jogging and motivation thread

GlassDoor

good time as any to start practicing nasal breathing.
i think intensity of exercise also plays a part as well.
Will i go on a VO2max workout today? highly unlikely.
But for easy effort runs I think no diff.

GlassDoor

...running will inhale so much air and more PM2.5 residue will get trapped inside your lungs then normal breathing and forever accumulate there
actually. what you said is not true.
the dangers of pm2.5 particles is that it is too small to filter and will enter the blood stream.
but again me not doctor....

WussRedXLi

I posted in the Consolidated haze thread. Yeah quite smelly last night at my place Tg pagar.

My laser particle meter was reading 60-65 ug/m3 spot reading at around midnight time. Coz of the high humidity and the fact that i do not dry the intake air (it's just a simple IR laser laser particulate meter with some algo running ), this is an exaggerated number, normalized would probably be in the 40+ ug/m3. Or around AQI 125 thereabouts.

This laser particulate meter is still somewhat sensitive to 0.1 to 0.3 microns tissue paper smoke, i tested before....only thing is, the levels probably would be lower than in reality, but still with sufficiently high levels, it can detect one. Coz I use it to test KF94s last time during covid for the folks here @ HWZ. And before that for play play during the 2015 and 2019 haze episodes.

56 ug/m3 is AQI 150, equivalent to "1hr" reading of PSI 100. That is based on NEA's 1hr PM2.5 reading (not my meter)

But these are just at that moment in time spot readings on a personal scale/basis.

If wanna be more accurate, need to get the intake sampling air down to RH% 35.
BTW, NEA samples from several measuring sites and that is averaged. So also not say very representative of what your area is experiencing coz for very nearby sources (ie Pasir Gudang), it has been shown on satellite pics that the smoke plume is usually a very narrow cone. Possibly say at Punggol, it is just a few km wide only.

Bro tmkedmw got lots of details in the haze thread, those interested can take a look.

Ender

Anyway runners are known to have higher rate of nose rhinitis (check Exercise induced rhinitis) than sedentary due to higher rate of breathing when we exercise. Basically we are exposed to pollutants more than people who don't exercise even when the air is clean. The paradox, runners have better respiratory and cardiovascular system than sedentary people. But do we run in mild haze? Up to you, Personally, light smell I will run, coz these few weeks, I know that the smell will go away when I run to another spot. Mostly is no smell.

Ender

I posted in the Consolidated haze thread. Yeah quite smelly last night at my place Tg pagar.

My laser particle meter was reading 60-65 ug/m3 spot reading at around midnight time. Coz of the high humidity and the fact that i do not dry the intake air (it's just a simple IR laser laser particulate meter with some algo running ), this is an exaggerated number, normalized would probably be in the 40+ ug/m3. Or around AQI 125 thereabouts.

This laser particulate meter is still somewhat sensitive to 0.1 to 0.3 microns tissue paper smoke, i tested before....only thing is, the levels probably would be lower than in reality, but still with sufficiently high levels, it can detect one. Coz I use it to test KF94s last time during covid for the folks here @ HWZ. And before that for play play during the 2015 and 2019 haze episodes.

56 ug/m3 is AQI 150, equivalent to "1hr" reading of PSI 100. That is based on NEA's 1hr PM2.5 reading (not my meter)

But these are just at that moment in time spot readings on a personal scale/basis.

If wanna be more accurate, need to get the intake sampling air down to RH% 35.
BTW, NEA samples from several measuring sites and that is averaged. So also not say very representative of what your area is experiencing coz for very nearby sources (ie Pasir Gudang), it has been shown on satellite pics that the smoke plume is usually a very narrow cone. Possibly say at Punggol, it is just a few km wide only.

Bro tmkedmw got lots of details in the haze thread, those interested can take a look.

> 100 aqi, it's smelly. This is no running for me.

WussRedXLi

did feel the air isn't too good, throat feeling something during my run this morning.

Oh, then this morning my meter showing around 40 ug/m3. Vs 60-65 last night. Dont think the relative humidity % that much different. So got improvement ba. Actual more accurate levels would not be over 30 ug/m3, or not more than AQI 100.

But this smoke sure has pungent smell. Not sure if it is from the peatlands near Kota Tinggi area, that area is much smellier than the smoke haze from Sumatra. Kalimantan haze usually lesser smell.
Not sure if distance also has to do with it (some decay mechanism over longer distances or something)........even though all are so-called peatland fires.

But now South side no more, from just now i came out for lunch, not sure where the smoke plume changed direction to....... heh. Basically the narrow smoke plume just shifts around, that is why 1 fella in the haze threads here say super smelly, then another would say POFMA you, where got, zero here. Standard for Johor haze lah coz we are so close. (I try to find picture).

Peat land fires terribly difficult to extinguish one, usually is just wait for mother nature.

Oh found it...... the plume would expand more and more as it gets further and further. Sometimes also depends on atmoshpheric conditions, whether the smoke gets lifted up further into altitude, or some inversion layer keeps it close to the ground.
That's why sometimes the sun like very orangey, it's the smoke up there, but ground level is clean air.

18330265.JPG

WussRedXLi

> 100 aqi, it's smelly. This is no running for me.

Actually still can run ba esp short distance..... but yeah, usually the Kota Tinggi area peatland fires just S of Mersing rather smelly one. heh.....

But some are quite sensitive to smell, will get headaches. Is prob some sensory trigger or something.
Might be a bodily defence mechanism, based on neuro memory from 1997, 2013, 2015, 2019 haze episodes also. Sometimes these things quite funny one, the brain remembers one, and if one is paritcular susceptible and sensitive, will trigger even based on smells. Of coz, just somewhat harmless symptoms though irritating.

For those esp super susceptible, can even trigger migrane, and migrane already trigger vomitting. Got this wierd brain-gut axis thingy, my kid got. Simple running nose, sore throat, can trigger migrane, then migrane will trigger GI issues and vomit, and so the stomach buay song liao trigger more migrane, and more migrane trigger more vomitting. Run away chain reaction. Once even went to Mount Elizabeth midnight time, emergency CT scan in order to rule out serious conditions like meningitis, coz every 15-30 mins vomit, which can turn very very serious in rare instances if continued . That 1 single day we visited 2X GP gave suppositories and all those (constant vomitting = no oral meds, wont work) and then midnight sent to Mount E.
Source? Just a simple flu or cold nia. Costed me 6k, but heng got full Prudential insurance. 😓

But as far as for heart issues triggers, the levels are low.

AI :
The vagus nerve is the primary bidirectional, physical conduit of the brain-gut axis, acting as a crucial, fast-acting communication pathway for regulating digestion, immune responses, mood, and metabolism. It transmits sensory information from the gut (microbiome, nutrients) to the brain and sends motor signals back, playing a key role in inflammation control and stress management.

Kuudere

Yeah I still remember, basket, it took me like more than 1 year to improve my 5k timing at such fast paces when i was super gian at that distance....call it genetic limit or simi limit, not really good at phrasing it. Merely like what....for 60 seconds of improvement, or just 5.5%.

But for beginner stages.......30 min improve to 25 (20%), isnt gonna be terribly difficult.

It's the same for all other things, calisthenic exercises for eg.

I guess as long as it is an area that is still *untapped*, it might be pretty fruitful to tap into it.
Same as what Run Elite channel says, if a runner all along never runs VO2max or neuromuscular range (say strides and a wee bit of SIT), you can still expect gains.......simply because it has been untouched.

Of coz, if one's aerobic base and threshold still got rooms for improvement, then this might not be something to really focus on lah. But just assuming that one has already done all he/she can do, be on at least a semi-structured routine, good mileages and recovery routine, not much more room for improvement or squeeze in more hours of training, just to get that lagi small % of improvement.

Side story : Past few months to nearly a year, i really I upped my strength training coz of personal interest there to improve both strength wise and aesthetics wise (not plyo exercises, that one i just do and be done with it coz no real interest. Last weekend i went to Serapong hill sentosa for some climbing test. Around half a year ago i could get up of coz, but must need a fair bit of effort.
Last weekend i went up, albeit rather slowly (slower than usual), but the HR was so low, plus i felt almost "floating up", coz the muscular strength needed was not anywhere my limit.

Somemore what i have been doing just "merely" mike mentzer's HIIT style, 1 warm up set (eg dips only do 5 reps, very little warm up even) and 2 workout sets, one of which is hard and 1 all out, hit failure and then shake it out before bashing out some more reps, and lastly shake it out again to clear lactate, then all out till the last rep you might only be able to hold it half rep isometrically and shaking for 5-10 seconds.
DOMS is not a good indicator of training effectiveness for muscles but i quite often get that, then i'd make sure i recover well (3 days usually) before embarking on next session.
I know for my age, i do daily. confirm is walk forward 5 steps walk backwards 4.8 steps one and plateau after a certain stage coz the high reps i cannot confirm i hit a hard enough level of stimulus in training, maciam doing for the sake of doing only.

Young chap here doing Serapong. It's not as long as Lor Sesuai @ Bukit Timah rd (that one popular with runners) but there is a certain part at the first 1/3rd that is !!#%@@#!@# steep, i believe even steeper than Sesuai. Beginners wo leg strength for sure "fall" one, and after falling then good luck....no need to mount and pedal liao coz too steep to restart.

I plan to alternate box jumps and drop jumps to get the best of both worlds.

The workout is 60 sets so I will do 6 x 10 sets of box jumps and drop jumps (3 sets of each). The rest within sets is 15s and between sets is 2 min. Do it twice a week.

Most likely do it after easy run instead of before the run.

Just for the fun of it, I plan to bring a ruler to measure the stadium jump height. 😂
Maybe can pace u if u do 15k haha but u prob faster for this shorter distance!
I am not too sure if my GI issues will emerge during the race. But I will have to get in early morning race pace workouts.

I have done empty stomach workouts at 4.13-4.14 min/km 12k without any issues at 8am. But 5.30am is a different story.

Not too sure if the headache from waking up earlier cause my GI issues.

64 mins > possible aim even if feeling bad since I managed to run 65 mins in HM

63 mins > realistic aim if assuming some hiccups in execution

62 mins > perfect/miracle day, I don’t see myself running sub-62
Time to run treadmill ? Dun like it , unless during overseas work trip
Go for it, if u are uncomfortable with the smell

WussRedXLi

Siao boh.......2pm heat can run that pace (fastest 35:04 min for the 10k but based on Aaron's GPS it is like 0.7km short heh...but still), and at that age grp of 40-49. Based on experience, that kind of temperatures, even 5min/km pace i might have trouble holding coz basically i'd just overheat and feel unwell first and pengsan later if go faster....or just hit the MHR wall even with comparatively low RPE.
Many hidden tiger crouching dragons in SG. :oops:

vkkHXxp.jpg

xllms

Oh, then this morning my meter showing around 40 ug/m3. Vs 60-65 last night. Dont think the relative humidity % that much different. So got improvement ba. Actual more accurate levels would not be over 30 ug/m3, or not more than AQI 100.

But this smoke sure has pungent smell. Not sure if it is from the peatlands near Kota Tinggi area, that area is much smellier than the smoke haze from Sumatra. Kalimantan haze usually lesser smell.
Not sure if distance also has to do with it (some decay mechanism over longer distances or something)........even though all are so-called peatland fires.

But now South side no more, from just now i came out for lunch, not sure where the smoke plume changed direction to....... heh. Basically the narrow smoke plume just shifts around, that is why 1 fella in the haze threads here say super smelly, then another would say POFMA you, where got, zero here. Standard for Johor haze lah coz we are so close. (I try to find picture).

Peat land fires terribly difficult to extinguish one, usually is just wait for mother nature.

Oh found it...... the plume would expand more and more as it gets further and further. Sometimes also depends on atmoshpheric conditions, whether the smoke gets lifted up further into altitude, or some inversion layer keeps it close to the ground.
That's why sometimes the sun like very orangey, it's the smoke up there, but ground level is clean air.

18330265.JPG
true. We have to take care of ourselves based on own's reactions. for me, i cannot use empirical data to judge as i have a pneumonia history that has made my respiratory system more sensitive than others. How I feel is more critical than raw generic data. Whether relative feel makes a difference am not sure, just a guess. My bad to talk about relative feel instead of personal reaction.

Ender

true. We have to take care of ourselves based on own's reactions. for me, i cannot use empirical data to judge as i have a pneumonia history that has made my respiratory system more sensitive than others. How I feel is more critical than raw generic data. Whether relative feel makes a difference am not sure, just a guess.
I also kenna pneumonia when I was young, late 30s. follow by gallstone one year later. That two time hospitalization about 1.5 year span and the doctor insistence my lifestyle needs to change is my turning point to abandon the sedentary life.

WussRedXLi

That time Beijing before CN govt cleaned up the smog factories and power stations.......
IIRC AQI was over 400
How can that still be safe.....i really dont know. Just hoot first talk later.

edit - even the Ethiopian winner interviewed buay tahan the smog and got symptoms . :s42:

tHpxgMx,jpg

beijing2-v3.jpg

141019-beijing-marathon-masks-956a.jpg

WussRedXLi

true. We have to take care of ourselves based on own's reactions. for me, i cannot use empirical data to judge as i have a pneumonia history that has made my respiratory system more sensitive than others. How I feel is more critical than raw generic data. Whether relative feel makes a difference am not sure, just a guess. My bad to talk about relative feel instead of personal reaction.

I am also in the sensitive grp, but not the overly sensitive...... between AQI 100 to AQI 150, for any period more than 12 to maybe at best 24hrs, i will get headache, even while sitting at home. But for NEA, this is below PSI 100 (equivalent to AQI 150)......no actions needed. Not a big problem, but even some light haze seasons like here in SG during 2014, with "light" haze but sustained over a 2 month period, that means heckloads of panadols. Luckily i have quite a fair number of HEPA APs with me (from 2013 June short of just 4-5 days but very very heavy haze experienced)

In the haze thread, some pax will get symptoms like headaches and store throat even starting from AQI 80, even lower than me.

So yeah, i believe you.

WussRedXLi

Wow......really can be triggered by smells. :oops:

AI Overview

Yes, you can absolutely get migraines from smell triggers that are linked to previous traumatic episodes
. This phenomenon connects environmental, neurological, and emotional factors, where a specific scent associated with a past trauma triggers a "fight-or-flight" stress response, subsequently leading to a headache.
Here is how smells, trauma, and migraines are connected:

The Science Behind Trauma-Scent-Migraine
  • Direct Brain Connection: Of all the senses, smell has the most direct line to the emotional and memory centers of the brain.
  • Conditioned Response: A scent associated with a traumatic event (e.g., perfume, cleaning chemicals, smoke) can cause negative emotions and memories to return instantly.
  • Stress-Induced Headache: This emotional reaction triggers a "fight-or-flight" stress response, leading to rapid changes in the body, including tension in the head/neck area and the widening of blood vessels (vasodilation).
  • Sensitized System: Trauma can create a "hypersensitive" or "hyper-reactive" nervous system that is more prone to headaches.

Key Factors
  • Osmophobia (Sensitivity to Smell): A common part of the migraine experience is osmophobia, which is an intense, sometimes phobic aversion to smells.
  • Chemical Triggers: The smells themselves—even if not associated with trauma—often directly trigger migraines by irritating the trigeminal nerve.
  • Trauma-Associated Scents: Research shows that specific smells can act as triggers for trauma-related flashbacks, such as fuel, smoke, or certain cleaning products.

Common Scent Triggers
  • Perfumes and colognes
  • Cigarette smoke
  • Cleaning products and chemical fumes
  • Car exhaust or gasoline
  • Scented candles or lotions

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.