So i think age 50-55 1-2 reps is very reasonable.

For 2.4 is 13:31 - 14:05, ie you do not run slower than 14 mins.....or 5:50 pace

I can't rem the details coz too long ago liao, but you do not aim for E. (if not my SBJ i'd have mostly passed last time liao coz i'd only have needed 203 or 198cm, which i can do even the latter part of reservist)

WTTq87K.jpg

2b8vkeb8ut621.jpg
For new ippt, passing is easier. For 2.4km, at 45, you need 14.50 to score 25 points and 15.10 to score 25 points at 49.

25 points is the default passing score for 2.4km since the passing requirement is 50 and 2.4km run is 50% of the maximum score.

WussRedXLi

For new ippt, passing is easier. For 2.4km, at 45, you need 14.50 to score 25 points and 15.10 to score 25 points at 49.

25 points is the default passing score for 2.4km since the passing requirement is 50 and 2.4km run is 50% of the maximum score.

Yeah, easier, not as much plyo explosiveness needed or some skills/technique (SBJ). or min absolute strength (pull ups). Ok i mean, push ups also need absolute strength, but push up vs pull up is quite a significant difference for "novices", one is like maciam 1/2 BW while the other is full BW, other than the push vs pull aspect.

For middle aged runners, try to aim for at least 12:20 i guess, or around 5:10 pace i think. Dont aim for just passing ba.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.