HWZ @ Japanese Drama Club @

ender51244

Am watching as well, not too shabby IMO. Then again, this natsu season's dramas aren't any much better either, most are pretty weak in terms of storyplot, most are actually relying on its casts that's all.

How ya doing anyway? You suddenly went MIA?

aaahh~ sugoi. u remembered me ? or am i too infamous or what? lol.

yeah i sort of went MIA some time ago because i was studying. now holidays, so nothing to do then come back and surf around. i'm keeping tabs on the exotic handphone sub-forum too but just that nothing to say so keep quiet lor.

Maou has a nice plot. and there's always a twist in the end. this is the only drama this season which i'm always anxious to watch. this season i'm only watching a few dramas - Maou, Monster Parent, Shibatora, 33-Minute Tantei (for the obvious reasons, lol).

Maou is ohno satoshi's first drama and for me, i think he did a good job in acting the devil, especially those eyes. nowadays i can't watch his variety programs. once i see that original blur look of his, i just want to laugh.

koizora seems nice but i don't want to watch sad shows. cried too much during the movie version.

just to add on, SUSHI OUJI made it to the movie screen too. it may be a silly movie, but it is popular. got 2nd for the half-year ranking. see nikkan sports report.

red_tide24

someone pls recommend me some new dramas. recently i watching zettai kirashi, last friends and code blue until super sian. great cast, but lousy story lines.

Kenshin79

have you caught Change? kimura show always have some standards.
Puzzle is quite funny

exile1982v

just found this thread accidentally. nvr know there are so many fellow countrymen who are following j-doramas. I have been catching J-dorama since GTO and have been following the drama season by season till now. Currently watching Gonzo, Dageki Tenshi Ruri, 33pun Tantei, The Quiz show this season. Going to watch Seigi no Mikata & Shibatora when they aired finished ( i always keep the best show last to watch).

This natsu season dorama to me are not as strong as the previous season. I still missed last season rookies and Hokaben. Anyway, I just watched movie Cyborg She in cinema two days ago which starred Rokkies' Koide Keisuke and Ayase Haruke (ironically, Ayase play as Koide's sister in Rookie) as well as Kiritani Kentai. Kiritani and Koide's characters in the movie are like rip-off from their characters in Rookie. Overall, I thought the movie is good, fast pace with plenty of comedy reliefs and heart warming moments. Just disappointed that not many pple go to watch this movie. The cinema is 2/3 empty when I watched in plaza singapura during weekend.

popdod

someone pls recommend me some new dramas. recently i watching zettai kirashi, last friends and code blue until super sian. great cast, but lousy story lines.

Tomorrow not bad.

It is reflecting current japan's shortage of doctors.
Was highlighted in the news last week...

Now episode 7....still airing.

;) :D ;)

aireth

currently watching Code Blue, Seigi no Migata and Moster Parent. Downloaded Maou and Tomorrow but yet to find time to watch. Am I a Pedobear if I say I absolutely love Shida Mirai? :o Dun really like Yu Yamada but her face fits the evil personality.

turtle-san

silthfire

argh.........

where's code blue and seigi no mikata's subs!!!

it's been 2 weeks!
ya lor.....been waiting for the eng sub.....but this week also haven out.....sad.....i waiting for the eng sub bcoz i can share with my frens...lol....they not good with chinese...:D

silthfire

So you're here too Andrew, lol. Haven't checked back this thread for pretty awhile, nice to see a few new faces here. Lol I can't believe you can actually stomach Gakko ja Oshierarenai, that has gotta be one of the crappiest drama pilots that I had watched in awhile. :s13: If you like this kind of dramas, I would rather u go search and find Pink no Idenshi, at least that one have some real solid eye-candies in terms of girls, as opposed to this drama's leading girls inside cos apart from Kyoko Fukada and Riisa Naka, I basically can conclude the rest of the girls in this drama has nil popularity at all, since I didn't see them before in japanese mags and stuff at all.
haha...late reply .....yea....but i watch the gakko is bcoz not much other show to watch now...lol.....some shows i watch is not bcoz im interested....lol...its bcoz nothing else to watch...:D

Haonan

all my DVDs are from Poh Kim. the subtitles are quite accurate, rarely any error. and the video quality is good, wat you expect from DVD, not tape or VCD quality. Poh Kim usually have the latest popular J drama, like Change, Last Friends, Loss Time Life already out.

I am not selling Change though. Have others like Kurosagi, Trick, Sora Kara Furu Ichioku no Hoshi, Unfair, Joshi Deka!, Last Lawyer.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2024592

I see, thanks for the heads-up Kenshin79. Sry for the late reply, since I didn't had time to check back this thread recently. It's alright, I wasn't intending to buy 2nd-hand DVDs anyway for CHANGE, since I believe drama DVD boxsets are priced quite reasonably these days at video outlets such as Poh Kim already.

Actually I used to buy drama VCD boxsets from Poh Kim last time for the older drama series specifically from the 2000-2004 era period, then stopped buying already due to many obvious reasons, such as the internet boom and local broadband internet lines getting reasonably cheap. So these days I mainly rely on downloaded fansubs and watching RAW, since my japanese was slowly getting better as well after years of self-learning + taking up classes.

omg. code blu epi 6 so touching. i cried w yamapi, reminded me of my grandma .........

Yeah, I wept too. Quite a touching episode IMHO, in fact I would say the character development in Code Blue was getting better especially after watching ep 6. I really like the story pacing of this drama on the whole, never fails to keep me interested and yearning for the next episode everytime I finish watching.

aaahh~ sugoi. u remembered me ? or am i too infamous or what? lol.

Wahh don't say that. monsieur aaron of course remembers ender-san, who's a dai dai fan of Kinki Kids and more specifically, Koichi Domoto-san aka the Prince, which most of his affectionate fangirls call him by usually. It's no wonder why Sushi Oji aka Prince Sushi has Koichi-kun in it, so befitting for the drama title sia. :s13:

Anyway sent ya a PM, hope I get your reply soon. ^ ^

Haonan

I think you must be mistaken. Out of the 3 dramas u mentioned above, 2 of them are probably some of the 'better' dramas from prev season. Take for example Last Friends, just look at the awards it has won, and no I'm not talking abt Nikkan Sports Grand Prix Awards, which is more of like a popularity poll in Japan that's based on popularity votes by the public.

The 57th Japanese Drama Academy Awards received: (info taken from D-addicts)
- Best Drama - Last Friends (straight win in all categories voted)
- Best Male Supporting - Nishikido Ryo (Last Friends) (straight win in all categories voted)
- Best Female Supporting - Ueno Juri (Last Friends) (straight win in all categories voted)
- Best Drama Song - Prisoner of Love by Utada Hikaru (Last Friends)
- Best Directors - Kato Hiromasa, Nishisaka Mizuki & Endo Mitsutaka (Last Friends)
- Best Script - Asano Taeko (Last Friends)

I'm basically happy with all the awards that Last Friends received, except that I couldn't agree on the fact that Ryo Nishikido has won the Best Male Supporting Award actually, instead of Eita. Who agrees with me here that Eita's acting in Last Friends was better than Ryo? Feel free to share your opinions here with me.

As for Zettai Kareshi, even though it's not totally a serious drama I thought that it was a pretty well light-hearted drama with its comedic moments and heart-warming scenes, especially the last episode where I found it really touching. I have to admit even though the ending kinda ended abruptly, it was still a pretty good drama on the overall. The characters inside were all likeable, and Aibu Saki and Hayami Mokomichi's both shared plenty of chemistry inside this drama, since this was not the first time they are working together in a drama.

About Code Blue, I personally think that it's not your average medical drama, cos it has quite diversified elements, such as exploring topics like selfishness as well as hypocrisy, found in us humans. Of course on the whole, the story-plot isn't all that serious actually, there are indeed some laughable moments, but there are also definitely some very touching moments that warms your heart if you ask me. Like I said, more than half of the story script has been dedicated to the older veteran actors/actress in this show, as well as Yamapi if you have been following up to episode 7 of this show. (for those following english fansubs like me)

Opps sorry, just realised I typed a whole wall of text + dmg 9999. Hope you don't mind lol. ^ ^;

Anyway, I just watched movie Cyborg She in cinema two days ago which starred Rokkies' Koide Keisuke and Ayase Haruke (ironically, Ayase play as Koide's sister in Rookie) as well as Kiritani Kentai. Kiritani and Koide's characters in the movie are like rip-off from their characters in Rookie. Overall, I thought the movie is good, fast pace with plenty of comedy reliefs and heart warming moments. Just disappointed that not many pple go to watch this movie. The cinema is 2/3 empty when I watched in plaza singapura during weekend.

I just caught Cyborg She over at GV Plaza over the weekend as well. Have to agree that it's a pretty nice show overall, I would have to say that the korean director actually picked the right female leading actress for the role of this show. Even though this was a japanese movie, this show was actually brought to us by the same korean director who also did korean blockbuster romance comedies like Windstruck as well as My Sassy Girl, both of which I enjoyed plenty much, despite that I'm not really a k-drama fan myself.

currently watching Code Blue, Seigi no Migata and Moster Parent. Downloaded Maou and Tomorrow but yet to find time to watch. Am I a Pedobear if I say I absolutely love Shida Mirai? :o Dun really like Yu Yamada but her face fits the evil personality.

Nope not Pedobear lah, I think you and I just like Shida Mirai's cuteness that's all, it's quite different from what all those btss out there, where they are prolly more towards hentai-ness? I also started liking Shida Mirai's acting ever since I saw her in Jyoou no Kyou****su (The Teacher's Classroom). So lovable and cute wor.

Haonan

haha...late reply .....yea....but i watch the gakko is bcoz not much other show to watch now...lol.....some shows i watch is not bcoz im interested....lol...its bcoz nothing else to watch...:D

Haha i see i see. Nope I watch only those that interest me, I don't watch just any other dramas for each season, cos too many liao and not that free. ^ ^

Anyway I think for Code Blue english subs, u guys must be mistaken? It comes out every Thur and currently eng sub is up to ep 7 which is pretty fast liao, since RAW just came out ep 8 last week Thur? Of course if compared to those china fansub groups I think it's atad slower, but in terms of regular D-addicts fansubs releases, I would like to think it's actually pretty fast already. Please remember that fansub groups also have their own lives and they lead norm lives just like us, who have work/studies commitments to worry about. It's free so we should be patient and not complain about the speed of releases.

Cheers. ;)

noinimod

Aye, Yamapi's acting is really trash in code blue. I really hope to see him breaking out and improve his acting. The other Johnny Jr guys in his generation like Oguri Shun, Ikuta Toma all act so much better. For good medical J-drama, check out Iryu and Shiroi Kyoto (More serious and not so much on medical stuff than it is on human relationships, but very very good acting).

Might check out Cyborg She.. I liked Ayase Haruke in Tatta Hitotsu no Koi and Hotaru no Hikari.. she's pretty good

TiOnGSquare

Kenshin79 and [M]aiev joined club (those want to be added to the list pm me thanks)
To all: pls refrain from chatting abt BT/downloads thanks =D

Haonan

Aye, Yamapi's acting is really trash in code blue. I really hope to see him breaking out and improve his acting. The other Johnny Jr guys in his generation like Oguri Shun, Ikuta Toma all act so much better. For good medical J-drama, check out Iryu and Shiroi Kyoto (More serious and not so much on medical stuff than it is on human relationships, but very very good acting).

Might check out Cyborg She.. I liked Ayase Haruke in Tatta Hitotsu no Koi and Hotaru no Hikari.. she's pretty good

Hello noinimod, uh FYI Oguri Shun is not from JE (Johnny's Entertainment). His artiste management company is called Tristone, so yeah he's not under Johnny's, just wanna correct that. Besides, Oguri Shun is considered older than Yamapi by quite a bit, while I know this isn't exactly a good reason to differ their acting skills by any margin, I would like to think that Yamapi was actually doing his best in Code Blue. In fact if u ask me personally, if you had been following his past and previous roles in his prev dramas (Dragon Zakura, Nobuta wo Produce, Pro-Daisakusen), it probably won't be hard for you (or anyone out there) to notice that his role this time in Code Blue was considered a stark contrast as compared to his prev usual gakusei schoolboy roles.

While there's no denial that his acting isn't totally excellent in Code Blue, his character in this drama playing as an unfeeling and strong-headed intern doctor is probably just what the script requires for this char role, and I personally think he's doing pretty well in it so far. But each to his own I guess, I can understand that some people out there may have disputes over who can act, who cannot act etc, so this kind of topic would never end if we choose to debate on this issue. ^ ^;

I would agree on the part that Shiroi Kyoto aka The Great Tower was one of the best medical dramas ever to grace the japanese tv scene however, no doubts abt that. (in fact this one personally ranks on top of my heart as my fav medical dramas as well so far, and I had personally talked abt this drama before on this thread long ago)

Yeah you shd go watch Cyborg She, think you would enjoy it. While I won't say her acting was great in Tatta Hitotsu no Koi, even though I like Kame and am a KAT-TUN fan, I did enjoyed her acting in Hotaru no Hikari very much. However it was her role in Sekai no Chuushin de, Ai wo Sakebu (aka Crying Out Love, In The Center of the World) as Hirose Aki, that actually touched me deeply and re-affirmed to me that she's probably one of the better japanese female actress out there. :deg:

Cheers.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.