[PSA] Read this before porting out of Simba... possibly other telcos? (Hidden fees & wallet traps)

YouWish

Topping up is voluntary.
But they would have to build in more safeguards if change the business model more towards a use first pay later.
How much is the cut off for excess charges to cc for example.
Roaming burst usage how?
True its voluntary, but how do u effectively consume off credits if you are planning to port. And if you need to pre-plan excessively for a port whereby plans are so dynamic... it becomes an effective tool to lock u to them or allow them to earn more than they ought to have.

It's likely a strategic tool used to prevent people from porting over AND/or earn in the process

pwillie

1. Your prepaid balance will poof Because the monthly subscription goes straight to your credit card, the money inside your prepaid wallet is strictly for excess usage. The catch? The moment your port-out is successful, any money left in that wallet is forfeited. If you dumped $50 in there for a rainy day, good luck trying to clear it before you switch. Drain it to zero before you leave.
why cannot use wallet balance for monthly subscription?

chari-men

i think he doesnt know how the system works.. i used simba before iirc they will deduct the wallet first then ur card.. unless ur wallet doesnt have sufficient credit..

YouWish

i think he doesnt know how the system works.. i used simba before iirc they will deduct the wallet first then ur card.. unless ur wallet doesnt have sufficient credit..

Well you are welcome to try yourself.... Alas since i am NOT able to access my account since thats the way they love to set up the system... i guess we will never know??

You can post back once you got the answers, or go through another analysis of TNC :D

chari-men

Well you are welcome to try yourself.... Alas since i am NOT able to access my account since thats the way they love to set up the system... i guess we will never know??

You can post back once you got the answers, or go through another analysis of TNC :D
It's also in the link I sent u.. deduct wallet first then card unless ur wallet has insufficient balance for ur monthly subscription.. I didn't have issues with the wallet and had enjoyed tremendous savings for the bonus top up before I ported out to other Telco ..

YouWish

It's also in the link I sent u.. deduct wallet first then card unless ur wallet has insufficient balance for ur monthly subscription.. I didn't have issues with the wallet and had enjoyed tremendous savings for the bonus top up before I ported out to other Telco ..
So it does store and eat the insufficient balance PLUS any other amount left behind if unspent right?

Pretty good information to know and inform then. It's probably more useful then answering any question by just telling the person to read the whole TNC and infer for yourself. This is akin to saying, u go to school and ask the lecturer a query on how to solve a question and the lecturer just says read the whole damn textbook, understand it, and apply. Probably not wrong, but functionally useless advice

chari-men

So it does store and eat the insufficient balance PLUS any other amount left behind if unspent right?

Pretty good information to know and inform then. It's probably more useful then answering any question by just telling the person to read the whole TNC and infer for yourself. This is akin to saying, u go to school and ask the lecturer a query on how to solve a question and the lecturer just says read the whole damn textbook, understand it, and apply. Probably not wrong, but functionally useless advice
then ur info on simba deducting card first then wallet for excess usage only is also incorrect what,,,then u might as well plead to MOE saying dont need issue notes and textbooks liao.. everything just ask the teacher if dont understand anything??Simba has a critical summary 1 pager., u didnt read then u claim Simba has hidden clauses.. I spoonfeed u with the link then u say its useless advice coz not many will read.. how sia..

pwillie

Don’t need to find out.. cos I am already using it for my monthly subscription since I got the 1:1 promo top up
You may want to find out before you start posting this FYI post though

pwillie

It will deduct from cc first, but you have to write in to remove your cc then it will default to the wallet

pwillie

u didnt have to actually..they will deduct from wallet first.. check their CIS sheet..
Not for my case, it still deducts from my cc even with $200+ credit in my wallet, wrote in to CS and remove the cc to avoid that issue from happening again.

chari-men

Not for my case, it still deducts from my cc even with $200+ credit in my wallet, wrote in to CS and remove the cc to avoid that issue from happening again.
guess its technical issue for ur case den..

pwillie

It's funny though that TS mention that top up is bad... Simba will lock you in.... But isn't that what promos are for, to lock you in with them? He expect Simba to give free lunch meh?

YouWish

It's funny though that TS mention that top up is bad... Simba will lock you in.... But isn't that what promos are for, to lock you in with them? He expect Simba to give free lunch meh?
Free lunch? more like charge you for lunch and then some extra, which is what the top up is about.

You put money into it, they dont use it to deduct for the routine, precisely for this position to earn more from you just for their benefit. Always good to know and now with this knowledge, know what to do in the event that you want to port out from Simba, here are some things to do :D

YouWish

then ur info on simba deducting card first then wallet for excess usage only is also incorrect what,,,then u might as well plead to MOE saying dont need issue notes and textbooks liao.. everything just ask the teacher if dont understand anything??Simba has a critical summary 1 pager., u didnt read then u claim Simba has hidden clauses.. I spoonfeed u with the link then u say its useless advice coz not many will read.. how sia..

guess its technical issue for ur case den..
How like that? Simba dont wanna follow their own process how?

its quite simple, u want to provide useless uncontextualized information such as throw TNC at a person, that's your perogorative.

I rather be more useful and share with people what to do in the exact situation when you want to port out.

I'm just a bit more fond of sharing than you I guess? Oh well...

pwillie

Free lunch? more like charge you for lunch and then some extra, which is what the top up is about.

You put money into it, they dont use it to deduct for the routine, precisely for this position to earn more from you just for their benefit. Always good to know and now with this knowledge, know what to do in the event that you want to port out from Simba, here are some things to do :D
you dont like the top up system doesnt mean it is a bad thing,
if giving promos/freebies of course they want sometjing in return, Simba is still running a business, and its a very common tactic for many vendors, you go in with your eyes open.
Looks like you are just whining on Pt(1) but its ok, there are still tons of customers (cheapskate like me) going for their 1:1 top up and Simba knows it.
I have $120+120 in my wallet and expect to be with them for the next 20 mths using it for the $12 plan.

YouWish

you dont like the top up system doesnt mean it is a bad thing,
if giving promos/freebies of course they want sometjing in return, Simba is still running a business, and its a very common tactic for many vendors, you go in with your eyes open.
Looks like you are just whining on Pt(1) but its ok, there are still tons of customers (cheapskate like me) going for their 1:1 top up and Simba knows it.
I have $120+120 in my wallet and expect to be with them for the next 20 mths using it for the $12 plan.
Yea of course, I'm ultimately the customer and speaking to those who would love the flexibility... But really once Singtel matched on the roaming and data it's a no brainer to swap to enjoy the connectivity on my daily commute.

There is a reason I put 4 points instead of 1 so that those in a similar situation can utilize the information :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.