jogging and motivation thread

xllms

I am also in the sensitive grp, but not the overly sensitive...... between AQI 100 to AQI 150, for any period more than 12 to maybe at best 24hrs, i will get headache, even while sitting at home. But for NEA, this is below PSI 100 (equivalent to AQI 150)......no actions needed. Not a big problem, but even some light haze seasons like here in SG during 2014, with "light" haze but sustained over a 2 month period, that means heckloads of panadols. Luckily i have quite a fair number of HEPA APs with me (from 2013 June short of just 4-5 days but very very heavy haze experienced)

In the haze thread, some pax will get symptoms like headaches and store throat even starting from AQI 80, even lower than me.

So yeah, i believe you.
Me not considered super sensitive kind, i know of super sensitive people who gets reaction or sense something amiss way in advanced. Me at times don't know real or not since everyone's degree of sensitivity differs.

Kuudere

@WussRedXLi

60m world indoors finals

Two guys got injured leh

6 x 10 sets of box jumps and drop jumps (3 sets of each). The rest within sets is 15s and between sets is 2 min. >> Took me about 25-26 minutes to complete them all. Possible to do without rest to raise HR up, but legs will probably hurt a lot more the next day.

WussRedXLi

@WussRedXLi

60m world indoors finals

Two guys got injured leh

6 x 10 sets of box jumps and drop jumps (3 sets of each). The rest within sets is 15s and between sets is 2 min. >> Took me about 25-26 minutes to complete them all. Possible to do without rest to raise HR up, but legs will probably hurt a lot more the next day.

Ok thx watch later.....

Actually i think i shall just change to do all drop jumps sua. Dont do pogos already, since the drop jump covers a fair bit of the pogo movement anyway and also i sometimes skip rope though getting lesser and lesser. 😓

For me i usually like to do around 30 to 40 reps of such plyo stuff in 2 sets, in between i "superset" with my glutes/hamstrings/TFL/ilopsoas band exercises coz for those i also do 2 working sets each. so that it's easier to run through. eg from now on it is box jump, glute abduction and adduction, hamstring, TFL, ilopsoas like what the video 1 post above is doing. Compound movement single leg squats/deadlifts i do separately when i return home, but on the same leg day. For calves, i mix in with my pull up/dips at the fitness corner (another day) coz i need the bars there as i use my 2 hands to push and give additional resistance. So basically 2 leg and 2 upper body, total 4, per week....but sometimes this 1 training week might be 8 or even 9 days depending on how the muscles feel as from around half a year ago i try to focus more towards muscle recovery also, not just bash through. Main stressors are the dips, pull ups, squats, deadlifts, not the accessories.

But seems like i might need to focus more on speed/power and intent for plyo, shd be fine as long as you feel the quality/form doesnt drop. Dont speedrun through the reps.

WussRedXLi

@WussRedXLi

60m world indoors finals

Two guys got injured leh

BTW do let us know if you feel in any way that this addition has helped you, in the next 1-2 months shd be feelable/visible.

WussRedXLi

7:33 for the boys, freaking insane.......somemore is indoor. Just around 16 seconds slower than Jakob Ingebrigtsen for outdoors.

Our SG national record is 8:27 or thereabouts iirc.

WussRedXLi

Tell a story, see if such situation motivates anyone.

Just now met and tried to trail 高手.

Keppel and then WCH. The solo ang moh on TT bike overtook me @ Keppel, i was doing like 35-36 already (though of coz not sure how much of that is accurate coz of the bridge above me but still got a bit of signal here and there). reckon he doing 40-42. I was still very very fresh (I mean my place just @ Cantonment lol)...though not warmed up and i did not eat any breakfast but drank 250ml of 9.8g/100ml kang shi bo beverage...... i went out with my Sunshine bun + 2 kit kats and 1 bot of Kang Shi Bo 500ml honey green tea 7.4g/100ml in my jersey.

So.....why not, race mode on. Kept distance and ok to follow, upslope WCH and i insufficient power liao, small gap opened. Paced myself to do the whole thing as a single 7.x minutes TT, ie flats would be 40kmh and of coz the up and downslopes would be slower/faster by a bit. VO2max RPE and possible all out effort for short stints. Pseudo TT position, expansion gaps of coz both hands i would grip on, for safety, before changing back.

Could not catch. Just continued pulling away. :frown:

By the end of WCH downslope, i think he like easy like 5 lampposts away, quite far.

When reached the first (green) lights after the downslope, he was still pulling away........basket. Aborted it when i hit the clementi road flyover upslope and i took my rest at West Coast Link bus stop near West Coast Park Mcdonalds. Had to rest, i nearly ready to vomit earlier, but of coz nothing much to vomit.

Came back WCH, another hard effort but not as hard (approx 36-38 avg flats, downslope at Keppel 55kmh rolling back to Keppel sustain above 40 from the momentum). After that a bit of zone 2/recovery around Sentosa and MBS area as per usual.....now back home i can really feel the fatigue must really recover hooted the creatine, whey, carbs....so i dont think earlier the first round i had anything more to give.

Must train more. :frown: I know i will get there eventually, just not sure how long only.

WussRedXLi

Might be too much ANAVAR :oops:

This one power, train until cry. Good, high chance is true muscular failure.

WussRedXLi

Hou mai....... really got such a phenomenon
Just woke up from nap......the mind still not feeling recovered, not exercise recovery but relaxed-mind kinda recovery.
Could be nervous system.......maybe tomorrow will just rest....possibly over-pushed CNS

AI Overview

Feeling like you want to vomit during or after extended max (high-intensity) training is a common phenomenon known as exercise-induced nausea, caused by extreme physiological stress. It is a sign that your body is pushing beyond its current metabolic threshold, causing blood to be diverted away from your digestive system to your muscles.
Here is a breakdown of why this happens:

1. Blood Flow Redirection (Visceral Ischemia)
During high-intensity training, your muscles need massive amounts of oxygenated blood. To meet this demand, your body redirects up to 80% of blood flow away from the stomach, intestines, and internal organs.
  • Result: The lack of blood flow causes the intestines to become ischemic (lack oxygen), triggering nerve signals to the brain that result in nausea.
  • Impact of Food: If you have undigested food in your stomach, this reduction in blood flow slows digestion, causing food to sit in your stomach and get "jostled," leading to vomiting.

2. Lactic Acid Buildup (Lactic Acidosis)
When working at

max, you are usually above your lactate threshold—producing lactic acid faster than your body can clear it.
  • Result: As lactic acid and hydrogen ions accumulate, your blood becomes more acidic.
  • Body's Response: Your brain perceives this acidic environment as toxic and triggers the vomiting center as a defense mechanism to get rid of the stress.

3. Hormonal Responses and Overexertion
Extended high-intensity efforts (like long intervals or long, hard runs) increase the release of stress hormones, particularly catecholamines (epinephrine/norepinephrine), which can directly induce nausea.
  • "Fight or Flight" Mode: Your body treats this level of exertion as a danger scenario, shutting down non-essential functions like digestion, which can cause severe nausea.

4. Other Contributing Factors
  • Dehydration/Hyponatremia: Low blood volume from sweating or low sodium concentration from overdrinking water (hyponatremia) can cause dizziness and nausea.
  • Heat Stress: Working out in hot, humid conditions forces the body to send more blood to the skin for cooling, further reducing blood flow to the gut and increasing nausea.
  • Abdominal Pressure: Intense breathing during

max training causes the diaphragm to push down on the stomach, which can mechanically force contents upward.

rECKleSSfElla

Asics Superblast 3 review embargo lifted. Krap ton of reviews online in the past 24hrs.
R8C6XRR.jpeg

Release on March 1st rrp USD$210.

WussRedXLi

Two guys got injured leh

Watched......pecah hamstrings sia, as usual.

Running no need to say if really gunning for your peak performance and speed, significantly and critically needed for distances like 3k 5k shorter distances vs FM. (dont say sprinting 400m and below, we all nowhere near sprinters)
But even for cycling, it is literally important to prevent imbalances which would lead to injury ultimately in the long run (hip/knee discomfort) since it is super quad dominant followed by glute max dominant.
I just use mini bands to strength train anyway, shd be sufficient since i noticed hypertrophy there as well.

Oh yeah, btw, i used to have this niggle a couple of times in 2022 and 2023, the area above the hamstrings but below the glute max..... now no more already. Always the LHS, but not the RHS. Dont know simi biomechanical imbalance or just plain weak there. That was before i started to do minibands.

WussRedXLi

Battersea 10k!!! Live stream 6pm SGT
6.15pm SGT elite race.

Their race bonus really next level.
Men's cut off is 30:00
Women's cut off is 34:00

WussRedXLi

going to try this drill to loosen pelvis.

Good share. Can try racewalking at fast paces, eg 5:00 or even as fast as 4:30. If can do it and your hips can rotate and sway side to side, then you do not have low mobility hips and probably no additional work needed for running. For shuffling type of gait that some use, lagi no issue coz even lower demand.

xllms

Kiwi Sam Ruthe

this guy's weekly mileage does not exceed 90km and has inherited genes to his advantage
Sam’s grandfather, Trevor Wright, set the world record for the fastest marathon debut in 1971 with a 2:13:27, won silver at the 1971 European Marathon Championships and earned podium finishes at the 1978 New York City Marathon and 1981 London Marathon.
Sam’s grandmother, Rosemary Wright (née Stirling), held the Scottish 800m record of 2:00.15 for 30 years (1972 to 2002). She won gold at the 1970 Commonwealth Games and was an 800m Olympic finalist at the Munich 1972 Games, where her 2:00.15 performance also stood as a U.K. record until 1979.
Their daughter, Jessica Ruthe (Sam’s mother), competed at four World Cross-Country Championships and claimed five New Zealand national titles across distances ranging from 1,500m to the marathon.
Sam’s father, Ben Ruthe, is also a two-time New Zealand national champion, winning the 1,500m in 2002 and the 5,000m in 2006.

https://runningmagazine.ca/the-scen...d-record-holder-has-ridiculous-running-genes/

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.