jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

So, good luck with the knee pain. Chronic is what it means, already jialat for many many years possibly (my dad's case). It's not so easy to fix, but not impossible. It's not a sexy process, vast majority of people including runners/cyclists hate strengthening, i know..........but it is what it is.

For his case, 80+ age, 4 months to fix. Years of neglect / low level chronic pain and slowly degenerating + treating the symptoms only, until i initiated the fix.

I just spoke to my dad, he has had the knee pain issue for like over 11-12 yrs liao, developed after a few years after he retired @ age 70. :oops: Very slow degeneration but very very low level at first, more of discomfort and inconvenience some motion like going down stairs rather than pain or starting to really disable any function of the knee (eg walking, running, going down stairs).

WussRedXLi

Yep......same

Additionally with numberous muscle imbalances, or if you look at it from another angle, one part weak only and not bilaterally weak. (that's also why unilateral exercises generally are better for our use cases, be it walkers, runners or cyclists)

WussRedXLi

Seems like a good vid, watch later

Interesting....... but of coz dont get me wrong, i think still ok for hobby purposes.

AI :
Here is why planks are not a complete core workout:
  • Isometric Limitations: Planks are static (isometric), which means they build endurance in a specific position rather than developing strength throughout a full range of motion. To build maximum strength and hypertrophy, muscles require varied ranges of motion.
  • Missing Functional Movements: Real-life activities (running, lifting, twisting) involve dynamic movement. A "360-degree" core needs to resist rotation, side-bending, and extension, not just sit still.
  • Diminishing Returns: Once you can hold a plank for 60 to 90 seconds, holding it for longer yields very little extra benefit for strength or muscle growth.
  • Lower Back Strain: If the core is too weak to maintain proper form, the pelvis sags, shifting the load from the abs to the lumbar spine (lower back), which can cause pain.
  • Poor Posterior Chain Engagement: While popular for abdominal training, planks are less effective at strengthening the back extensors, which are critical for relieving lower back pain.
  • Overlooks Other Key Areas: If done with bad form, people often feel the pressure in their shoulders or neck, not their core

WussRedXLi

love the camaraderie of the UAE team.

Quick pro and our national team inside

@Kuudere Gels and liquid nutrition

jYsDEg1.jpg

winningeleven

Training is more effective and falling into place? I think you mentioned you changed something after our last convo / injury (cant remember the details)
Continue what you are doing + the recovery as well (ie dont touch) and you'll be on your way to even faster timings be it 5k or your fav HM

U r right. Despite as a recreational jogger .I always run a HM distance at least once a month.

Last year I suffered hip bursitis that left me MIA for 6 to 8 weeks which forced me to skip SCSM 2025 FM

My running form for this year 2026 so far haven't pick up yet .

rECKleSSfElla

Kofuzi got his hands on the Li Ning Feidian 6E and gave a pretty glowing review of it. Other than one Anta review he did, don't think he is much of a china shoe reviewer.

Saw prices come down to below SGD$150 for this shoe on PDD. Still around 3 mths to 6.18 so the wait shall go on..........

winningeleven

Kofuzi got his hands on the Li Ning Feidian 6E and gave a pretty glowing review of it. Other than one Anta review he did, don't think he is much of a china shoe reviewer.

Saw prices come down to below SGD$150 for this shoe on PDD. Still around 3 mths to 6.18 so the wait shall go on..........

I saw lazada selling at $260++. Not bad for a super shoe compared to the pricing of alphafly and adios pro 4 which retailed more than $300.

All thank to suguru Osako that made people noticed it

winningeleven

Bought SB3 for close to sgd200 in Japan with tax free.. sg sells 319..

wah lau.. sg really cannot buy branded running shoes..
Yes.
Every year I went to Japan and always come back with a new running shoes .

Last year oct 2025 . I bought megablast . This year CNY . I bought adios pro 4. All at least $100 ++ cheaper compared to sg .

xllms

Yes.
Every year I went to Japan and always come back with a new running shoes .

Last year oct 2025 . I bought megablast . This year CNY . I bought adios pro 4. All at least $100 ++ cheaper compared to sg .
moi went japan last sept and bought asics NB5. Should have saved the money and buy Lining Red Hare 9 ultra 😂

Kuudere

Ya, chickened out as I don't run with lights haha
To be fair, that spot doesn't have a lot of people running/cycling after you get past commonwealth. But if you are up for the challenge, I recommend running through hillview side of rail corridor in the morning, that area is filled with dense vegetation. Your heartbeat confirm vo2max from just easy run :ROFLMAO:
Unfortunately, i think for us amateur levels, the best shot to play with 120g/hr is really with self DIY liquid mixes.
For cycling it's easy in terms of practicality, 1 bottle with nutrition and the other bottle plain water. Also rear jersey can add another PET bottle 500ml of anything you want. Running a bit lehceh, might need to self devise some DIY very small ziploc satchets to contain the exact grams of powder.

Holly Archer is can one lah.....quite the elite in training for anything. She tried London 2025 and didnt get a good time after coming from 1500m-5k. Then continued to pursue Hyrox which she also just started in late 2024.

Last weekend

The HYROX Elite 15 is the premier, invitation-only competition tier in HYROX fitness racing, featuring the top 15 male and female individual athletes and elite doubles teams globally. It represents the pinnacle of the sport, where athletes compete in Majors and championships for a spot in the World Championship.

We picked up a 60-second penalty, followed by two additional 15-second penalties, 90 seconds in total for some small mistakes that, in reality, didn’t give us any advantage at all.
Despite the penalties, we still crossed the line in 55:35 and finished 7th overall ..,which, considering the setbacks, shows just how strong our performance actually was.

BTW bro, just a small tip, and i believe it is quite the practical good tip that works for me, try to don KF94 masks when you are just 1-2 month before your big important races (esp overseas). Also, wear it with a good fitting. Maintain good hand hygiene also, hand sanitizers esp for the fingers thumb, index and middle finger after touching any high-touch surface.

I decided to max out at 2 gels per hour, nothing more than that.

I don't like running with mask, prefer to run at gym treadmill instead.

https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11540989/

https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC9656209/
U r right. Despite as a recreational jogger .I always run a HM distance at least once a month.

Last year I suffered hip bursitis that left me MIA for 6 to 8 weeks which forced me to skip SCSM 2025 FM

My running form for this year 2026 so far haven't pick up yet .
Once you start training for marathon, you will run HM distance almost every other week and even longer. Most likely will run slower pace if you are aiming for <4:00:00.

If you use pfitz calculator, your aerobic pace is 6.32 - 7.07 min/km, long run is 6.15 - 6.49 min/km.

For me, I am aiming for <3:30:00, with aerobic pace at 5.43 - 6.13 min/km, long run is 5.28 - 5.58 min/km.

I usually run at the faster end of the range, but am able to recover and build up my mileage safely.

Lol 420 ez pace 😢

https://www.instagram.com/reels/DAJtNTTtm5E/

This guy 415 easy pace, 1.01 HM runner. For 2:20 marathoner, 4.20 min/km is within that recovery range of 4.09 - 4.29 min/km, so it's believable~
they are doing 120grams of carbs per hour now which is damn crazy , im only doing like 40 grams per hour
My recent long run of 26km, I consumed 36 grams over 2 hours 15 minutes. That was ~25s/km average off my goal marathon pace. I am trying to train up to at least 60 grams per hour. It will be a lot of gut training :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.