Studying in Sydney NSW, Australia - tips and info thread

miracleman

oh. does asus have many gaming laptops?
check out the g1sn and g2sg

note the "n" and the "g" behind.. because those denote new models. I'm personally using the g1s.. awesome kickass laptop. but don't expect mobility. I got the eee for that. :)

oh, and for the g1sn/g2sg, thinki geforce 9600gt and T9300 processors...

when i bought mine, it was state of the art already.. t7700 and 8600gt..

franklhy

check out the g1sn and g2sg

note the "n" and the "g" behind.. because those denote new models. I'm personally using the g1s.. awesome kickass laptop. but don't expect mobility. I got the eee for that. :)

oh, and for the g1sn/g2sg, thinki geforce 9600gt and T9300 processors...

when i bought mine, it was state of the art already.. t7700 and 8600gt..
oh. u got use it to play any games?

patryn33

was reading around and read this below, is it a common practise in Oz?

i ever get caught taking the tram & not paying ticket n was fined aus $100 i think..but i not scared n continue not paying until i fly home..i dun think i only used up $200 incl of the fine in transport during my uni studies there

i also din pay for my housephone bills which is a few hundred cos i terminate it..they goin to penalise me dunno how many hundred for cutting the line... but they also never come after me cos its a private company n they dun have my ID or sg address

my internet bills also never pay cos the company wind up ...

in aus, alot of ppl do not pay on time ...sometimes they delay payment for bills for up to a few mths is normal..

my BF never pay for his utillities bills or phone bills until 1 yr later also have.

franklhy

u mean for locals or international students? if international students do that very dangerous leh. wait visa kena cut

patryn33

International students, That quote is from a Fellow Singaporean that is defering bills.

franklhy

lol then you should tell him to go read the newspaper report i posted on page 40 of this thread

patryn33

isn't targeting at over stayers? no info on these group of ppl.

these are ppl that choose to defer payment of bills or fines for prolong period. brave soul also claim these private company have "no way" to track them down, a "legal" outlaw I suppose.

miracleman

was reading around and read this below, is it a common practise in Oz?
none of the people i know are doing this la.. but i suppose if u really wanted you could try... but for what??? u use a service, pay la.. if can't pay then don't use la.. u never know when this kind of **** is gonna come back and haunt u... very embarassing one u know.... says a lot about your character and your morals.

petetherock

You have just joined this thread, I don't think its a good idea to perpetuate criminal activity.
Whether the person is caught, isn't so important.
Do the right thing.
If you have no $ to go abroad, there are local alternatives.
Cheers
International students, That quote is from a Fellow Singaporean that is defering bills.

patryn33

none of the people i know are doing this la.. but i suppose if u really wanted you could try... but for what??? u use a service, pay la.. if can't pay then don't use la.. u never know when this kind of **** is gonna come back and haunt u... very embarassing one u know.... says a lot about your character and your morals.

aiyoh... none of the ppl I know are doing that too. just surprise it to be posted in a different forum that states its a common thing to be doing. I am shock by the change, so double check here lah.

You have just joined this thread, I don't think its a good idea to perpetuate criminal activity.
Whether the person is caught, isn't so important.
Do the right thing.
If you have no $ to go abroad, there are local alternatives.
Cheers

I did not just joint this thread lah..
I am not perpetuating criminal activity. BTW I am not even sure if its classified under crime by OZ law, they did pay up in the end, just delayed by 1yr or longer.
I doubt these ppl lack the $$ to go aboard, can keng so keng to the max loh.

miracleman

aiyoh... none of the ppl I know are doing that too. just surprise it to be posted in a different forum that states its a common thing to be doing. I am shock by the change, so double check here lah.

I did not just joint this thread lah..
I am not perpetuating criminal activity. BTW I am not even sure if its classified under crime by OZ law, they did pay up in the end, just delayed by 1yr or longer.
I doubt these ppl lack the $$ to go aboard, can keng so keng to the max loh.
that's being ugly singaporean!! no wonder the world hates us..

frenzal

what kinda games do you play? i play mostly fps such as crysis, call of duty 4, devil may cry 4... racing such as grid, nfs, etc

1) Cheapest computer stuff can be bought from MSY
2) I got a dv5-1007tx recently. It has a centrino 2 processor and runs those things quite well. Paid $1599AU

miracleman

what kinda games do you play? i play mostly fps such as crysis, call of duty 4, devil may cry 4... racing such as grid, nfs, etc
asassin's creed, nfs all can work swee swee on mine.. if u buy the G1sn CONFRIM no problem.

frenzal

I do recommend the Dv5-1007tx though. The price is excellent and the video card is amazing: the 9700GT

petetherock

I am sure there are threads for you to discuss computer related items.
Lets keep this thread to the original purpose.
Thanks

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.