jogging and motivation thread

Sadisticnoob

I used to run around 5:25 -5:30mins/km for my long run 21 km. But now even using the same effort . I only could manage 5:35-5:42mins/km... Probably I think I am also getting older and don't dare to push myself hard...(Always try to maintain HR below 150 for now )
my all time best for 21 km , is 2 hours 6 mins.

but let me try to push harder this time round, i think is the running form

winningeleven

For me . The weather also a big factor . When I was in Melbourne in June . Day time 15 deg. I ran 11km at a 5:24mins/km pace and HR just 136...

WussRedXLi

For me . The weather also a big factor . When I was in Melbourne in June . Day time 15 deg. I ran 11km at a 5:24mins/km pace and HR just 136...

I find that my 5k TT is possibly/easily least slower by 1 min, if i hadnt actively douse with iced water throughout. Around there.

But still i dont these that often to definitively know how much slower i am, coz for cycling i regularly find that i get dropped after a certain point if i hadnt been dousing with iced water as well. Some of those guys are fast, i know a triathlete with 16 min 5k timings, cycled 2 times with him. Damn strong too, as in they maintain at well over 60kg bulgarian split squats as maintenance level.

WussRedXLi

No matter the timing (which could be subjective), but one thing for sure......is that the RPE is significantly lower, even at similar HR. If you douse with iced water throughout.

WussRedXLi

You got interest to do T100 duathlon next year? 2 distances, 6/32/3km and 9/64/9. Since you prob gravitate towards endurance style also with the MY cycling races, i think the latter can suit you. 64KM doesnt sound like much, until you factor in nearly 600m of elevation gain but not too bad i if you are technically ok with the descents and cheong wo braking. Max gradient not too bad, i think 9% "only" and since you cyclist so....

Unfortunately, not cheap (rising in cost annually), but +ve is no need to go MY.

I still dont know whether to go do next year. (i already skipped this year)

WussRedXLi

How the F is this even news. He has more clothings on than 99.9% of swimmers @ our swimming pools. EVen in SG this is not an uncommon sight, topless and running tights....though for cycling i havent seen similar before of coz. Dont think our SPF would even entertain doing any stops, dont waste their time/resources.

Tot KR pretty advanced and open one, kpop and all...... (heck even in major cities in CN also no issue)
edit - i read some of the comments, apparently folks there are uncomfortable with guys running shirtless on their main PCNs.

Bonus

SCSM

dreamaurora

How the F is this even news. He has more clothings on than 99.9% of swimmers @ our swimming pools. EVen in SG this is not an uncommon sight, topless and running tights....though for cycling i havent seen similar before of coz. Dont think our SPF would even entertain doing any stops, dont waste their time/resources.

Tot KR pretty advanced and open one, kpop and all...... (heck even in major cities in CN also no issue)
edit - i read some of the comments, apparently folks there are uncomfortable with guys running shirtless on their main PCNs.

Bonus

SCSM

Need to be mindful of the local custom lar. I will be doing Bali FM next Sunday and though I would prefer to run topless there but I will put on my top as the locals frown upon topless running (I did the FM in 2023 and I did not recall any guys running topless or any of the ladies wearing sports bra).

sales69

Bonus

SCSM

Heng it's tolerated over here. No one complain me yet. :o

Too used to running topless. Wear shirt/singlet run very hot and gao way.

dreamaurora

Me too. Weather so hot.

But for guys please shave your body hair and armpit hair before running topless hor. I saw some very hairy angmor ran topless before, sibei er xin.

WussRedXLi

Me too. Weather so hot.

But for guys please shave your body hair and armpit hair before running topless hor. I saw some very hairy angmor ran topless before, sibei er xin.

For hyrox run interval trainings, even outdoors at parks, it's pretty common also, and of coz well tolerated. @xllms, how's the culture over in Shanghai nowadays?

Coughs......Also. to be honest, i wash my armpits prior to going for any evening group run/ride. Esp if no time to do a quick shower after returning home, coz have to eat also and travel to the form up location etc. Just a quick soap 2X over the sink is usually sufficient even if not used to using deodorant. Dried up sweaty BO not the same as active sweaty smell.......unless one has a serious BO issue then might need to use deordorant as well.

ESPECIALLY for Group rides. (i dont do group runs). Where everyone has draft from the front fella.
A few times i already just broke from the group coz i bth, since some rides stretch over 2hrs one. !@%#@$#

Also, sometimes also got girls one lah.......who might not be used to NSF kinda conditions.

edit - i went to do a quick search.
Maybe it's an ongoing mismatch and tug of war between their KPOP culture vs mainstream conservativeness.

WussRedXLi

Anyway, on the topic of shaving and if there are indeed hairy guys in this thread doing outdoor running, while running speeds are, of course, much slower than cycling and drag increases to the square of velocity (ie quadruple)......i think it will still make a small marginal difference esp visible over longer distances.

Esp when the torso is such a large leading edlge. The others being the legs and the arms. For some ang moh chewbacca hairy monsters, this would not be negligible in a headwind esp if it is over 15kmh (plus your own running speed).

For cycling, the torso wont be exposed anyway in the vast vast majority of the time.

And for T100, metasprint/trifactor events.......or overseas IM, not permitted anyway. DQ.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.